A Slant of Light

A Slant of Light

by Jeffrey Lent

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99 $13.60 Save 27% Current price is $9.99, Original price is $13.6. You Save 27%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

For fans of The Orchardist and The Cove and from the author of bestselling In the Fall, an epic historical novel that fearlessly addresses the largest questions of love, justice, and how to live.

"Wonderfully entertaining, deeply moving, beautifully written . . . In my estimation, Jeffrey Lent is our most American writer since Mark Twain and one of the two of three best novelists of our time."--Howard Frank Mosher


At the close of the Civil War, weary veteran Malcolm Hopeton returns to his home in western New York State to find his wife and hired man missing and his farm in disrepair. A double murder ensues, the repercussions of which ripple through a community with spiritual roots in the Second Great Awakening. Hopeton has gone from the horrors of war to those far worse, and arrayed around him are a host of other people struggling to make sense of his crime. Among them is Enoch Stone, the lawyer for the community, whose spiritual dedication is subverted by his lust for power; August Swartout, whose wife has left earthly time and whose eye is set on eternity; and a boy who must straddle two worlds as he finds his own truth and strength. Always there is love and the memory of love--as haunting as the American Eden that Jeffrey Lent has so exquisitely rendered in this unforgettable novel.

A Slant of Light is a novel of earthly pleasure and deep love, of loss and war, of prophets and followers, of theft and revenge, in an American moment where a seemingly golden age has been shattered. This is Jeffrey Lent on his home ground and at the height of his powers.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781620404973
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Publication date: 04/07/2015
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 17,876
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Jeffrey Lent was born in Vermont and grew up there and in western New York State, on dairy farms. He studied literature and psychology at Franconia College in New Hampshire and SUNY Purchase. His first novel, In the Fall, was a national bestseller and a New York Times Book Review Notable Book for 2000. His other novels are Lost Nation, A Peculiar Grace, and After You've Gone. Lent lives with his wife and two daughters in central Vermont.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Slant of Light: A Novel 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have missed reading Jeffrey Lent after his terrific earlier novels.  This current book is absolutely wonderful, capturing the essence of post-civil war life in New York state with marvelous character development. Highly recommended!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After Thomas Hardy my favorite author. So glad he's at it again
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Somehow kept reading in spite of impatience with the pace. Needed to know what happened. Lovely language, heartfelt, insightful, spiritually mature. But maybe a bit too languorous, at least for my taste.
Anonymous 13 days ago
Sometimes hard to follow but worth going back a few times.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Entertaining and thought provoking story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really excellent historical fiction. It takes a few pages to get into the flow of the language of the book, but stay with it - it is well worth it. The novel includes betrayal, great loyalty, faith, war, deep love, evil, a sociopath, hard work, and more. Really well written. This book deserves an A+++++
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Martha