21st Century Hits: Best of 2000-2012

21st Century Hits: Best of 2000-2012

by Dwight YoakamDwight Yoakam


$16.28 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.28, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The title 21st Century Hits: Best of 2000-2012 is likely meant with a wink, as Dwight Yoakam hasn't exactly burned up the charts in the new millennium. He left Reprise after 2000's Tomorrow's Sounds Today (the soundtrack to South of Heaven, West of Hell appeared the next year but it's hard to count that as an official release), then released Population Me on Audium Records in 2003 before moving to New West in 2005, releasing Blame the Vain that year and the tribute album Dwight Sings Buck two years later. That's a total of three albums in a decade -- Dwight returned to the label in 2012 for 3 Pears -- and there were just four charting singles among them: "The Late Great Golden State," "The Back of Your Hand," "Intentional Heartache," and "Blame the Vain," not one of them placing higher than 52 on the country charts. That's pretty thin gruel for a compilation, so 21st Century Hits bends the rules a little bit, adding his rockabilly cover of Queen's "Crazy Little Thing Called Love" -- his last genuine hit single, but it peaked at 12 in 1999, so it merits inclusion here by appearing on the soundtrack to the 2006 Jennifer Aniston/Vince Vaughn film The Break-Up -- a cut from Tomorrow's Sounds Today ("The Sad Side of Town"), a cut from 3 Pears (the terrific "A Heart Like Mine"), and "Long Goodbye," a previously unreleased duet with Michelle Branch that aims for a crossover and may have gotten there if it had a discernable melody. Its inclusion is nice for the sake of completeness and it also underscores how Yoakam wasn't especially focused during the first decade of the 21st century. He certainly made good music, much of it included here -- this samples nicely from Population Me and Blame the Vain but Dwight Sings Buck deserves to be heard in its entirety -- and one of the nice things about the collection is how it never suggests how it took Dwight a little while to find his footing after he parted ways with longtime collaborator producer Pete Anderson after Population Me. By squeezing a decade or so to 14 songs, 21st Century Hits condenses Dwight's transitional years into a solid little record; anybody who came back aboard through 3 Pears will find it useful.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/30/2013
Label: New West Records
UPC: 0607396629428
catalogNumber: 6294
Rank: 8746

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dwight Yoakam   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Soloist
Willie Nelson   Vocals
Buck Owens   Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Bobbye Hall   Percussion
Pete Anderson   Acoustic Guitar,Mandolin,Percussion,Electric Guitar,Guitar (Baritone)
Jonathan Clark   Background Vocals
Dan Dugmore   Pedal Steel Guitar
Skip Edwards   Piano,Keyboards,fender rhodes
Tommy Funderburk   Background Vocals
Bob Glaub   Bass
Don Heffington   Drums
Scott Joss   Fiddle
Mitch Marine   Drums
Gary Morse   Banjo,Dobro,Pedal Steel Guitar,Lap Steel Guitar
Dean Parks   Acoustic Guitar
Taras Prodaniuk   Bass
Timothy B. Schmit   Background Vocals
Jim Christie   Drums
Gerry McGee   Acoustic Guitar,Soloist
Keith Gattis   Bass,Electric Guitar
John Shanks   Bass,Guitar,Keyboards
Bonhomme   Acoustic Guitar
Kevin Smith   Electric Bass
Abe Laboriel   Drums
Michelle Branch   Vocals
Eddie Perez   Electric Guitar,Electric Sitar,Harmony
Cassidy Turbin   Drums,Hand Clapping
Dave Roe   Background Vocals
Beck Hansen   Hand Clapping
Josh Grange   Keyboards
Cole Marsden   Bass
Raul Mischief   Hand Clapping
Grief Neill   Bass

Technical Credits

Willie Nelson   Duet
Buck Owens   Composer
Dwight Yoakam   Composer,Producer
Freddie Mercury   Composer
Johnny Russell   Composer
Red Simpson   Composer
Pete Anderson   Producer
Holly George-Warren   Liner Notes
John Shanks   Producer
Michelle Branch   Composer
Mike Stinson   Composer
Hillary Lindsey   Composer
Paul Moore   Art Direction
Gregg Lee Henry   Composer
Vonie Morrison   Composer

Customer Reviews