by PrincePrince


$21.61 $22.99 Save 6% Current price is $21.61, Original price is $22.99. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


4Ever, the first posthumous Prince album, arrived seven months after his April 21, 2016 death -- just in time for that year's holiday season -- and it's the first Prince hits compilation since 2006, when Rhino/Warner issued the 17-track Ultimate Prince. A better comparison, however, is the 1993 set The Hits/The B-Sides, which contained two discs of hits -- also available separately -- and a disc of otherwise unavailable flip sides. 4Ever covers this same territory, even working the B-side "Gotta Stop (Messin' About)" and the majestic 1982 outtake "Moonbeam Levels" into its 40 tracks, bypassing anything released after 1993 due to licensing reasons. This means his last Top Ten hit, 1994's "The Most Beautiful Girl in the World," is absent, as are the other singles he released in the subsequent 23 years, but they're not missed as much as his own version of "I Feel for U," "Money Don't Matter 2 Night," the minor hit "Let's Pretend We're Married," or "Erotic City," "17 Days," "How Come U Don't Call Me Anymore," and "Another Lonely Christmas," all B-sides that could easily have been included in a definitive compilation. This, along with the odd non-chronological sequencing, means 4Ever isn't definitive, but in terms of consumer value, it might be the best single Prince compilation because it rounds up the great majority of his '80s and early-'90s hits -- including such singles as "Let's Work," "Mountains," "Girls & Boys," and "Batdance," all absent from previous Prince compilations -- in a convenient package.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/22/2016
Label: Warner Records
UPC: 0093624914600
catalogNumber: 558509
Rank: 6734

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Prince   Primary Artist
Sheena Easton   Vocals
Tommy Barbarella   Keyboards,Sampling
Michael Bland   Drums
Lisa Coleman   Keyboards,Voices
Damon Dickson   Percussion,Background Vocals
Sheila E.   Percussion,Drums
Matt Fink   Keyboards,Voices
Rosie Gaines   Organ,Background Vocals,Sampling,Lead
Wendy Melvoin   Guitar,Voices
Levi Seacer   Rhythm Guitar,Background Vocals
Sonny T.   Bass,Background Vocals
Bobby Z   Percussion
Kirk Johnson   Percussion,Background Vocals
Brown Mark   Bass,Voices

Technical Credits

Jimmy McCracklin   Composer
Prince   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Lisa Coleman   Composer
David Z.   Arranger
Wendy Melvoin   Composer
Levi Seacer   Composer
Prince & the New Power Generation   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Prince & the Revolution   Arranger,Producer
Alex Tenta   Art Direction
Chris Moon   Composer
Lowell Fulsom   Composer
Madison Dube   Inside Photo
Anthony Mosley   Composer
Justine Walpole   Cover Photo

Customer Reviews