A More Perfect Union

A More Perfect Union

by Lorre WyattLorre Wyatt


$15.30 $15.99 Save 4% Current price is $15.3, Original price is $15.99. You Save 4%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


At age 93, Pete Seeger isn't actually retiring, just slowing down a bit. He's doing fewer concerts and his voice is a bit wobbly, but his heart is still open and his mind is still sharp. If you need proof, listen to the 16 songs on this album, 15 of them newly written by Seeger and his longtime friend and collaborator Lorre Wyatt. Wyatt's in his mid-sixties, and a well-known singer/songwriter in his own right, but a severe stroke in 1996 left him unable to sing or play guitar for almost 15 years. After a long intensive recovery, he's singing and playing again and asked Seeger to collaborate with him on a songwriting project he was working on. Seeger agreed and the result is A More Perfect Union, a great album that stands as a testament to the faith and resilience of both artists. This may be the first album that Seeger's ever recorded that contains all new, all original material, and many of the tunes here are as good as anything Seeger or Wyatt has ever written or recorded. Most of the songs deal with aging and mortality, but the album is uplifting nonetheless. Both men have led full lives and they bring a lot of humor and wisdom to the songs. Musically, the album is as diverse as anything Seeger's ever cut. "God's Counting on Me...God's Counting on You" and "Wonderful Friends" are the kinds of elevating anthems Seeger has always sung, and this one should be added to his list of greatest hits. Dozens of harmony singers, including Bruce Springsteen on "God's Counting on Me...," make them sound like campfire singalongs. "Keep the Flame Alive" is a country-flavored ode to aging well that's given a poignant feel by Seeger's shaky vocals and C. Lanzbom's mournful slide guitar. Seeger sings "Strange Lullaby" solo; it's an antiwar song full of love and righteous anger. "These Days in Zimbabwe" is sung a cappella by Wyatt with Jeff Haynes providing percolating Afro-Celtic percussion that makes this gentle protest song swing. Wyatt's most famous song, and the only older tune on the album, is "Somos el Barco" (We Are the Boat), a lilting Latin-flavored waltz that features Emmylou Harris and another big singalong chorale. The set closes with two mediations on the end of life. "Fields of Harmony" is a testament to the power of music to enrich and preserve life, and Dave Eggar's cello gives the number an aching, tender feel. The loping cowboy rhythm of "Bountiful River" makes it sound like another anthem, a salute to friendship, music, and the healing power of nature with a gorgeous, timeless chorus.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/25/2012
Label: Appleseed Records
UPC: 0611587113023
catalogNumber: 1130
Rank: 89842

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Lorre Wyatt   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
Emmylou Harris   Vocals,Guest Appearance
Pete Seeger   Banjo,Vocals,12-string Guitar
Steve Earle   Vocals,Guest Appearance
Bruce Springsteen   Vocals,Guest Appearance
Perry Robinson   Clarinet
Karen Brooks   Vocals
Dar Williams   Vocals,Guest Appearance
Jeff Haynes   Percussion,Drums,Vocals
Tom Morello   Guitar,Vocals,Guest Appearance
Rob Scheps   Saxophone
Laurie Siegel   Vocals
Bruce Taylor   Vocals
Jane Kelly Williams   Vocals
James Durst   Vocals
Dan Fisherman   Vocals
Travis Jeffrey   Vocals
C. Lanzbom   Guitar,Slide Guitar
Doug Weiss   Bass
Spook Handy   Vocals
Sue Altkin   Vocals
David Bernz   Banjo,Guitar,Harmonica,Vocals,12-string Guitar
Mark Murphy   Bass
Paul Hanna   Vocals
Sara Milonovich   Violin
Timothy Hill   Vocals
Connie Taylor   Vocals
Bianca Merkley   Vocals
Jen Clapp   Vocals
Dave Eggar   Cello
Danny Einbender   Vocals
Rivertown Kids   Vocals
Jacob Bernz   Vocals
Sarah Underhill   Vocals
Melissa Ortquist   Vocals
Amy Vachal   Vocals
Jenny Murphy   Vocals
Story Laurie   Vocals
Valerie Haynes   Vocals
Pat Lamana   Vocals
Mark Turk   Vocals
Ira McIntosh   Vocals
Hayden Minifield   Vocals
Goldee Green   Vocals
Eli Kleiner   Vocals
Eleanor Kleiner   Vocals
Edward Esquerre   Vocals
Dave Tarlo   Vocals
Dave Rothenberg   Bass Clarinet
Chris Hughes   Trap Kit
Adam Brzostoski   Harmonica

Technical Credits

Pete Seeger   Composer
Lorre Wyatt   Composer
Jeff Haynes   Producer,Engineer
Corin Nelsen   Engineer
C. Lanzbom   Engineer
Jim Musselman   Producer,Liner Notes
David Bernz   Liner Notes,Cover Photo,Back Cover Photo
Davide Bernz   Producer

Customer Reviews