by A1



In their efforts to conquer the American pop scene, perhaps this quartet of London lads doesn't realize their name is the same as one of our famous steak sauces (A1). Hopefully, they won't be inundated by questions about it. But that's not their real competition. Bolstered by the huge European smash "Caught in the Middle," these guys are definitely going to compete for chart space with *N'Sync and The Backstreet Boys. Their voices harmonize magically together and their hooks are equally infectious. As hard as it may seem to believe, however, they're not a zillion dollar packaging coup, assembled as a product; they met four years ago while pursuing separate careers in London, and they write or co-write all their material. This seven-track sampler album features selected highlights from their U.K. releases "Here We Come," "The A-List" and "Make It Good." The song "Make It Good" offers a soaring mix of their soothing vocal presence, a string section, and even a hint of Celtic influence. "When I'm Missing You" is a bit more acoustic-based. Mark Read takes the lead on "Everytime" and shows a strong leadership ability, even if otherwise the vocals are mostly done in unison. As the songs are friendly, of-the-moment pop, it's hard to predict staying power. But being a legit group, and strong songwriters, is a good start.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/25/2002
Label: Sony
UPC: 0696998662827
catalogNumber: 86628

Album Credits

Performance Credits

A1   Primary Artist
Gini Ball   Violin
Dinah Beamish   Cello
Mark Berrow   Violin
Chris Cameron   Conductor
Martin Ditcham   Percussion
John Giblin   Bass
Sally Herbert   Violin
Dan Petty   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Anne Stephenson   Violin
Neil Taylor   Guitar
Chris Tombling   Violin
Kate Wilkinson   Viola
Dave Woodcock   Violin
Gavyn Wright   Violin
Vaughan Armon   Violin
Peter Lale   Viola
Patrick Kiernan   Violin
Frank Schaefer   Cello
Claire Orsler   Viola
Julia Singleton   Violin
Sophie Harris   Cello
Simon Fischer   Violin
Makoto Sakamoto   Drums
Christian Ingebrigtsen   Guitar
Marc Reed   Piano,Keyboards
David Daniels [cello]   Cello
Danny Cummings   Percussion

Technical Credits

Chris Cameron   String Arrangements
Sally Herbert   Arranger
Chris Porter   Producer,Engineer
Mike Ross   Engineer
Gavyn Wright   Orchestra Leader
Mike Hedges   Producer
Paul Hicks   Engineer
Ger McDonnell   Engineer
James Sanger   Programming

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews