A Very Principled Boy: The Life of Duncan Lee, Red Spy and Cold Warrior

A Very Principled Boy: The Life of Duncan Lee, Red Spy and Cold Warrior

by Mark A. Bradley

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


Duncan Chaplain Lee was an unlikely traitor. A Rhodes Scholar, patriot, and descendent of one of America's most distinguished families, he was also a communist sympathizer who used his position as aid to intelligence chief “Wild Bill” Donovan to leak critical information to the Soviets during World War II. As intelligence expert Mark A. Bradley reveals, Lee was one of Stalin's most valuable moles in U.S. intelligence, passing the KGB vital information on everything from the D-Day invasion to America's plans for postwar Europe. Outwitting both J. Edgar Hoover and Senator Joseph McCarthy, he escaped detection again and again, dying a free man before authorities could prove his guilt.

A fast-paced cat-and-mouse tale of misguided idealism and high treason, Perry's book draws on thousands of previously unreleased CIA and State Department records to reveal the riveting story of one of the greatest traitors of the twentieth century.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780465036653
Publisher: Basic Books
Publication date: 04/29/2014
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 361,114
File size: 3 MB

About the Author

Mark A. Bradley is a former CIA intelligence officer currently serving as an attorney in the United States Department of Justice. He holds an M.A. in Modern History from Oxford University and a J.D. from the University of Virginia. Bradley lives in Arlington, Virginia.

Table of Contents

Prologue: Helen

One. Born to Serve

2. "A Nursery of Somewhat Revolutionary Ideas"

3. The Party

4, My League of Gentlemen

5. A Crisis of Conscience

6. Gregory

7. On the Outside Looking In

8. The Terrible Summer of 1948

9. The World’s Most Shot-At Airline

10. A Loyal American

11. Ishmael

12. The Irony of My Life

Customer Reviews