20 Original Greatest Hits

20 Original Greatest Hits

by George JonesGeorge Jones


$13.73 $13.99 Save 2% Current price is $13.73, Original price is $13.99. You Save 2%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


These 20 tracks by George "Possum" Jones, (mostly) come from his Musicor catalog, which has been largely unavailable. Jones recorded with the label in the late '50s through the early '60s with producer Pappy Dailey, and recorded a number of big hits for the imprint. Namely, "The Race Is On," "She Thinks I Still Care," and the duet "We Must Have Been Out of Our Minds," with Melba Montgomery. But there is much more here to discover, including his near signature version of Hank Williams' "You Win Again," "Least of All," and "It's Funny What a Fool Will Do," just to name a few. This set is great as far as it goes, though it does lack any of his great duet performances with Gene Pitney from the same period, but consider it a teaser: if you like what's here, either in addition to, or opposed to the Columbia material, Germany's Bear Family imprint began issuing Jones complete Musicor catalog in 2009 in multiple volume box sets. For the money, though, this is a very attractive CD musically, even if its packaging runs to the generic.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/03/2004
Label: Tee Vee Records
UPC: 0792014071724
catalogNumber: 717
Rank: 30119

Album Credits

Performance Credits

George Jones   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Sonny James   Composer
George Jones   Composer
Melba Montgomery   Composer
Leon Payne   Composer
Ernest Tubb   Composer
Smokey Stover   Composer
Johnny "Country" Mathis   Composer
Jack Clement   Composer
Hank Cochran   Composer
Hy Heath   Composer
Harlan Howard   Composer
Johnny MacRae   Composer
Don Rollins   Composer
Fred Rose   Composer
Hank Williams   Composer
Carol Smith   Composer
Claude Boone   Composer
Moe Lytle   Executive Producer
Chuck Young   Liner Notes,Art Direction
Earl Montgomery   Composer
Dickey Lee Lipscomb   Composer
Majorie Barton   Composer
Clark VanNess   Composer
Kerry Kurt Phillips   Composer
Steve Duffy   Composer
Dusty Owens   Composer
D.T. Gentry   Composer

Customer Reviews