by Adrian Rollini


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, January 30
3 New & Used Starting at $8.60


Adrian Rollini was one of the great jazz musicians of the 1920s. Although he could play several instruments, he gained fame for being the king of the bass saxophone. His playing, which influenced baritonist Harry Carney and to a lesser extent tenor saxophonist Coleman Hawkins, was virtuosic. Although he sometimes functioned as a tuba or string bass in the ensembles, Rollini's solos were heated and full of creative ideas and wit. However by the early '30s, the bass sax was on its way to near-extinction. Rollini began doubling on the vibraphone, where his only real competitor was Lionel Hampton (who did not really get going on records until 1936), and he ran a club, Adrian's Tap Room. Although not gaining much attention during the 1930s, Rollini stayed active and recorded occasionally until he disappeared in 1940. He later turned up in Florida, running a fishing camp and just playing music now and then up until his mysterious death in 1956. 1937-1938 has five record dates led by Rollini, his last recordings other than a dozen trio sides from 1938-1939 that feature his vibes-guitar-bass group. The music, which includes a few commercial dance band ballad numbers, also has its moments of hot jazz. Rollini teams up with the exciting trumpeter Jonah Jones and the fine clarinetist Sid Stoneburn on four septet numbers that were unissued at the time. While Red McKenzie's two vocals are just okay (and this version of "I Cried for You" is a disappointment), "Bugle Call Rag" and "Old Fashioned Love" receive fine treatments. The same key players (other than McKenzie) are part of a larger group heard on five numbers, including two versions of "Slap That Bass." An intriguing octet on which Rollini is joined by trumpeter Johnny McGhee (who hints at Bix Beiderbecke in spots), clarinetist Paul Ricci, violinist Al Duffy, and drummer Buddy Rich (at the beginning of his jazz career) romp on "Bill" and accompany singer Pat Hoke on two songs, including "Singin' the Blues." While Rollini is mostly heard on bass sax during those selections, the numbers are his final appearances on the giant horn. The last two sessions have Rollini on vibes and xylophone, where he had less personality but was a fluent player. A quintet with cornetist Bobby Hackett and Buddy Rich is joined by singer Sonny Schuyler for five songs (including a version of "Bei Mir Bist Du Schoen" cut just a few months after the Andrews Sisters' hit record) and finally for four numbers performed by a vocal group called the Tune Twisters (plus two alternate takes). Hackett keeps the music interesting. Although not essential, this valuable CD contains rare sessions and reminds one of the significance of the great Adrian Rollini, even late in his career.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/09/2005
Label: Challenge
UPC: 0608917904628
catalogNumber: 79046
Rank: 78374

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Adrian Rollini   Primary Artist,Bass Saxophone,Xylophone,Double Bass,Vibes,Track Performer
Bobby Hackett   Clarinet,Cornet,Track Performer
Jonah Jones   Trombone,Trumpet,Track Performer
Buddy Rich   Drums
Red McKenzie   Violin,Track Performer
Johnny McGhee   Trumpet,Track Performer
Paul Ricci   Clarinet
Dick McDonough   Guitar,Track Performer
Jack Russin   Piano,Track Performer
Fulton McGrath   Piano,Track Performer
Sid Stoneburn   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Track Performer
Frank Victor   Guitar,Track Performer
Sidell   Violin,Drums,Track Performer
Duffy   Violin,Track Performer
Harry Clark   Track Performer,String Bass

Technical Credits

Hoagy Carmichael   Composer
Claude Thornhill   Composer
Frank Loesser   Composer
Con Conrad   Composer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Bud Green   Composer
Stillman   Composer
Dick Sudhalter   Liner Notes
John R.T. Davies   Original Material
Pinky Tomlin   Composer
J. Russel Robinson   Composer
Harry Coster   Original Material
Sam Coslow   Composer
Frederick Hollander   Composer
Michael Brooks   Original Material
Marcel van den Broek   Cover Design
Lee Wainer   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews