Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
A Lady for a Duke

A Lady for a Duke

by Alexis Hall

Narrated by Kay Eluvian

Unabridged — 15 hours, 26 minutes

Alexis Hall
A Lady for a Duke

A Lady for a Duke

by Alexis Hall

Narrated by Kay Eluvian

Unabridged — 15 hours, 26 minutes

Alexis Hall

Audiobook (Digital)

$22.99
FREE With a B&N Audiobooks Subscription| Cancel Anytime
$0.00

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

$25.98 Save 12% Current price is $22.99, Original price is $25.98. You Save 12%.
START FREE TRIAL

Already Subscribed? 

Sign in to Your BN.com Account


Listen on the free Barnes & Noble NOOK app

FREE

with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription

Or Pay $22.99 $25.98

Overview

A lush, sweeping queer historical romance from the bestselling author of Boyfriend Material-perfect for fans of Netflix's Bridgerton, Evie Dunmore, and Lisa Kleypas!

When Viola Carroll was presumed dead at Waterloo she took the opportunity to live, at last, as herself. But freedom does not come without a price, and Viola paid for hers with the loss of her wealth, her title, and her closest companion, Justin de Vere, the Duke of Gracewood.

Only when their families reconnect, years after the war, does Viola learn how deep that loss truly was. Shattered without her, Gracewood has retreated so far into grief that Viola barely recognises her old friend in the lonely, brooding man he has become.

As Viola strives to bring Gracewood back to himself, fresh desires give new names to old feelings. Feelings that would have been impossible once and may be impossible still, but which Viola cannot deny. Even if they cost her everything, all over again.


Related collections and offers

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

★ 03/28/2022

Hall (Something Fabulous) delivers a delicious Regency romance filled with brooding, longing, and hope. After going MIA at the battle of Waterloo, trans woman Viola Carroll left her previous life behind, along with her (dead) name and noble title, to live authentically as herself. But in doing so, she had to cut all ties with the Duke of Gracewood, her erstwhile best friend and the object of the adoration she could never have fully realized while living inauthentically as a lord. When circumstances return her to Gracewood’s estate, she finds him lost in grief, numbing the loss of his closest friend with laudanum and liquor. As she begins to lift him from the haze of his mourning, bringing him back to a version of himself he’s tried so hard to drown, she must decide whether to reveal the truth and allow him to know her for whom she truly is, or abandon him for the second time. The period banter is unparalleled as Hall pulls his characters out of the drawing room and into far closer quarters. He explores difficult subjects with a sharpness matched only by the tenderness underpinning the relationship between Viola and Gracewood. Fans of Lisa Kleypas and anyone looking for romance centering trans characters owe it to themselves to check this out. Agent: Courtney Miller-Callihan, Handspun Literary. (May.)

From the Publisher

Hall has hit it out of the park with this emotionally resonant, character-driven Regency romance . . .  [a] nuanced, swoony and a stellar example of what romance can do.”—BookPage, Starred Review

"Hall is a consistently beautiful writer, but this story, the first in a new series, may be his best yet.”
 —Kirkus, Starred Review

“Hall has a gift for humor but is also skilled at composing passages that evoke the deepest emotions, whether the ache of long-denied love, crushing grief or the relief and soulful joy of being accepted and adored as one's most authentic self.”—Library Journal, Starred Review

"The period banter is unparalleled as Hall pulls his characters out of the drawing room and into far closer quarters. He explores difficult subjects with a sharpness matched only by the tenderness underpinning the relationship between Viola and Gracewood. Fans of Lisa Kleypas and anyone looking for romance centering trans characters owe it to themselves to check this out."—Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

“Hall has a gift for humor but is also skilled at composing passages that evoke the deepest emotions, whether the ache of long-denied love, crushing grief or the relief and soulful joy of being accepted and adored as one's most authentic self.”—Shelf Awareness, Starred Review

“His beautiful and moving first historical romance, which has just enough humor to lighten the angst, may be the sweetest book of this summer.”—NPR

“Alexis Hall was made for writing these period narratives. . . . Featuring Hall’s trademark wit, a second chance romance infused with grief, yearning and acceptance, A Lady for a Duke is a vivid, moving tale.”—The Nerd Daily

“A name to follow in romance. . . . With A Lady for a Duke, Hall cements himself even further as a writer who pushes the genre beyond its previous borders and helps to reestablish a new definition altogether.”—Paste Magazine

“If you're looking to swoon, laugh, and cry, then this is the audiobook for you.”—Buzzfeed

"Hall is a dizzyingly talented writer, one likely to spur envy in anyone who's ever picked up a pen."—Entertainment Weekly

"Simply the best writer I've come across in years."—Laura Kinsale, New York Times bestselling author of Flowers from the Storm

Kirkus Reviews

★ 2022-03-30
A second chance for a duke and his best friend.

The Battle of Waterloo changed Viola Carroll’s life, because everyone believes she died there. In fact, after recovering from her wounds, she made the bold decision to walk away from her inheritance and her title and into a new life: She was finally free to live as a woman. Unbeknownst to her, however, her best friend’s life was also changed by the loss of the friend he thinks he left on the battlefield. Justin de Vere, Duke of Gracewood, hides in the country, debilitated by symptoms of PTSD, terrible war injuries, and an addiction to laudanum and alcohol. His would be a solitary life except that he still serves as his sister Miranda’s guardian. When Miranda writes to Lady Marleigh, Viola’s sister-in-law, describing her brother’s decline over the past two years, Lady Marleigh decides that she and Viola (who now serves as her paid companion) must go save Miranda. Viola is terrified to travel, not only because Gracewood thinks his best friend is dead, but also because he’s never known her as a woman. When they arrive, Gracewood is depressed, drunk, and doesn’t realize he already knows Viola, so she agrees when Lady Marleigh suggests she try to help him get better. From their respective hiding places, Viola and Gracewood find they share an undeniable connection; eventually Gracewood realizes he’s known Viola his whole life, and the best friends begin to fall in love despite the complications. Author Hall is a consistently beautiful writer, but this story, the first in a new series, may be his best yet. The plot elegantly balances period details and classic tropes to create a queer love story with a pitch-perfect blend of reality and hope. Though the steamy intimate scenes are electric, the story’s momentum comes not from Viola and Gracewood’s slow burn but from the genuine emotional connections among a full cast of charming characters. Despite the centering of Viola and Gracewood’s love story, this is a book that celebrates the many ways people love and are loved. The story is complex and long but never lags, and readers will be glued to the book through the satisfying epilogue. As a bonus, Hall also wrote the funny, insightful discussion questions at the back, allowing readers space to dwell a bit longer on the story.

A groundbreaking and excellent queer historical romance.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940175541367
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Publication date: 05/24/2022
Edition description: Unabridged

Customer Reviews