A Mike Fargo Trilogy

A Mike Fargo Trilogy

by Bill Gutman

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


A MIKE FARGO TRILOGY presents three complete novellas in one book. Now it's easier than ever to follow the resolute New York City detective with the take-no-prisoners approach as he navigates the Roaring Twenties, working to solve a trio of cases that try not only his patience, but also his desire to bring murderers to justice. Here's what you get.

Death of a Flapper 

Set in 1922, Fargo has to solve the murder of young socialite Marjorie Reems, found dead in a doorway a block from the swanky Park Avenue home of her parents. But why was she dressed as a common flapper, and why did she spend her time with a succession of men, each more sleazy than the one before with several connected to organized crime? Because of her family's status in New York society, Fargo feels pressure from the top to solve the case, and what he ultimately learns will shock 1920s society as much as it would shock people today.

Murder on Broadway

Young Buddy Barrett has taken 1925 Broadway by storm, the hottest director of musicals to come along in years. When Barrett is shot dead during a rehearsal of his latest show, Fargo must find who killed The Boy Wonder of Broadway. He soon learns that Buddy has been making enemies as fast as illegal booze flows through the city. In fact, he has a second nickname – Buddy the Bastard. On top of that, the guy is a mystery with no record of him anywhere and no apparent past. Fargo must learn who Buddy Barrett really is and why he was killed.

Seven Days to Murder

When Fargo is sent to the famed 300 Club in August of 1926 to check on a missing girl he meets the club's hostess, the irrepressible Texas Guinan. She tells him that one of her employees, Brandi Collier, has disappeared. Even though Texas has sidestepped the hooch law on many occasions, Fargo likes her and goes to work. The usual avenues prove a dead end until a stunning phone call changes the entire complexion of the case. Suddenly Fargo is not only racing against the clock, but finds himself in grave danger as he seeks out the girl and the mysterious kidnapper who has her.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940153789583
Publisher: Bill Gutman
Publication date: 10/18/2016
Series: Mike Fargo Mysteries
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 851,508
File size: 454 KB

About the Author

Bill Gutman has been writing for more than four decades. His writing life has seen him publish some 200 books for both children and adults, fiction and non-fiction alike. He has written many biographies and sports histories, as well as ghosting a family memoir. His biographies include such diverse personalities as Michael Jordan, Magic Johnson, football coach Bill Parcells, Venus and Serena Williams, jazz great Duke Ellington and former president Andrew Jackson. He has worked with sports figures Kevin Kennedy, Pepper Johnson and Bobby Thomson on as-told-to books, and co-authored a series of sports books for young girls with current Good Morning America co-host Robin Roberts. And he has interviewed countless athletes, musicians and others. Mr. Gutman's current passion is a series of novels and novellas featuring a tough detective working in 1920's New York City. The Mike Fargo Mysteries bring to life a wild period sparked by Prohibition, which banned the trafficking and sale of alcoholic beverages. But it was also a time when sports flourished, as did Broadway shows, jazz music and the movies. The popular culture dictated that women no longer had to stay at home and the flapper was born, a new age woman who smoked and drank, partied, and danced the Charleston, Black Bottom and the Shimmy. It was the era of hip flasks and speakeasies, and also organized crime. Mike Fargo navigates the City not only chasing murderers and crime bosses, but interacting with real characters such as Babe Ruth, Texas Guinan, Mae West, Mayor Jimmy Walker and others. There are six books in the Mike Fargo series thus far – the novel Murder on Murderer's Row and novellas Death of a Flapper, Murder on Broadway and Seven Days to Murder, A Mike Fargo Trilogy that includes the three novellas, and Roaring Twenties Cop, Mike Fargo's Own Story.

Customer Reviews