25 All-Time Greatest Hits

25 All-Time Greatest Hits

by Del ShannonDel Shannon


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


What's impressive about this set of Del Shannon tracks is that it spans his entire recording career and the choice of material from each phase is pretty much spot on, making it an ideal single-disc introduction to this bright sounding but haunted artist. All of Shannon's commercial high points are here, including the classic singles "Runaway," "Little Town Flirt," "Keep Searchin' (We'll Follow the Sun)," "Handy Man," and the striking "Stranger in Town," a song which, while definitely pop material, cuts to the heart of American attitudes about outsiders, a theme, on one level or another, Shannon explored throughout his career. His later work with Tom Petty and Jeff Lynne is also represented, making this set just about perfect.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/25/2001
Label: Varese Fontana
UPC: 0030206627022
catalogNumber: 066270
Rank: 4694

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Del Shannon   Primary Artist
Jude Cole   Background Vocals
Jeff Lynne   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Electric Guitar,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Tom Petty   Acoustic Guitar,Background Vocals
Phil Seymour   Background Vocals
Mike Campbell   Bass Guitar,Electric Guitar
Benmont Tench   Organ,Piano
David Campbell   Strings
Phil Jones   Percussion,Drums
Stan Lynch   Drums
Kym Westover   Background Vocals
David White   Bass Guitar

Technical Credits

Hank Thompson   Contributor
Jeff Lynne   Producer
Tom Petty   Producer
Del Shannon   Composer,Producer
Mike Campbell   Producer,Engineer
Bob Crewe   Composer
Max Crook   Composer
Richard Dodd   Engineer
Bob Gaudio   Composer
Brad Gilderman   Engineer
Roger Linn   Engineer
Cary E. Mansfield   Producer
Rod O'Brien   Engineer
Dallas Smith   Producer
Brian Young   Photo Courtesy
Saul Davis   Producer
Bill Dahl   Liner Notes
Bill Pitzonka   Art Direction
Harry Balk   Producer
Maron McKenzie   Composer
Harry Payne   Composer
Charles Merenstein   Composer

Customer Reviews