44 & 66 [Bonus Track]

44 & 66 [Bonus Track]

by Greg BrownGreg Brown


$15.30 $15.99 Save 4% Current price is $15.3, Original price is $15.99. You Save 4%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, June 21


Like his debut album, Greg Brown produced 44 & 66 himself for his own Red House Records, and the setting is casual. However, this is a moodier album than Iowa Waltz, and Brown's songwriting takes a sharper turn into wider topical spaces and shows traces of the talents that would become developed to a fuller extent on his following release, In the Dark With You. Brown's humor and passion, always co-mingling with each other, is evident in this set of songs highlighted by the title track, "Downtown," and the poignant "People Hide Their Love." Brown can be hopeful and funny, giving advice in "Don't You Think Too Much," or uproarious with "Beatniks Gonna Rise Again." The music is atmospherically rich with Dave Moore's down-home and gritty harmonica playing lending itself to Brown's many styles of song. Prudence Johnson's vocals, as heard on the adult lullaby "Ring Around the Moon," would become a familiar sound in Brown's subsequent albums. This is an early album from one of the most enduring careers in contemporary songwriting and should not be overlooked. [The CD release features the non-album track, "Comin' Into You."]

Product Details

Release Date: 03/23/1992
Label: Red House
UPC: 0033651000228
catalogNumber: 2
Rank: 83873


  1. 44 and 66
  2. Don't You Think Too Much
  3. Bozo's in Love Again
  4. Twenty or So
  5. Ring Around the Moon
  6. Downtown
  7. People Hide Their Love
  8. Lullaby at the Edge of Town
  9. Early
  10. Beatniks Gonna Rise Again
  11. Comin' into You

Album Credits

Customer Reviews