A Swingin Session with Duke Robillard

A Swingin Session with Duke Robillard

by Duke RobillardDuke Robillard


$15.95 $16.99 Save 6% Current price is $15.95, Original price is $16.99. You Save 6%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, August 3


Duke Robillard has always had one foot in the blues world and one in the swing/jazz universe. He loves both styles of music and enjoys not only playing them separately but combining them together. The founder of Roomful of Blues back in 1967, Robillard has led dozens of projects throughout his career, including collaborations with guitarist Herb Ellis, Jimmy Witherspoon, and Jay McShann. On A Swingin Session, he plays with some of his favorite musicians, many of whom originated (like he did) in Rhode Island. While six horn players participate, there are no more than four on any one selection, and some numbers do not have any. The contrasting tenor solos are fun to hear, with Scott Hamilton sounding smooth and mellow on his numbers while Sax Gordon is greasier and much closer to Illinois Jacquet. Present throughout are Bruce Katz (mostly on organ), one of three bassists (usually Marty Ballou), and drummer Mark Teixeira. Robillard takes vocals on half of the selections in his personable way, but it is his guitar solos, which hint at both Charlie Christian and T-Bone Walker, that often take honors. Performing medium-tempo blues, jump tunes, standards, and good-time numbers, Duke Robillard shows listeners a fun time and clearly enjoys himself, too.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 05/13/2008
Label: Stony Plain Music
UPC: 0772532133128
catalogNumber: 1331
Rank: 111207


  1. Deed I Do
  2. The Lonesome Road
  3. Them That Got
  4. Just Because
  5. Meet Me at No Special Place
  6. Red Dog
  7. They Raided the Joint
  8. When Your Lover Has Gone
  9. The Song Is Ended
  10. Swinging with Lucy Mae

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Duke Robillard   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals
Scott Hamilton   Tenor Saxophone
Bruce Katz   Organ,Piano
Marty Ballou   Acoustic Bass
Basile   Cornet
Gordon "Sax" Beadle   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Doug James   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Carl Querfurth   Trombone
Jessie Williams   Acoustic Bass
Dave Ballou   Trumpet
John Packer [High Flight Society]   Acoustic Bass
Mark Teixeira   Drums

Technical Credits

Irving Berlin   Composer
Ray Charles   Composer
Duke Robillard   Composer,Producer
John Paul Gauthier   Engineer,Management
Hot Lips Page   Composer
Holger Petersen   Executive Producer
Fred Rose   Composer
Joe Eldridge   Composer
Bob Shelton   Composer
Joe Shelton   Composer
J. Russel Robinson   Composer
Walter Hirsch   Composer
Sydney Robin   Composer
Einar A. Swan   Composer
Arthur Terker   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Thom Hiller   Engineer
Aristine Jackson   Composer

Customer Reviews