A Dotted Line

A Dotted Line

by Nickel CreekNickel Creek


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, April 23


A Nickel Creek reunion was perhaps inevitable. Neither Sara Watkins nor Sean Watkins ceased performing together during their seven-year hiatus and while Chris Thile saw some success with the Punch Brothers, the pull of a 25th anniversary reunion was too strong to resist. To accompany a 2014 tour, the trio recorded the new album A Dotted Line, a record that adhered to the group's traditions so much they wound up whittling away most of their progressive leanings. Nickel Creek still has an ear for interesting covers -- here, they pick Mother Mother's "Hayloft" and Sam Phillips' "Where Is Love Now" -- but the instrumentation on this brief ten-song collection focuses on guitar, mandolin, and fiddle. It's a far cry from the eclectic, electric adventures on Sara Watkins' solo records but the music feels alive and nimble and the originals -- which are primarily group collaborations, although Thile wrote the instrumental "Elsie" and Sean wrote the plaintive "21st of May" -- are uniformly solid. If there isn't much spark, there is a surplus of warmth; the trio is comfortable and relaxed, and it's hard not to succumb to such friendly, familiar vibes.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/01/2014
Label: Nonesuch
UPC: 0075597955972
catalogNumber: 541944
Rank: 45057


  1. Rest of My Life
  2. Destination
  3. Elsie
  4. Christmas Eve
  5. Hayloft
  6. 21st of May
  7. Love of Mine
  8. Elephant In the Corn
  9. You Don't Know What's Going On
  10. Where is Love Now

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nickel Creek   Primary Artist
Edgar Meyer   Bowed Bass
Matt Chamberlain   Percussion
Mark Schatz   Bass
Eric Valentine   Percussion
Chris Thile   Bouzouki,Mandolin,Vocals,Group Member
Sara Watkins   Fiddle,Vocals,Group Member
Sean Watkins   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member

Technical Credits

Sam Phillips   Composer
Eric Valentine   Producer,Engineer
Chris Thile   Composer,Lyricist
Sara Watkins   Composer,Lyricist
Sean Watkins   Composer,Lyricist
Brantley Gutierrez   Band Photo
Ryan Guldemond   Composer
Cian Riordan   Engineer

Customer Reviews