40 Trips Around the Sun

40 Trips Around the Sun

40 Trips Around the Sun

40 Trips Around the Sun


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, October 3
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Toto celebrated their 40th anniversary with 40 Trips Around the Sun, a 17-track journey through the past buttressed by three unheard tracks. Toto decide to bury the big hits toward the end of 40 Trips Around the Sun -- the last four tracks are "Hold the Line," "Georgy Porgy," "Rosanna," and "Africa" -- which forces attention on the brand-new "Alone" and the 1984 outtake "Spanish Sea," both tracks that highlight their chops and hint at their proggier side. They keep pushing their hard side with "I'll Supply the Love," which winds up giving way to the smooth surfaces of "I'll Be Over You," but by that time the point has been made: Toto have shown they're not just an adult contemporary hit machine; they're a rock band. As such, 40 Trips may be more representative of the totality of Toto, but fans of the easy-rolling yacht rock hits may want to stick to the smoother waters of 1990's Past to Present 1977-1990 or 1995's Best Ballads.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/09/2018
Label: Sony Legacy
UPC: 0889854699123
catalogNumber: 546991
Rank: 56060


  1. Alone
  2. Spanish Sea
  3. I'll Supply the Love
  4. I'll Be Over You
  5. Stranger in Town
  6. 99
  7. Struck by Lightning
  8. Pamela
  9. Afraid of Love
  10. I Won't Hold You Back
  11. Jake to the Bone
  12. Stop Loving You
  13. Lea
  14. Hold the Line
  15. Georgy Porgy
  16. Rosanna
  17. Africa

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Toto   Primary Artist
Jon Anderson   Background Vocals
Don Henley   Background Vocals
Cheryl Lynn   Vocals,Background Vocals
Michael McDonald   Background Vocals
James Newton Howard   Strings
David Sanborn   Saxophone
Tom Scott   Horn,Saxophone
Jim Keltner   Percussion
Lenny Castro   Percussion
Vinnie Colaiuta   Drums
Paulinho Da Costa   Percussion
Michael Cotten   Synthesizer
Chuck Findley   Horn
Michael Fisher   Percussion
Fergie Frederiksen   Background Vocals
Tommy Funderburk   Background Vocals
Gene Morford   Vocals
Gary Grant   Trumpet,Horn
Gary Herbig   Horn
Jerry Hey   Trumpet,Horn
Jim Horn   Saxophone
David Hungate   Bass
Bobby Kimball   Vocals,Background Vocals
John Kurlander   Strings
Steve Lukather   Bass,Guitar,Bass Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Marty Paich   Strings
David Paich   Piano,Strings,Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals
James Pankow   Trombone,Horn
Jeff Porcaro   Percussion,Drums
Bill Payne   Keyboards
Steve Porcaro   Synthesizer,Keyboards,Hammond Organ,Background Vocals
Mike Porcaro   Bass
Joe Porcaro   Percussion,Marimbas,Xylophone,Vibes
Timothy B. Schmit   Background Vocals
Chris Trujillo   Percussion
Joseph Williams   Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals
Chuck Finley   Trumpet
Michael Sherwood   Background Vocals
Mark Williams   Background Vocals
Steve Jordan   Percussion
Tom Kelly   Background Vocals
Martyn Ford Orchestra   Strings
Martin Tilmann   Cello

Technical Credits

Toto   Composer,Producer
James Newton Howard   Orchestral Arrangements
Tom Scott   Horn Arrangements
Niko Bolas   Engineer
Shannon Forrest   Engineer
Randy Goodrum   Composer
Jerry Hey   Horn Arrangements
Jim Horn   Engineer
Tom Knox   Engineer
Greg Ladanyi   Engineer
David Leonard   Engineer
Shep Lonsdale   Engineer
Steve Lukather   Composer
Marty Paich   String Arrangements
Peggy McCreary   Engineer
David Paich   Composer
Jeff Porcaro   Composer
Steve Porcaro   Composer,Engineer
Schmitt   Engineer
Joseph Williams   Composer,Engineer
Mike Ging   Pro-Tools
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews