A Time for Love

A Time for Love

by Jeffrey Osborne


$14.50 $16.99 Save 15% Current price is $14.5, Original price is $16.99. You Save 15%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, December 19


A Time for Love is another set of reinterpretations from Jeffrey Osborne, but the singer switches it up, reunites with George Duke -- producer of his first three solo albums -- and is backed by an undeniable lineup of jazz musicians. Drummer John Roberts, bassist Christian McBride, and keyboardist Duke are the rhythm section on every cut. They're joined by a rotating mix of support that includes guitarist Paul Jackson, Jr., trumpeters Walt Fowler and Rick Braun, and saxophonists Kamasi Washington and Everette Harp. Osborne and the musicians recorded while in one another's presence. It adds depth and intimacy to the songs -- a positive trade-off for the listeners who aren't all that anxious to hear the umpteenth versions of "What a Wonderful World," "Nature Boy," and "(They Long to Be) Close to You." Another aspect that shines through is Osborne's deep connection to the material; he clearly knows it all inside-out, enough to add his own touches with little effort, and evidently had a ball. Most entertaining of all is a version of "Baby, It's Cold Outside," throughout which Osborne and duet partner Chaka Khan swap naturally humorous dialogue.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/29/2013
Label: Time Life Records
UPC: 0610583470321
catalogNumber: 27429
Rank: 29997

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jeffrey Osborne   Primary Artist,Vocals
George Duke   Harmonica,Piano,fender rhodes,Soloist
Rick Braun   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Lenny Castro   Percussion
Chaka Khan   Vocals
Walt Fowler   Trumpet
Everette Harp   Alto Saxophone
Paul Jackson   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Christian McBride   Electric Bass,Upright Bass
Kamasi Washington   Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
John Roberts   Drums

Technical Credits

James Taylor   Composer
George Duke   Arranger,Producer,Orchestration
Burt Bacharach   Composer
Frank Loesser   Composer
Sammy Cahn   Composer
Charlie Chaplin   Composer
Hal David   Composer
Gene DePaul   Composer
George Douglas   Composer
Edward Heyman   Composer
Johnny Mandel   Composer
Don Raye   Composer
Bob Thiele   Composer
Paul Francis Webster   Composer
George David Weiss   Composer
Victor Young   Composer
Erik Zobler   Engineer
Eden Ahbez   Composer
Bas Hartong   Executive Producer
Robert Mellin   Composer
Guy Wood   Composer
Jack Nelson   Management
Mike Jason   Executive Producer
Paxton Baker   Executive Producer
Olivia Kim   Editorial Research
Debra Lee   Executive Producer
John Turner   Composer
Michael Mitchell   Executive Producer
Geoffrey Parsons   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews