by Ralph StanleyRalph Stanley


$41.73 $43.99 Save 5% Current price is $41.73, Original price is $43.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This four-CD set is a collection of the entire output of Ralph Stanley & the Clinch Mountain Boys during an astonishing three-year period in the early '70s. The albums collected here include the first appearance of Stanley's signature a cappella bluegrass-gospel, and feature the outstanding lead singing of the late Roy Lee Centers. The strong incarnation of the Clinch Mountain Boys features Curley Ray Cline on fiddle, Jack Cooke on bass, and Ricky Lee on lead guitar. Teenage Stanley disciples and future country stars Keith Whitley and Ricky Skaggs make their first recorded appearances here also, and Country Gentleman John Duffey stops by to max out the needles on the Stanley Brothers classic The Lonesome River. The band runs through straight bluegrass, gospel, old-time banjo songs, fiddle tunes, and Stanley Brothers classics, all with great confidence and style. Songs are pulled from multiple and diverse sources, including the Carter Family, old country, Bill Monroe, and even a beautiful Jesse Winchester song, "Brand New Tennessee Waltz." This set is for purists more than bluegrass neophytes, but no fan of Ralph Stanley or the Stanley Brothers should be without it. These albums broke new stylistic ground at a time when there was some concern whether Ralph Stanley could continue in the wake of Carter Stanley's death.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/11/1995
Label: Rebel Records
UPC: 0032511400123
catalogNumber: 114001
Rank: 30581


Disc 1

  1. I Am the Man, Thomas
  2. Take Your Shoes off, Moses
  3. Death Is Only a Dream
  4. The Brand New Tennessee Waltz
  5. Two Coats
  6. Bright Morning Star
  7. Come on Little Children
  8. The Prettiest Flowers Will Be Blooming
  9. Cry from the Cross
  10. Step out in the Sunshine
  11. You're Drifting On
  12. Gloryland
  13. Stairway to Heaven
  14. Will He Wait a Little Longer?
  15. Sinner Man
  16. Shotgun Slade
  17. Old Time Pickin'
  18. I'll Remember You Love in My Prayers

Disc 2

  1. John Henry
  2. Pretty Little Indian
  3. Little Birdie
  4. Cripple Creek
  5. East Virginia Blues
  6. Little Glass of Wine
  7. Somebody Touched Me
  8. Sally Goodin'
  9. Working on a Building
  10. Roll in My Sweet Baby's Arms
  11. Bound to Ride
  12. Mississippi Sawyer
  13. Going to Georgia
  14. All the Love I Had Is Gone
  15. Will You Miss Me?
  16. Katy Daley
  17. A Little Boy Called Joe
  18. Six More Miles
  19. Cluck Old Hen
  20. That Lonesome Old Song

Disc 3

  1. Man of Constant Sorrow
  2. Pretty Polly
  3. Maple on the Hill
  4. Clinch Mountain Backstep
  5. Lisa's Joy
  6. Don't Ask Me Why
  7. All I Ever Loved Was You
  8. God Gave You to Me
  9. Little Maggie
  10. Flood of '57
  11. Old Country Church
  12. When I Get Home
  13. These Men of God
  14. My Lord's Been A-Walkin'
  15. Green Pastures in the Sky
  16. Give Me the Roses Now
  17. Honey in the Rock
  18. Hide Me, Rock of Ages
  19. 10,000 Angels
  20. Standing by the River
  21. Village Church Yard
  22. I Hold a Clear Title
  23. Bill Cheatham
  24. On and On
  25. What About You?
  26. Gonna Paint the Town
  27. I Wonder How the Old Folks Are at Home
  28. Who Will Sing for Me?

Disc 4

  1. Love Me Darling Just Tonight
  2. Poison Love
  3. Ridin' That Midnight Train
  4. Loving You Too Well
  5. Nobody's Love Is Like Mine
  6. Cumberland Gap
  7. Shout Little Lulie
  8. Rocky Island
  9. Old Time Pickin'
  10. John Henry
  11. Little Bridie
  12. Bound to Ride
  13. The Lonesome River
  14. The Fields Have Turned Brown
  15. Hard Times
  16. Train 45
  17. Gold Watch and Chain
  18. You Kow I'll Be Lonesome
  19. The Orphan Girl
  20. I'm Going That Way
  21. Brighter Mansion
  22. Who Is That?
  23. Going up Home to Live in Green Pastures
  24. I Wanna Make Heaven My Home
  25. Rank Strangers
  26. Angels Band
  27. I Want to Preach the Gospel
  28. Dark and Thorny Is the Desert
  29. Great High Mountain
  30. A Rose Among the Thorns

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ralph Stanley   Primary Artist,Banjo,Leader,Vocals,Tenor (Vocal)
Keith Whitley   Guitar
Curley Ray Cline   Fiddle
Jack Cooke   Bass,Baritone
Ed Ferris   Bass

Technical Credits

Ralph Stanley   Composer
Mose Allison   Composer
A.P. Carter   Composer
Jack Cooke   Hands
Cliff Waldron   Hands
Cecil Jones   Engineer
Roy Homer   Engineer
M. Christian   Composer
A. Smith   Composer
Robert Trout   Producer
Traditional   Composer
Ruby Rakes   Composer
Brantley C. George   Composer
Ralph & Carter Stanley   Composer
Mosley   Composer
Lizzie De Armond   Composer
F. W. Vandersloot   Composer

Customer Reviews