4 + Four

4 + Four

by Turtle Island String Quartet, Ying Quartet

SACD(Super Audio CD)

View All Available Formats & Editions


After two decades of pushing the boundaries of their genre to include folk, jazz, world music, and practically everything else, the members of the Turtle Island String Quartet tackle a new challenge on this collaboration with a more traditionally classical ensemble, the Ying Quartet. Blending together in a richly hued eight-piece formation, the quartets have forged a diverse repertoire combining new works with arrangements of familiar ones. The new music comes direct from the pens of the Turtle Island team. Quartet founder David Balakrishnan's Mara's Garden of False Delights is the disc's centerpiece, its three movements inspired by ideas from Hindu philosophy and its music combining the feel of Indian ragas (especially in the concluding "Snakes and Ladders") with jazzy syncopations and blue notes. Turtle Island's second violinist, Evan Price, humbly offers his Variations on an Unoriginal Theme; but if the theme's not original, the ingeniously disguised variations certainly are. Price also contributes a soulful arrangement of the jazz standard "Yearnin' " by Oliver Nelson to open the program, while cellist Mark Summer's treatment of the Beatles' "Because" rounds it out on a smoothly serene note. Even the most "classical" number here -- Darius Milhaud's landmark 1923 ballet score, La Création du Monde -- was composed under the sway of jazz. In fact, as one of the first (and most successful) attempts at this sort of fusion, it's a perfect choice for the Turtle Island/Ying collaboration, and Danny Seidenberg's octet arrangement is so cleverly executed that the raucous winds and brass of the original aren't even missed. Here's hoping that 4 + Four adds up to more than just this one disc, because it would be fascinating -- and great fun -- to hear what direction the Turtle Island and Ying players might take together in the future.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/22/2005
Label: Telarc
UPC: 0089408063060
catalogNumber: 60630

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Turtle Island String Quartet   Primary Artist,Ensemble,String Quartet
Ying Quartet   Primary Artist
David Balakrishnan   Violin
Mark Summer   Cello
Evan Price   Violin
Janet Ying   Violin
Timothy Ying   Violin
Ying Quartet   Ensemble,String Quartet
Mads Tolling   Viola
Timothy Ying   Violin
Phillip Ying   Viola
David Ying   Cello

Technical Credits

Darius Milhaud   Composer
John Lennon   Composer
Paul McCartney   Composer
Oliver Nelson   Composer
David Balakrishnan   Composer
Jack Renner   Engineer
Danny Seidenberg   Arranger,Liner Notes
Mark Summer   Arranger,Composer
Anilda Carrasquillo   Art Direction
Evan Price   Arranger,Composer
Thomas C. Moore   Producer,Liner Notes
Phillip Ying   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews