A Collection

A Collection

by The Doors

CD(Spanish Import)

$37.04 $38.99 Save 5% Current price is $37.04, Original price is $38.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, February 4
2 New & Used Starting at $22.02


The Doors released six albums between 1967 and 1971 (the band was really only together in its classic incarnation for four years), and leaning heavily on lead singer Jim Morrison's frequently sophomoric but always eerily fascinating takes on the colliding orbits of sex and death, the group managed to sound dangerous and edgy while still retaining commercial viability, even placing two singles, 1967's "Light My Fire" and 1968's "Hello, I Love You," at the very top of the pop charts. This beautiful set collects all six of those albums in their 40th anniversary remastered versions, complete with facsimile paper sleeves featuring the original artwork. It adds up to a very impressive legacy, from the early mission statement "Break on Through (To the Other Side)" to the unambiguous stomp of "L.A. Woman" (for the record, the chant of "Mr. Mojo Risin'" was intended as a deliberate anagram of the name Jim Morrison). What sometimes gets lost in the larger-than-life myth of Morrison was his refreshing directness with love songs, and "Love Me Two Times," "Touch Me," and "Love Her Madly" still retain a surprisingly tender strength and honesty even some 40 years after they were recorded. Then, of course, there's "The End," still one of the most harrowing moments in the history of rock, and the song that best illustrates Morrison's over the top but somehow appropriately balanced sense of how theater, drama, psychology, sex, death, pop poetry, and rock all merge into a single unavoidable spectacle. No band has ever done it better, or had the courage to even try.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/19/2011
Label: Warner Bros Uk
UPC: 0081227976262
catalogNumber: 2797626
Rank: 6456

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Doors   Primary Artist
Lonnie Mack   Bass
Curtis Amy   Saxophone,Soloist
Jim Morrison   Vocals,Group Member
Marc Benno   Rhythm Guitar
Ray Manzarek   Organ,Bass,Piano,Group Member
John Densmore   Drums,Group Member
Jesse McReynolds   Mandolin
Reinol Andino   Conga
Harvey Brooks   Bass
Jim Buchanan   Fiddle
Kerry Magness   Bass
G. Puglese   Harp
Jerry Scheff   Bass
Leroy Vinnegar   Acoustic Bass
Champ Webb   English Horn,Soloist
Ray Neopolitan   Bass
Douglas Lubahn   Bass,Electric Bass
Robby Krieger   Guitar,Choir, Chorus,Group Member
George Bohanan   Trombone,Soloist

Technical Credits

Willie Dixon   Composer
John Lee Hooker   Composer
Kurt Weill   Composer
Doors   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Jim Morrison   Arranger,Composer
Ray Manzarek   Arranger
John Densmore   Arranger
Bertolt Brecht   Composer
Bruce Botnick   Producer,Engineer
Paul Ferrara   Cover Art
Paul Rothchild   Producer
Guy Webster   Cover Photo,Back Cover Photo
William S. Harvey   Art Direction
Joel Brodsky   Cover Photo,Back Cover Photo
Peter Schaumann   Illustrations
Wendell Hamick   Cover Photo
Carl Cossick   Concept
Robby Krieger   Arranger,Composer
Chester Burnett   Composer
Paul Harris   Orchestration

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews