200 Years of American Heritage in Song: 100 Song Collection

200 Years of American Heritage in Song: 100 Song Collection

by Great American String Band


View All Available Formats & Editions
2 New & Used Starting at $8.00


Released in 1975 to coincide with the Bicentennial celebration, 200 Years of American Heritage in Song: 100 Song Collection is a collection of 100 folk and country songs that are intended to tell the story of America in song. The selection combines traditional songs like "The Building of America" and "Westward Migration" with newer songs, like "Yellow Rose of Texas" and "John Henry," which have already become standards. Supported by an informative 45-booklet by Norm Cohen, the collection is terrific conceptually, but the execution is somewhat faulty. In particular, it's sunk by the performances, which are merely perfunctory and never quite gripping. Neverthless, as an educational piece, 200 Years of American Heritage in Song is useful, even if it isn't something that will become compulsive listening.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/16/1995
Label: Cmh Records
UPC: 0027297177642
catalogNumber: 1776


Disc 1

  1. Barbabra Allen
  2. Mr. Froggie Went A-Courtin'
  3. I'll Give My Love an Apple
  4. The Wexford Girl
  5. Billy Boy
  6. Bury Me Beneath the Willow
  7. Gypsy Davey
  8. Greensleeves
  9. The Sow Took the Measles
  10. The Rich Lady over the Sea
  11. The Fate of John Burgoyne
  12. Lord Cornwallis
  13. Johnny Has Gone for a Soldier
  14. Blow the Man Down
  15. The Golden Vanity
  16. The Eighth of January
  17. Green Grow the Lilacs
  18. Sweet Betsy from Pike
  19. Shenandoah
  20. The Fools of Forty-Nine
  21. Across the Western Ocean
  22. Bile 'Em Cabbage Down

Disc 2

  1. Boll Weevil
  2. This Train
  3. Steal Away
  4. Dixie
  5. Lorena
  6. Yellow Rose of Texas
  7. John Brown's Body
  8. Just Before the Battle, Mother
  9. I Can Whip the Scoundrel
  10. Maryland, My Maryland
  11. The Girl I Left Behind Me
  12. The Bonnie Blue Flag
  13. All Quiet Along the Potomac
  14. Goober Peas
  15. Little Joe, the Wrangler
  16. Git Along Little Doggies
  17. The Old Chisholm Trail
  18. Abilene
  19. Buffalo Gals
  20. Rye Whiskey
  21. The Streets of Laredo
  22. Jesse James
  23. Fire on the Mountain
  24. I Am a Pilgrim
  25. Cotton-Eyed Joe
  26. The Banks of the Ohio
  27. Wildwood Flower

Disc 3

  1. Little Maggie
  2. Devil's Dream
  3. Will the Circle Be Unbroken
  4. Orange Blossom Special
  5. Wreck of the Old '97
  6. Nine Pound Hammer
  7. Drill, Ye Tarriers
  8. Wabash Cannonball
  9. Dark as a Dungeon
  10. John Henry
  11. Just a Closer Walk with Thee
  12. Trouble in Mind
  13. Are You from Dixie?
  14. Molly Darling
  15. The House of the Rising Sun
  16. Cannon Ball Blues
  17. Ragtime Annie
  18. The Prisoner's Song
  19. Don't Make Me Go to Bed and I'll Be Good
  20. Guitar Rag
  21. Lovesick Blues
  22. Freight Train Blues
  23. Wanderin'

Disc 4

  1. Waiting for a Train
  2. Big Rock Candy Mountain
  3. In the Jailhouse Now
  4. Jimmie Brown, the Newsboy
  5. Are You Lonesome Tonight?
  6. Conversation with a Mule
  7. Back up and Push
  8. Wreck on the Highway
  9. Mama Don't Allow
  10. There's a Star Spangled Banner Waving Somewhere
  11. Filipino Baby
  12. Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain
  13. San Antonio Rose
  14. Blue Moon of Kentucky
  15. Oklahoma Hills
  16. Guitar Boogie
  17. Slipping Around
  18. Tennessee Waltz
  19. Jolie Blonde
  20. Truck Driving Man
  21. It Wasn't God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels
  22. Folsom Prison Blues
  23. Tom Dooley
  24. Detroit City
  25. Blowin' in the Wind
  26. Green, Green Grass of Home
  27. Okie from Muskogee
  28. Dueling Banjos

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Great American String Band   Primary Artist,Track Performer
Benny Martin   Fiddle,Guitar,Vocals
Arthur "Guitar Boogie" Smith   Banjo,Guitar,Mandolin,Electric Guitar,Vocals
Don Ange   Piano,Vocals
Paul Collier   Percussion,Drums
Bruce Jones   Mandolin,Vocals
Lee Jones   Bass,Vocals
Clay Smith   Rhythm Guitar
Ralph Smith   Accordion,Vocals
David Johnson   Fiddle
David Deese   Banjo,Vocals,5-string Banjo
Fiddlin' Arthur Smith   Fiddle
Tommy Faile   Rhythm Guitar,Vocals
Dick Schuyler   Bass,Vocals
Jacquie Schuyler   Vocals
Jeff Whittington   Banjo,Steel Guitar,5-string Banjo
Jones Brothers   Vocals
Arthur Smith Trio   Banjo,Fiddle,Guitar,Mandolin,Electric Guitar
Log Cabin Boys   Vocals
Tim Smith   Bass
Joe Smith   Guitar,Vocals
Maggie Griffin   Vocals

Technical Credits

Merle Travis   Composer
Eric Weissberg   Composer
Richard M. Jones   Composer
Arthur "Guitar Boogie" Smith   Composer,Producer
A.P. Carter   Composer
Dave Guard   Composer
Hank Poole   Engineer
Ervin T. Rouse   Composer
Christina Hersch   Engineer
Martin Haerle   Producer
Chuck Owen   Engineer
Tom Finucane   Graphic Design
M. Christian   Arranger,Composer
Henry DeLafayette Webster   Composer
Joseph Philbrick Webster   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Arthur Smith Trio   Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews