by Lady ALady A
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Lady Antebellum severed ties with their longtime producer Paul Worley for 2014's 747, choosing instead to work with Nathan Chapman. His best-known work was for the Band Perry and, especially, Taylor Swift's Fearless and Speak Now, a good indication that the trio was looking to capitalize on the soft pop crossover of "Compass," the extra tune that helped 2013's Golden turn into another big smash. Certainly, 747 plays like a pristine pop album, reliant on clean corners and slick surfaces, and peppered with references to such modern sensations as Macklemore and 2014's it-boy Matthew McConaughey. Lady Antebellum always have been a pop band so this concentrated gloss doesn't feel inappropriate. If anything, it feels like acceptance, as if the trio is embracing all of its crossover inclinations while cutting away the corniness that led to such previous missteps as "Generation Away." Perhaps some of this focus is due to the presence of Chapman, who helped Swift craft her blockbusters, and he performs a similar task here, sculpting a clean, friendly sound that showcases the trio at its best. Nevertheless, all of the credit can't be placed at his feet as the band possesses a fair amount of the songwriting copyrights here and, when combined with contributions by such Nashville mainstays as Shane McAnally and Gordie Sampson, it adds up to one of the trio's strongest albums.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/30/2014
Label: Capitol Nashville
UPC: 0602537904396
catalogNumber: 002114802
Rank: 91548

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Lady A   Primary Artist
Stuart Duncan   Fiddle
Steve Fishell   Steel Guitar
Shannon Forrest   Percussion,Drums
Michael Rhodes   Bass
Mike Rojas   Keyboards,Hammond B3
Dave Thomson   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Bass,Percussion,Electric Guitar,Keyboards
Michael Rojas   Keyboards
Tim Lauer   Keyboards
Tom Bukovac   Electric Guitar
Dave Haywood   Acoustic Guitar,Mandolin,Electric Guitar,Bazouki
Rob McNelley   Electric Guitar
Sarah Buxton   Background Vocals
Steve Bryant   Bass
Nathan Chapman   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Mandolin,Electric Guitar,Keyboards
Todd Lombardo   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Eric Kinny   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Marc Beeson   Composer
Daniel Miller   Art Direction
Dave Thomson   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Brian David Willis   Engineer
Chuck Ainlay   Engineer
Gordie Sampson   Composer
Shane McAnally   Composer
Brad Warren   Composer
Brett Warren   Composer
Karen Naff   Art Direction
Dave Haywood   Composer
Hillary Scott   Composer
Josh Newman   Art Direction
Cary Barlowe   Composer
Jeff Pardo   Composer
Caitlyn Smith   Composer
Rodney Clawson   Composer
Nathan Chapman   Programming,Producer,Engineer
Josh Kear   Composer,Programming
Luke Laird   Composer
Lady A   Producer
Mary Hilliard Harrington   Art Direction
Charles Kelley   Composer
Stephanie Chapman   Composer
Abe Stoklasa   Composer
Michael Stuckey   Programming
Nick Kallstrom   Engineer
Ben Rector   Composer
Chris Wilkinson   Engineer
Christian Rada   Composer
Sean R. Badum   Engineer
Ernesto Olivera   Engineer
Josh Kearn   Composer
Eric Kinny   Programming,Producer,Engineer

Customer Reviews