A Farewell to Kings [40th Anniversary Edition] [3 CD]

A Farewell to Kings [40th Anniversary Edition] [3 CD]

by RushRush

CD(Anniversary Edition)

$31.52 $32.99 Save 4% Current price is $31.52, Original price is $32.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


On 1977's A Farewell to Kings it quickly becomes apparent that Rush had improved their songwriting and strengthened their focus and musical approach. Synthesizers also mark their first prominent appearance on a Rush album, a direction the band would continue to pursue on future releases. With the popular hit single "Closer to the Heart," the trio showed that they could compose concise and traditionally structured songs, while the 11-minute "Xanadu" remains an outstanding accomplishment all these years later (superb musicianship merged with vivid lyrics help create one of Rush's best all-time tracks). The album-opening title track begins with a tasty classical guitar/synth passage, before erupting into a powerful rocker. The underrated "Madrigal" proves to be a delicately beautiful composition, while "Cinderella Man" is one of Rush's few songs to include lyrics penned entirely by Geddy Lee. The ten-minute tale of a dangerous black hole, "Cygnus X-1," closes the album on an unpredictable note, slightly comparable to the two bizarre extended songs on 1975's Caress of Steel. A Farewell to Kings successfully built on the promise of their breakthrough 2112, and helped broaden their audience. [A three-CD 40th Anniversary Edition of A Farewell to Kings was released in 2017, featuring the 2015 Abbey Road Studios remastered edition of the album; a concert recorded in February 1978 at London's Hammersmith Odeon; and four newly recorded cover versions of songs from the original album by Dream Theater, Big Wreck, the Trews, and Alain Johannes along with an instrumental studio outtake entitled "Cygnus X-2 Eh." The set also featured new artwork by Hugh Syme and new liner notes by Rob Bowman.]

Product Details

Release Date: 12/01/2017
Label: Mercury
UPC: 0602557886924
catalogNumber: 002724502
Rank: 21550

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Rush   Primary Artist
James LaBrie   Vocals
Geddy Lee   Synthesizer,Bass Guitar,Vocals,12-string Guitar,Moog Synthesizer
Alex Lifeson   Synthesizer,Electric Guitar,Classical Guitar,Guitar (12 String Acoustic)
Mike Mangini   Percussion,Drums
David McMillan   Bass
John Myung   Synthesizer,Bass
Neil Peart   Drums,Triangle,Vibraslap,cowbell,Tubular Bells,Temple Blocks,Orchestra Bells,Bell-tree,Wind Chimes
John Petrucci   Guitar
Jordan Rudess   Keyboards
Chuck Keeping   Drums
Ian Thornley   Guitar,Vocals

Technical Credits

Rush   Producer
Terry Brown   Producer,Engineer
Richard Chycki   Vocal Engineer
Andy Curran   Executive Producer
Alain Johannes   Composer,Producer
Geddy Lee   Composer
Alex Lifeson   Composer
Neil Peart   Composer
John Petrucci   Producer
Hugh Syme   Art Direction,Illustrations
Major Ian Grandy   Concert Sound Engineer
Yosh Inouye   Cover Photo
Jeff Fura   Executive Producer
Pat Moran   Engineer
Trews   Producer
Jason "Metal" Donkersgoed   Producer,Engineer
Terry "Broon" Brown   Engineer
Howard Ungerleider   Lighting Director
Peter Talbot   Composer
Darren "Jeter" Magierowski   Engineer
James "Jimmy T" Meslin   Engineer
Ian Thornley   Producer

Customer Reviews