A Handwritten Modern Classic

A Handwritten Modern Classic

by Finola Moorhead

Paperback

$22.46 $24.95 Save 10% Current price is $22.46, Original price is $24.95. You Save 10%.
Usually ships within 6 days

Overview

Gertrude Stein in her 1926 lecture on Composition as Explanation wrote: "The creator of the new composition in the arts is an outlaw, until [s]he is a classic..."

In the tradition of Gertrude Stein, Finola Moorhead set about writing A Handwritten Modern Classic in 1977. The result ismusings and criticisms dwells on protestors clashing with police over freeways, political change, conservatism, Malcolm Fraser, what love can do for you, and whether the old hate the young. With discussions on the politics of suicide and unshaven armpits, one of Australia's most intriguing experimental writers has set her thoughts to writing, with mention of such famed writers as Socrates and Jane Austen, Coleridge and Tolstoy, as well as the battles between romanticism and jingoism in Australian writing. The book also brings up issues such as imperialism in language use, popularity in writing, and giving in to what the market wants from literary creation. Written—by hand—in the tradition of European and American manifestos, this document challenges readers and writers alike not to fall for a romantic view of the world.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781742197999
Publisher: Spinifex Press
Publication date: 04/01/2013
Pages: 86
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.40(d)

About the Author

Finola Moorhead is a playwright, poet, and writer. She is the author of numerous books, including Darkness More Visible, My Voice, Quilt, Remember the Tarantella, and the award-winning Still Murder.

Read an Excerpt

"The first observation is that the imagination is how you do what you know. A person who says he is a writer and uses many words to say that imagination beats experience has no imagination, especially if he cannot toss a salad and lets his wife buy his clothes."

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

"Both retro & cool, A Handwritten Modern Classic is a sprightly epistle to the world. Aphoristic, it is, abounding in double binds & double takes and ironic to a fault. Finola Moorhead's tour-de-force from 35 years ago is a delight to read again today." —Kris Hemensley, Collected Works

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews