A Shot of Love in a Time of Need/Autobiographical Notes

A Shot of Love in a Time of Need/Autobiographical Notes

by Willie MurphyWillie Murphy


$20.59 $20.99 Save 2% Current price is $20.59, Original price is $20.99. You Save 2%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, June 21


Singer/pianist Willie Murphy is the kind of artist for whom the term "cult hero" was invented. His career began with a bang back in 1969, when he partnered with guitarist "Spider" John Koerner to make the head-turning psychedelic Americana album Running, Jumping, Standing Still for Elektra. With his group Willie & the Bumble Bee he backed Bonnie Raitt and became a blues-rockin' journeyman. With 40 years of hard roads behind him, Murphy sounds as energized as ever on this double album. Not merely a double-length release, this package is really two separate albums, each with their own title, cover, and agenda. Up front is A Shot of Love in a Time of Need, a collection of funky, R&B-based tunes, including both covers and Murphy's own songs. On the flipside -- literally -- is Autobiographical Notes, a collection of tunes Murphy's had kicking around for a while but couldn't find a home for until now, mostly because of the varied styles they encompass. Murphy comes out with all guns blazing on the first disc, unleashing a visceral piano style that seems to get in between the cracks in the keyboard, and a gritty, soul-slathered vocal delivery that's perhaps best triangulated somewhere in the middle of Leon Russell, Jim Dickinson, and Dr. John. He's capable of bringing life even to an overdone tune like " Land of 1000 Dances," and his original tunes stand up alongside the R&B classics he covers. The second disc is a hodge-podge of honky-tonk, folk-rock ballads, soul, and Band-esque roots rock, plus a bluesy cover of Fred Neil's "The Dolphins" thrown in for good measure. If Autobiographical Notes isn't as consistent as its funkier partner, that's part of its eccentric, ragtag charm; whatever mode it finds Murphy in, it portrays him accurately as a true American original doing his thing out there in the margins of the music biz, where a man can really get his mojo working.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/10/2009
Label: Red House
UPC: 0033651022527
catalogNumber: 225
Rank: 122419


Disc 1

  1. Everything I Do Gonh Be Funky (From Now On)
  2. Love Attack
  3. Land of 1000 Dances
  4. Life Is But a Dream
  5. Actions Speak Louder Than Words
  6. Mud Puddle
  7. Something to It
  8. I'll Be Here
  9. Sometimes Dreams Come True

Disc 2

  1. Voice in the Night
  2. Story of My Love Life
  3. Dolphins
  4. Up Along the Coast
  5. Fairy Tale
  6. Something to It
  7. Hello Don't Mean I Love You
  8. Road Song
  9. Dust to Dust
  10. Ramblin' Revo
  11. Voice in the Night

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Willie Murphy   Primary Artist,Bass,Guitar,Piano,Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals
Willie Nelson   Bass,Guitar,Piano,Drums,Vocals
Prudence Johnson   Background Vocals
Jim Anton   Bass
Voyle Harris   Trumpet
Maurice Jacox   Baritone Saxophone
Gordon Knudtson   Drums
Dan Lund   Guitar
Lucia Newell   Background Vocals
Bob Rockwell   Tenor Saxophone
Howard Merriweather   Drums
Scott Snyder   Trumpet
Max Ray   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Suzanne Warmanen   Vocal Harmony
Michael Velasquez   Drums
Marbue Williams   Bass
Hall Sanders   Tenor Saxophone
Irv Williams   Tenor Saxophone
Merlin Brunkow   Tenor Saxophone
José James   Alto Saxophone
Maurice Jacox   Baritone Saxophone
Michael Velasquez   Drums
Max Ray   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone

Technical Credits

Fred Neil   Composer
Quinton Claunch   Composer
Willie Murphy   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Allen Toussaint   Composer
Hy Weiss   Composer
Raoul J. Cita   Composer

Customer Reviews