by BanglesBangles


$16.28 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.28, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


In the mid-'80s, there was a small but lasting musical movement on the West Coast called the paisley underground. Made up of a handful of bands (the Bangles, Dream Syndicate, Three O'Clock, and Rain Parade) who looked to the garage rock and psychedelia of the '60s for inspiration and then added their own idiosyncratic spin, the scene crumbled quickly, but the bands involved all released classic recordings and built a lasting legacy. In 2013, the groups got back together to play a benefit show and it went so well that they decided to commemorate the occasion by doing covers of each other's songs. After a few years of back-burner planning, they finally made it happen, and 3x4 is the result. Each band covered a song by the other three bands, and unlike many projects that are this steeped in nostalgia, the record is a joyful trip back to the past instead of a hollow reminder of better times. It helps that all the bands had already been playing together in some form, so there wasn't much rust to knock off. It also helps that they all loved each other's music, and judging by their liner notes, were all overjoyed to have the chance to revisit and recast them in their own image. The Bangles take the top honors, sounding like they are having a blast throughout as they give the Dream Syndicate's "That's What You Always Say" a high-powered kick in the pants thanks to Vicki Peterson's ripping vocals and nasty guitar solo, then turn the Rain Parade's "Talking in My Sleep" into a lilting nightmare ballad, and strut through the Three O'Clock's "Jet Fighter" with supersonic power. The other three bands play to a draw, each giving their chosen songs a subtle twist along the way. The Three O'Clock's mysterious take on the Dream Syndicate's "Tell Me When It's Over," is impressively Baroque, the Rain Parade totally remake the Bangles' bouncy "The Real World" into something melancholy and psychedelic, and hearing Steve Wynn of the Dream Syndicate sing lyrics written about him on "Hero Takes a Fall" as the guitars blaze and the Bangles themselves sing background is a meta pleasure. It's almost a relief that the bands sound as good -- and as relevant -- as they once did. It's clear that their legacies have been absorbed by the bands that came after them, and it's suddenly possible that each of the four groups might yet have another great record left in them. Even if none of them manage to crack the code and recapture the sound and style that made their best music timeless, at least they show on 3x4 that they know how impressive and important the music they made was and have celebrated here in delightful fashion.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/22/2018
Label: Yep Roc Records
UPC: 0634457259621
catalogNumber: 2596

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bangles   Primary Artist
Susanna Hoffs   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony,Lead
Steven Roback   Bass Guitar,Vocals
Steve Wynn   Electric Guitar,Vocals
Matt Piucci   Acoustic Guitar,Piano,Electric Guitar,Sitar,Vocals
Danny Benair   Percussion,Drums,Hand Clapping
Dennis Duck   Percussion,Drums
Louis Gutierrez   Guitar
Debbi Peterson   Percussion,Drums,Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony,Lead
Vicki Peterson   Rhythm Guitar,Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony,Lead
Michael Quercio   Bass,Vocals,Hand Clapping
John Thoman   Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Mark Walton   Bass Guitar
Annette Zilinskas   Harmonica,Bass Guitar
Adam Merrin   Keyboards,Vocals,Hand Clapping
Jason Victor   Electric Guitar,Vocals,Guitar (12 String Acoustic)
Derek See   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Stephan Junca   Percussion,Drums
Mark Hanley   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Meena Makhijani   Tabla

Technical Credits

Bangles   Producer
Dream Syndicate   Producer
Susanna Hoffs   Composer
Steven Roback   Composer
Steve Wynn   Composer,Concept
Matt Piucci   Composer
Danny Benair   Concept
Louis Gutierrez   Composer
Earle Mankey   Producer,Engineer
Vicki Peterson   Composer,Engineer,Concept
Michael Quercio   Composer
David Roback   Composer
Phil Smee   Sleeve Design
Kevin Jarvis   Engineer
Jim Hill   Producer,Engineer,Audio Manipulation
Ted Young   Engineer
James Boblak   Engineer
Evan Peters   Engineer
Eric Haas   Engineer
Nathan Golub   Layout
Elton Cuniffe   Engineer
Michael Mariano   Composer

Customer Reviews