20th Century Masters - The Millennium Collection: The Best of Parliament

20th Century Masters - The Millennium Collection: The Best of Parliament

by ParliamentParliament


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Choosing between the many Parliament best-ofs isn't an easy task; in fact, the single-disc collections are all so similar that it's barely even worth belaboring the task. But if you do want to labor a bit in hopes of getting the absolute perfect single-disc best-of, this is one of your best options. First of all, above anything, skip Greatest Hits (The Bomb); there isn't anything wrong with its choices -- they're perfect -- but that album runs only 55 minutes, wasting invaluable CD space. That's where this collection becomes a better choice, making the most of its length by adding "Testify," "Agony of Defeet," and full-length versions of songs such as "Flashlight." You could argue, of course, that The Best of Parliament: Give Up the Funk is an even better collection than 20th Century Masters, which it is (not having "Testify," but instead offering "Let's Play House," "Ride On," "Theme From the Black Hole," and "Do That Stuff"), but that's a near-futile argument since they are practically facsimiles of one another. If you can find The Best of Parliament, get it over this album; it's a better choice. But don't go out of your way to find that album, because 20th Century Masters is a fine best-of, filled with nothing but Parliament anthems. There honestly aren't any weak moments here, with the possible exception of "Agony of Defeet," a latter-day song by the group that would have been better off replaced. Still, that's being highly critical. This is a perfect starting point; pick it up and chances are that either you'll struggle to stomach Parliament's funk or, more likely, find yourself searching out the group's full-lengths.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/25/2000
Label: Mercury
UPC: 0731454699822
catalogNumber: 546998
Rank: 28339

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Parliament   Primary Artist
Bernie Worrell   Keyboards
Michael Brecker   Horn
Eddie Hazel   Guitar,Vocals
Maceo Parker   Horn
Junie Morrison   Guitar,Keyboards
Philippe Wynne   Background Vocals
Tony Thomas   Guitar
Dennis Chambers   Percussion,Snare Drums
Greg Black   Horn
Bootsy Collins   Bass,Guitar,Percussion,Vocals,Snare Drums
Greg Boyer   Horn
Jerome Brailey   Percussion,Snare Drums
Randy Brecker   Horn
Gary Bronson   Percussion,Snare Drums
Linda Brown   Background Vocals
Ron Bykowski   Guitar
Jessica Cleaves   Background Vocals
George Clinton   Vocals
Phelps "Catfish" Collins   Guitar
Gary "Mudbone" Cooper   Vocals
Benny Cowan   Horn
Rodney Curtis   Bass
Raymond Davis   Vocals
Ronald Dunbar   Background Vocals
Joe Farrell   Horn
Ron Ford   Background Vocals
Mallia Franklin   Background Vocals
Lawrence Fratangelo   Percussion,Snare Drums
Ramon Tiki Fulwood   Percussion,Snare Drums
Rick Gardner   Horn
Glen Goins   Guitar,Vocals
Richard "Kush" Griffith   Horn
Michael Hampton   Guitar
Clarence "Fuzzy" Haskins   Vocals
Larry Hatcher   Horn
Sheila Horne   Background Vocals
Taka Khan   Background Vocals
Tyrone Lampkin   Percussion,Snare Drums
Clay Lawrey   Horn
Dewayne Blackbyrd McKnight   Bass,Guitar
Cordell Mosson   Bass
Sam Peake   Horn
Garry Shider   Guitar,Vocals
Dawn Silva   Background Vocals
Calvin Simon   Vocals
Carl "Butch" Small   Percussion,Snare Drums
Grady Thomas   Vocals
Greg Thomas   Horn
Pamela Vincent   Background Vocals
Jeanette "Baby" Washington   Background Vocals
Fred Wesley   Horn
Debbie Wright   Background Vocals
Shirley Hayden   Background Vocals
Michael "Clip" Payne   Background Vocals
Cheryl James   Background Vocals
Joel "Razor Sharp" Johnson   Background Vocals
Tracey Lewis   Background Vocals
David Lee Chong   Keyboards
Jeannette McGruder   Background Vocals
Darryl Dixon   Horn
Janice Evans   Background Vocals
Larry Heckstall   Background Vocals
Lonnie Greene   Percussion,Snare Drums
Gordon Carlton   Guitar
Kenny Colton   Percussion,Snare Drums
Donnie Sterling   Bass
Bryan Chimenti   Background Vocals
Linda Shider   Background Vocals
Danny Cortez   Horn
Valerie Drayton   Horn
Debbie Edwards   Background Vocals
Lynn Mawbry   Background Vocals
Prakash John   Bass

Technical Credits

Bernie Worrell   Arranger,Composer,Horn Arrangements
Eddie Hazel   Arranger
Bootsy Collins   Arranger,Composer
Jerome Brailey   Composer
George Clinton   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Concept
Ronald Dunbar   Producer
Sam Peake   Horn Arrangements
Garry Shider   Composer
Harry Weinger   Annotation
Fred Wesley   Horn Arrangements

Customer Reviews