A Million Lights

A Million Lights

by Cheryl ColeCheryl Cole


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 24


Bouncing back from a thwarted attempt to crossover to the U.S. via the American edition of The X-Factor -- she may have been a two-time winning judge in the U.K., but never made it to the air in the U.S. -- Cheryl Cole decides to shoehorn every pop trend of 2012 into her third album, A Million Lights. Unconcerned with introspection -- prior to the summer release of A Million Lights, she told all journalists to not ask her about the album's lyrics as she didn't write a word -- Cheryl (as she's billed on the art work; she's so famous in the U.K. she can abandon her last name) is very concerned indeed about maintaining her celebrity, so she tries on every fashionable sound, dabbling in dubstep, drafting will.i.am to give her some Black Eyed Peas magic, riding Rihanna's steely, defiant rhythms, bringing Calvin Harris aboard to construct lead single "Call My Name," adopting a bit of a Natasha Bedingfield hangover on the opener "Under the Sun," copping Lana Del Rey's tragic romantic balladry on the title track, then hiring the former Lizzy Grant herself to write "Ghetto Baby." Cheryl doesn't stamp these sounds with her own personality; she merely tries the personas on for size, not so much to see if they fit, but rather to see which ones will allow her entry into the charts. As not one cut crackles with personality -- they all rely on anonymous studio craft; any competent singer could sing lead and perhaps score a hit -- success is entirely dependent on which way the wave breaks, whether her timing clicks or not. Even if A Million Lights winds up not generating a big single, there is no denying that it captures much of the style and sound of 2012; it's a pop scrapbook, perhaps one that will be more interesting in the future than it is in the present.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/18/2012
Label: Polydor Uk
UPC: 0602537043026
catalogNumber: 3704302
Rank: 86226


  1. Under the Sun
  2. Call My Name
  3. Craziest Things
  4. Girl in the Mirror
  5. A Million Lights
  6. Screw You
  7. Love Killer
  8. Ghetto Baby
  9. Sexy Den a Mutha
  10. Mechanics of the Heart
  11. All is Fair

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Cheryl Cole   Primary Artist,Vocals
Josie Aiello   Background Vocals
Agent   Piano,Drums,Keyboards
will.i.am   Synthesizer
Anu Pillai   Guitar,Keyboards
Candice Nelson   Background Vocals
Wretch 32   Rap
Roy Kerr   Keyboards
Pantha   Electric Bass,Electric Guitar,Keyboards
J Browz   Bass,Guitar
Ayah Marar   Background Vocals
Lana Del Rey   Background Vocals
Jareth Rwamafa-Johnson   Background Vocals
Megan Nicolle Thomaston   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Brian Rawling   Vocal Producer
Kuk Harrell   Vocal Producer
Agent   Programming,Producer,Engineer
will.i.am   Producer,Engineer,drum sequencing
Daniel Traynor   Composer
Anu Pillai   Programming,Engineer,String Arrangements,Brass Arrangment
Danny D.   Management
Paul Meehan   Vocal Producer
Olle Corneer   Composer
Padraic Kerin   Engineer
Kasia Livingston   Composer
Candice Nelson   Composer
Jim Beanz   Producer,Vocal Producer
Naughty Boy   Producer
Taio Cruz   Composer,Producer
Dada Life   Producer
Jayson DeZuzio   Composer
Calvin Harris   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Instrumentation
Tim Blacksmith   Management
Mathias Wollo   Composer,Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
Matt Furmidge   Vocal Engineer
Leon Price   Composer
Cheryl Cole   Composer
Roy Kerr   Programming
Kid Gloves   Producer,Vocal Producer
Joe Peluso   Engineer
Alex Da Kid   Composer,Producer
Pantha   Producer
Chris "Tek" O'Ryan   Engineer
Loick Essien   Composer
Carlos Battey   Composer
Steven Battey   Composer
Stefan Engblom   Composer
Jermaine Scott   Composer
Greg Bonnick   Composer
Hygrade   Programming,Producer,Vocal Producer,Instrumentation
James "Jim Beanz" Washington   Composer
William Adams   Composer
Kingsley Brown   Composer
Koil Preample   Engineer
Tom Havelock   Composer
Mike Del Rio   Composer
John Gudwin   Engineer
Peter Renshaw   Composer
Jareth Rwamafa-Johnson   Composer
Megan Nicolle Thomaston   Composer
Riki Bleau   Management
Aaron Cowan   Composer

Customer Reviews