Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
20th Century Boy: The Ultimate Collection

20th Century Boy: The Ultimate Collection

by T. Rex Marc Bolan & T. Rex
20th Century Boy: The Ultimate Collection

20th Century Boy: The Ultimate Collection

by T. Rex Marc Bolan & T. Rex

CD(Remastered / Digi-Pak)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, February 2


Given that the T. Rex/Marc Bolan catalog is cluttered with collections, all recycling much of the same material, it's easy to be suspicious of another hits compilation, such as Hip-0's 2002 release "20th Century Boy: The Ultimate Collection," especially if it's billed as an "ultimate" retrospective. Against all odds, this 23-track disc really is an "ultimate collection," or at least as close as it can possibly get, given the labyrinthine nature of Bolan's catalog. What this gets right is that it samples it all, from Tyrannosaurus Rex to Dandy in the Underworld, hitting all the big songs along the way -- "Debora," "One Inch Rock," "Ride a White Swan," "Bang a Gong (Get It On)," "Cosmic Dancer," "Telegram Sam," "The Slider," "Children of the Revolution," "20th Century Boy" -- which is the first time all of these have been on a collection so concise, succinct, and winning. Sure, some may complain about a missing single or album track, but this is a stellar, pitch-perfect compilation, balancing the aforementioned big hits with relatively lesser-known gems like "Raw Ramp" and a cover of "Summertime Blues," resulting in the only single-disc compilation to capture all sides of Marc Bolan and T. Rex. And that means it's not just a necessary introduction, it's also essential for those who already have a bunch of albums, because it puts his career in perspective.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 08/20/2002
Label: Hip-O Records
UPC: 0731458494829
catalogNumber: 584948
Rank: 7905


  1. Debora
  2. One Inch Rock
  3. King of the Rumbling Spires
  4. By the Light of a Magical Moon
  5. Elemental Child
  6. Ride a White Swan
  7. Summertime Blues
  8. Jewel
  9. Beltane Walk
  10. Hot Love
  11. Bang a Gong (Get It On)
  12. Raw Ramp
  13. Cosmic Dancer
  14. Jeepster
  15. Telegram Sam
  16. Metal Guru
  17. Mystic Lady
  18. The Slider
  19. Children of the Revolution
  20. Solid Gold Easy Action
  21. Born to Boogie
  22. 20th Century Boy
  23. I Love to Boogie

Album Credits

Performance Credits

T. Rex   Primary Artist
Sue & Sunny   Background Vocals
Mickey Finn   Bass,Percussion,Tabla,Background Vocals,Clay Drums,Pixiephone
Marc Bolan   Acoustic Guitar,Fiddle,Harmonica,Harmonium,Vocals
Burt Collins   Flugelhorn
Steve Currie   Bass
Dino Dines   Keyboards
Howard Kaylan   Background Vocals
Dave Lutton   Drums
Ian McDonald   Saxophone
Barry St. John   Background Vocals
Mark Volman   Background Vocals
Will Legend   Drums
Victoria "Vicky B" Brown   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Eddie Cochran   Composer
Marc Bolan   Producer
Jerry Capehart   Composer
Tony Visconti   Producer
Dana Smart   Executive Producer
Smay Vision   Art Direction
Pat Lawrence   Executive Producer
Dave Thompson   Liner Notes
Robin Schwartz   Licensing
Michele Horie   Art Administration

Customer Reviews