by PajoPajo


$17.28 $18.99 Save 9% Current price is $17.28, Original price is $18.99. You Save 9%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, April 20


Cut from the same cloth as his self-titled 2005 release, David Pajo's 2006 album, 1968, floats in-between the same pastoral, electronic-tinged intimacy and restrained, pop
ock bounce that he explored on his first full-length debut. Pajo is an artist who requires more than a cursory scan of the disc to really get a grasp on what he's up to. One song into 1968 ("Who's That Knocking") -- it's a dark and static-y D.I.Y. affair. Three songs in ("Foolish King" and "We Get Along, Mostly") it feels like a smart, bouncy, driving pop
ock record, which just happens to have a dark opening track. If you eschewed the track order, and just dove in on track six ("Wrong Turn"), the impression would be that of a hybrid electronica project -- all percolating blips and bleeps over an intimate bed of organics. Leave it playing, and the following tune, "Cyclone Eye," has you reaching for the jewel case to make sure it's not some alternate version of Led Zeppelin's "Rain Song" -- the acoustic intro mapping a similarly Gallic melancholy -- but ultimately achieving a greater intimacy, thanks to Pajo's gentle but uber-present whisper. Track eight shifts gears yet again, this time finding Pajo returning to the Simon & Garfunkel template that he utilized so well on past efforts (like "Manson Twins," from his first full-length) -- taking "Walk Through the Dark" to an emotional, if not dramatic, crescendo. If all this seems like a recipe for album-wide schizophrenia, it's not. Somehow, Pajo keeps it all glued together. It's probably that subdued-yet-in-your-face vocal delivery, or the rustic-high-tech of his recording style but, whatever the case, David Pajo manages to impart a great sense of cohesiveness throughout this impressively diverse album.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/22/2006
Label: Drag City
UPC: 0781484031529
catalogNumber: 315
Rank: 184937


  1. Who's That Knocking
  2. Foolish King
  3. We Get Along, Mostly
  4. Prescription Blues
  5. Insomnia Song
  6. Wrong Turn
  7. Cyclone Eye
  8. Walk Through the Dark
  9. Let It Be Me
  10. I've Just Restored My Will to Live Again

Album Credits

Customer Reviews