1996 Grammy Nominees

1996 Grammy Nominees


View All Available Formats & Editions


Ranging from hard rock to country and from rap to pop, this collection of 11 recordings covering the nominees for Grammy Awards in the categories of Record of the Year, Song of the Year, and Best New Artist demonstrated the diversity of popular music in 1994-1995. (Despite the "1996" in the title, the period of eligibility ran from October 1, 1994, to September 30, 1995.) Subject matter was mostly, but not exclusively romantic, leaving room for Coolio featuring L.V. to rap about life in a "Gangsta's Paradise" and for Joan Osborne to sing Eric Bazilian's Song of the Year-nominated lyrics speculating about the nature of God in "One of Us." When love was the matter at hand, sentiments were conventional no matter what the musical style: rocker Alanis Morrisette raged obscenely against a departed lover in "You Oughta Know," while country debutante Shania Twain expressed equally cliched relationship demands in "Any Man of Mine." But what these recordings really had in common was that most common of pop conventions, hooks. From Mariah Carey & Boys II Men's "One Sweet Day" to Hootie & the Blowfish's "Let Her Cry," this was catchy music that you could hum, with choruses that repeated in your mind. And that made 1996 a lot like every other year in pop music.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/06/1996
Label: Sony
UPC: 0074646756522
catalogNumber: 67565

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Mark Egan   Bass,Bass Guitar
Boyz II Men   Vocals,Background Vocals,Track Performer
Michael Jackson   Vocals,Track Performer
Seal   Vocals,Track Performer
Matt Rollings   Piano
TLC   Background Vocals,Track Performer
Shania Twain   Track Performer
Coolio   Vocals,Track Performer
Hootie & the Blowfish   Track Performer
Eric Bazilian   Guitar,Electric Piano,Background Vocals
Benmont Tench   Organ
Tony Borowiak   Vocals,Background Vocals
Larry Byrom   Acoustic Guitar
Mariah Carey   Vocals,Background Vocals,Track Performer
Keith Crouch   Drums,Keyboards
Delious   Vocals,Background Vocals
Flea   Bass,Bass Guitar
Sherree Ford-Payne   Background Vocals
Paul Franklin   Pedal Steel Guitar
Rob Hajacos   Fiddle
Trevor Horn   Bass,Bass Guitar
Dann Huff   Guitar,Electric Guitar,Hand Clapping,wah wah guitar
David Hungate   Bass,Bass Guitar
Rob Hyman   Drums,Background Vocals,Mellotron
LaMarquis Mark Jefferson   Bass
Debra Killings   Background Vocals
L.V.   Vocals,Track Performer
Robert John "Mutt" Lange   Vocals,Hand Clapping,Vocal Harmony
Paul Leim   Drums
Jerry Lloyd   Horn
Michael McCary   Vocals,Background Vocals
Nathan Morris   Vocals,Background Vocals
Wanya Morris   Vocals,Background Vocals
Dave Navarro   Guitar
Alfred Nevarez   Vocals,Background Vocals
Organized Noize   Keyboards
Scherrie Payne   Background Vocals
Brent Rowan   Electric Guitar
Dan Shea   Synthesizer,Bass,Drums,Keyboards,Rhythm
Shawn Stockman   Vocals,Background Vocals
Edward Stroud   Guitar
Ken Wright   Wurlitzer
All-4-One   Vocals,Background Vocals,Track Performer
Brandy   Track Performer
Joan Osborne   Track Performer
Alanis Morissette   Vocals,Track Performer
Nick Keca   Hand Clapping
Matt Laug   Drums
Rahsaan Patterson   Background Vocals
Glenn McKinney   Guitar
Brandy Norwood   Vocals,Background Vocals
Walter Afanasieff   Synthesizer,Drums,Keyboards,Rhythm
Kenneth Wright   Keyboards
Charles Nix   Horn
Thomas Burton   Background Vocals
Jamie Jones   Vocals,Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Mark Egan   Contributor
Michael Jackson   Producer
David Foster   Producer
R. Kelly   Producer
Glen Ballard   Producer
Mariah Carey   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Rick Chertoff   Producer
Gary Cirimelli   Programming
David Coleman   Art Direction
Lisa Coleman   Contributor
Keith Crouch   Arranger,Programming,Producer
Don Gehman   Producer,Engineer
Trevor Horn   Producer
Kipper Jones   Arranger
Robert John "Mutt" Lange   Producer
Michael McCary   Composer
Wendy Melvoin   Contributor
Nathan Morris   Composer
Wanya Morris   Composer
Jamie Muhoberac   Contributor
Organized Noize   Composer,Programming,Producer
Doug Rasheed   Producer
Dan Shea   Programming
Shawn Stockman   Composer
Stephen Walker   Art Direction
Joan Osborne   Collage
Alanis Morissette   Lyricist
Rahsaan Patterson   Arranger
Glen Gallard   Producer
Gus Isidore   Contributor
Walter Afanasieff   Arranger,Composer,Programming,Producer
John Derek   Art Direction
Buddy Jackson   Art Direction
Jim Kemp   Art Direction
Christopher Austopchuk   Art Direction
Nancy Donald   Art Direction
Tom Recchion   Art Direction
Christopher Stern   Art Direction
Elizabeth Barrett   Art Direction
Jean Cronin   Art Direction
Chris Thompson   Collage
Marqueze Etheridge   Composer
Lisa "Left Eye" Lopes   Composer
Michael Greene   Executive Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews