by Agnetha FältskogAgnetha Fältskog


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, March 5
4 New & Used Starting at $2.99


Agnetha Fältskog faded into a quiet retirement in the late '80s, resurfacing with an autobiography in 1996 and then a collection of covers, primarily standards, called My Colouring Book, a 2004 release loosely tied into the popularity of ABBA's jukebox musical Mama Mia. Despite these projects, she never pursued a full-fledged comeback, not until 2013 when she released A, a collection of new songs written and produced by Jörgen Elofsson, that received a major multinational push. Elofsson wrote hits for Britney Spears, including the fizzy early sensation "(You Drive Me) Crazy," but the touchstone for A is his masterwork of pageantry, "A Moment Like This," the song Kelly Clarkson sang at the conclusion of the first season of American Idol. There are hints of disco here and there, most prominently on "Dance Your Pain Away," and a bit of pure pop ("Back on Your Radio" is a terrific statement of adult contemporary purpose), but for the most part A is straight-down-the-middle Europop ballads, the kind ABBA pioneered and the kind Fältskog still feels very comfortable singing. Throughout it all, she sounds strikingly robust -- she may not hit the high notes anymore but she never sounds thin -- and part of the credit should go to Elofsson, who crafts his songs and productions to showcase Fältskog at her best. Much of this feels familiar but not precisely like music she's made before. Rather, this is stately, sweet Europop, the kind that could have been released any time over the last 30 years, but it's given a warm, reassuring quality by Agnetha Fältskog, who retains an appealing, easy touch that separates her from her successors and still resonates all these years later.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/14/2013
Label: Verve
UPC: 0602537321841
catalogNumber: 001835602
Rank: 70666

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Agnetha Fältskog   Primary Artist,Vocals,Background Vocals
Per Lindvall   Drums
Linda Ulvaeus   Background Vocals
Max Lorentz   Organ
Myrra Malmberg   Background Vocals
Peter Nordahl   Piano,Conductor
Jörgen Elofsson   Background Vocals
Fredrik Thomander   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Gunnar Norden   Bass
Janet Leon   Background Vocals
Jeanette Ohlsson   Background Vocals
Pär Westerlund   Keyboards
Simon Petrén   Keyboards
Niklas Sunden   Accordion
Jesper Jacobson   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Carole Bayer Sager   Composer
Agnetha Fältskog   Composer
Gary Barlow   Composer
Peter Nordahl   Arranger,Producer
Janne Hansson   Engineer
Jörgen Elofsson   Composer,Producer,Engineer,Vocal Arrangements,Vocal Engineer
Lasse Nilsson   Engineer
Micke Herrstrom   Engineer
Fredrik Thomander   Composer,Programming
Matt Read   Art Direction
Pär Westerlund   Composer,Programming
Simon Petrén   Programming

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews