by Mezz MezzrowMezz Mezzrow


$23.50 $25.99 Save 10% Current price is $23.5, Original price is $25.99. You Save 10%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, May 18


This seventh volume in the Chronological Classics series documenting the wildly flamboyant personality Mezz Mezzrow is finally nearing the end, focusing in on the last decade of his life as a recording artist; he lived for another 14 years after he stopped. This set features Mezzrow in the company of Claude Bolling, Red Richards, Buck Clayton, Red Richards, Mowgli Jospin, Big Chief Russell Moore, Zutty Singleton and others. The program is all the old tunes, played and played again, from Mezzrow's own minor classic "Really the Blues" (the title of his memoir as well), to "Royal Garden Blues," "When the Saints Go Marching In," "Honeysuckle Rose" and many more; the feel is relaxed and easy. There is little real innovation going on here, but the sound is terrific and the tunes themselves are timeless. Mezzrow collectors will want this addition to the catalog.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/15/2005
Label: Classics France
UPC: 3448967139321
catalogNumber: 1393
Rank: 146412


  1. Mezzerola Blues
  2. Drum Face
  3. Blues des Années 20
  4. Really the Blues
  5. Royal Garden Blues
  6. Sweet Georgia Brown
  7. Muskrat Ramble
  8. I've Found a New Baby
  9. A Monday Date
  10. Frankie and Johnnie
  11. Wabash Blues
  12. When the Saints Go Marching In
  13. Muskrat Ramble (Really the Blues)
  14. Boogie Special
  15. Honeysuckle Rose
  16. Ain't Misbehavin'

Album Credits

Customer Reviews