A Joyful Noise

A Joyful Noise

by Jo Dee MessinaJo Dee Messina


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Jo Dee Messina's first Christmas album is a genial inventory of seasonal standards, supplemented by two new songs, "A Joyful Noise" and "Keep the Faith," which Messina co-wrote. The standards lean toward the secular celebration of winter delights, from the joys attending homecomings ("I'll Be Home for Christmas," "The Christmas Song") to the blessings bestowed by nature ("Winter Wonderland," "Sleigh Ride," "Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!"). Messina doesn't forget the true meaning of things, though, and thus essays sacred texts such as "What Child Is This" (with Kenny Rogers on backing vocals), "O Holy Night," and "Silent Night." The bluesy edge in her voice lends a convivial, even sultry edge to the secular material, even as it brings appropriate gravitas to the hymns. On all of these songs, the low-profile production keeps matters festive or solemn, as the occasion demands, without calling attention to itself. On the two new songs that close the album, it's all stops out, with big, booming orchestras, robust choir support, and Messina declaiming her messages full-throttle. It's all a bit jarring in light of the nuanced performances that precede the final numbers, but Messina's heart is always in the right place. What results is, indeed, a joyful noise, delivered with bravado, sensitivity, and conviction.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/29/2002
Label: Curb Special Markets
UPC: 0715187875524
catalogNumber: 78755
Rank: 126852

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jo Dee Messina   Primary Artist
John Jorgenson   Acoustic Guitar
Cindy Reynolds Wyatt   Harp
Sam Bacco   Percussion
Robert Bailey   Background Vocals
Mike Brignardello   Bass
Everett Drake   Background Vocals
Stuart Duncan   Mandolin
Kim Fleming   Background Vocals
Vince Gill   Background Vocals
Vicki Hampton   Background Vocals
Yvonne Hodges   Background Vocals
Derrick Lee   Background Vocals
Paul Leim   Drums
Sam Levine   Flute,Piccolo
Brent Mason   Electric Guitar
Gene Miller   Background Vocals
Nashville String Machine   Strings
Steve Nathan   Piano,Keyboards
Craig Nelson   String Bass
Bobby Ogdin   Keyboards
Tom Roady   Percussion
Bergen White   Conductor
Lonnie Wilson   Drums
Spencer Campbell   Bass
Lisa Cochran   Background Vocals
Pat Bergeson   Harmonica
Kim Parent   Background Vocals
Sherrie Kibble   Background Vocals
Ralph Friedrichsen   Vocals
Howard Duck   Organ,Piano
Tom Bukovac   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Jennifer Kummer   French Horn
Bill Woodworth   English Horn
Emily Smith   Children's Chorus
Jenkins Edward   Background Vocals
Crystal Hooper   Background Vocals
Jenna Maher   Children's Chorus
Linda Patterson   French Horn
Calvin Smith   French Horn

Technical Credits

Adolphe Adam   Composer
Mel Tormé   Composer
Buck Ram   Composer
Franz Gruber   Composer
Felix Bernard   Composer
Kim Gannon   Composer
Walter Kent   Composer
Brent Maher   Producer,Engineer
Justin Niebank   Engineer
Robert Wells   Composer
Bergen White   Arranger
Dick Smith   Composer
Jo Dee Messina   Arranger,Producer
Sue Austin   Creative Services Coordinator
Joseph Mohr   Composer
John Sullivan Dwight   Composer
Glenn Sweitzer   Art Direction
Cheryl Johnson   Wardrobe Design
Traditional   Composer
Jamie Kimmelman   Wardrobe Design
William Chatterton Dix   Composer

Customer Reviews