A Good Thing Lost: 1968-1973

A Good Thing Lost: 1968-1973

by The Poppy FamilyThe Poppy Family


$10.47 $10.99 Save 5% Current price is $10.47, Original price is $10.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 17


A Good Thing Lost: 1968-1973 is an excellent best-of collection from the Poppy Family, a great, if largely forgotten, late-'60s Canadian soft rock/psychedelic group. The meticulous songwriting, production, and arranging skills of guitarist/mastermind Terry Jacks (who later had a huge solo hit with the classic pop single "Seasons in the Sun") lift these recordings above the work of many of the group's better-known contemporaries. Singer Susan Jacks has a beautiful voice that sometimes sounds like (but predates) Karen Carpenter, but is eminently more soulful. Although characterized in the liner notes as a "soft pop" band, the Poppy Family was also capable of a somewhat tougher sound that sometimes recalled Surrealistic Pillow-era Jefferson Airplane and folkier material in the Kenny Rogers & the First Edition/Roger McGuinn vein. Throughout, Jacks frames the songs with creative, if often dated, arrangements that compare favorably to his obvious influences, the Beatles, the Beach Boys, and Phil Spector. In addition to "Which Way You Goin' Billy," the group's biggest hit (number two in 1970) and a generous helping of singles and high-quality album tracks, the disc includes an alternate, wildly psychedelic mix of "There's No Blood in Bone" and two different versions of "That's Where I Went Wrong" (the second of which features some cool country guitar leads). Overall, A Good Thing Lost: 1968-1973 is a fantastic find -- one of those hidden gems that record fanatics always hope to discover.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/06/1996
Label: What Are Records
UPC: 0744626001729
catalogNumber: 60017
Rank: 30886


  1. Beyond the Clouds
  2. Free from the City
  3. What Can the Matter Be?
  4. Which Way You Goin' Billy?
  5. Happy Island
  6. There's No Blood in Bone
  7. A Good Thing Lost
  8. You Took My Moonlight Away
  9. Shadows on My Wall
  10. That's Where I Went Wrong
  11. Where Evil Grows
  12. I Was Wondering
  13. Tryin'
  14. Winter Milk
  15. Good Friends
  16. I'll See You There
  17. You Don't Know What Love Is
  18. I Thought of You Again
  19. Another Year, Another Day
  20. Evil Overshadows Joe
  21. That's Where I Went Wrong

Album Credits

Customer Reviews