1944 [#1]

1944 [#1]

by Bunk JohnsonBunk Johnson


$15.56 $16.99 Save 8% Current price is $15.56, Original price is $16.99. You Save 8%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, August 4


Trumpeter Bunk Johnson recorded extensively with his band of New Orleanians during 1944-45, including multiple performances of some of their selections. The American Music label, in their series of Bunk CDs, have straightened out the music to an extent, although some alternate takes have still only come out on sets by Japanese companies and the performances have not been reissued in strict chronological order. This CD has 15 selections from four sessions that took place within a five-day period. Johnson is joined by drummer Baby Dodds and the nucleus of what would six years later be the George Lewis band (Lewis on clarinet, trombonist Jim Robinson, banjoist Lawrence Marrero and bassist Alcide Pavageau). In general, Bunk sounds fairly strong and, although Lewis is sometimes out of tune, the joy of the ensemble oriented music overrides any occasional technical deficiencies. Myrtle Jones helps out with a vocal on "My Life Will Be Sweeter Someday." Among the better selections are "We Will Walk Through the Streets of the City," a previously unreleased version of "Sister Kate," "There's Yes Yes in Your Eyes," "Panama" and "When the Saints Go Marching In."

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 02/22/1994
Label: American Music Rec.
UPC: 0762247100324
catalogNumber: 3
Rank: 151456


  1. Tiger Rag, Pt. 2
  2. We Will Walk Through the Streets
  3. Sister Kate
  4. Lord, Lord, You Sure Are Good to Me
  5. Darktown Strutters' Ball
  6. When You Wore a Tulip
  7. Careless Love, No. 3
  8. There's Yes! Yes! In Your Eyes
  9. My Life Will Be Sweeter Someday
  10. Shake It and Break It
  11. Panama
  12. Alabama Bound
  13. High Society
  14. Ballin' the Jack
  15. When the Saints Go Marching In

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bunk Johnson   Primary Artist,Trumpet
George Lewis   Clarinet
Jim Robinson   Trombone
Sidney Brown   Tuba
Baby Dodds   Drums
Laurence Marrero   Banjo
Alcide Pavageau   Bass
Myrtle Jones   Vocals

Technical Credits

Eddie Edwards   Composer
Nick LaRocca   Composer
W.C. Handy   Composer
Martha E. Koenig   Composer
Barry Martyn   Producer
Henry W. Ragas   Composer
Tony Sbarbaro   Composer
Larry Shields   Composer
Spencer Williams   Composer
George H. Buck   Liner Notes
Walter Melrose   Composer
Porter Steele   Composer
Harry Da Costa   Composer
Traditional   Composer

Customer Reviews