A Gospel Tribute to President Barack Obama

A Gospel Tribute to President Barack Obama


$10.14 $10.99 Save 8% Current price is $10.14, Original price is $10.99. You Save 8%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, May 19


While the gospel community might be expected to rejoice at the election of Barack Obama as president in 2008, that election occurred against the backdrop of numerous difficulties, notably a failing economy and ongoing military commitments, that may have sobered even the new president's most ardent supporters. That may help explain the unusually solemn tone of this album, released five months into his administration, mixing excerpts from Obama's speeches with gospel performances. Early on, in such tracks as Benita Washington's "This Is Your Cue" and Israel Houghton's "Send Me to the Nations," the auspicious nature of Obama's ascendency is suggested, but after he is heard making his famous call for change, William Murphy answers with "Changes," in which he notes that it isn't as easy as all that: "In order to change, you gotta go through some changes." And so it goes, as the gospel singers reflect on the hardships that have brought the faithful and the country to this crossroads, and Obama is heard acknowledging the problems, despite his optimistic sense that things can improve, repeating his catch phrase, "Yes, we can." Even he, however, can tick off the challenges, as he does in "Signs of the Times Narration," after which Marvin L. Winans, Michael McDonald, and Vanessa Bell Armstrong contribute "Signs of the Times," a funky look at what's wrong in the style of the Temptations' "Ball of Confusion." Obama gets the last word, pledging to make things right. But this is not a starry-eyed celebration of the new president so much as a sober look at what he and the nation face, politically and spiritually.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/09/2009
Label: Atf Records
UPC: 0829569812523
catalogNumber: 8125
Rank: 10137


  1. This Is Your Cue
  2. Send Me to the Nations
  3. King Inside of Me
  4. Changes
  5. The Curtain's Raised
  6. A Path in the Sea
  7. I'm Gonna Make It
  8. Change
  9. Brothers & Friends
  10. Closing In
  11. Still Here
  12. Signs of the Times
  13. [Untitled]
  14. [Untitled]
  15. [Untitled]
  16. [Untitled]
  17. [Untitled]

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Shirley Murdock   Background Vocals
Jonathan DuBose   Guitar
Barry Green   Brass
Marc Harris   Keyboards,Hammond Organ
Jim Horn   Brass
Paul Jackson   Guitar
Ann McCrary   Background Vocals
Ryck Carter   Bass
Gayle Mayes   Background Vocals
Dana Reed   Guitar
Jeremy Haynes   Drums
Kelly Price   Background Vocals
Andrew Ramsey   Guitar
Myron Williams   Organ
Melinda Doolittle   Background Vocals
Kemmerin Blalark   Drums
Darrell Freeman   Bass
Michael Bereal   Piano,Keyboards
Darcey Stewart   Background Vocals
Benita Washington   Background Vocals
Marcus Finnie   Drums
Cyndy Paisley   Background Vocals
Tamiko Johnson   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Ronn Huff   Orchestral Arrangements
Lloyd Barry   Brass Arrangment
Cedric Caldwell   Composer,Producer,Instrumentation
Victor Caldwell   Composer,Producer,Instrumentation
Gerald Hairston   Engineer
Marc Harris   Composer,Producer,Horn Arrangements
Jim Horn   Horn Arrangements
Aaron Lindsey   Composer
Angie Winans   Composer
Terry Woods   Composer,Executive Producer
T.D. Jakes   Composer
Marcus Dawson   Composer
Ralph Cacciurri   Engineer
Jerard Woods   Composer
Patrick Love   Composer
Myron Williams   Producer,Engineer,Brass Arrangment
Jeff Ferguson   Composer
Jim Gray   Orchestral Arrangements
Shane Gue   Engineer
Ron Benner   Engineer
Ternae Jordan   Composer
Israel Houghton   Composer
Michael "Mookie" Taylor   Percussion Programming
Matt Cole   Engineer
Ralph Forrest   drum programming
Malcolm H. Harper   Engineer
Robert W. "JoJo" Hill   Engineer,Brass Arrangment

Customer Reviews