10,000 Years Ago

10,000 Years Ago

by The Vipers Skiffle Group

CD(Box Set)

1 New & Used Starting at $87.74


Commercially, the Vipers never did truly compete with the giants of skiffle. They might have been EMI's biggest-selling band in that area, but compared to Lonnie Donegan and Chas McDevitt, they were small potatoes indeed. Musically, however, the sound of this band would come to epitomize British pop in the years leading up to (and even including) the first days of the Beatles, a hard melodic punch backed up by a musical edge and harmonic elasticity that completely belie the band's chosen niche in the skiffle movement. With a little more electricity, they would have pipped Cliff Richard to the rock & roll starter's flag, and with a little less reliance upon American role models, they could have single-handedly invented Brit-pop. All of that (and more) screams out of almost every cut in this box set, a typically grandiose Bear Family gesture that not only wraps up every cut the Vipers ever released, but also a swath of unreleased material (including a souvenir of the short-lived lineup built around Hank Marvin and Jet Harris). Listeners also get the pseudonymous LP recorded for American consumption by the so-called Original Soho Skiffle Group, a clutch of Wally Whyton solo singles, and four final tracks recorded by the band following a brief reunion in 1960. Spread over three CDs, these 64 songs constitute the Vipers' legacy, but the sheer ferocity of the band in full flight is worth any number of cuts by the group's contemporaries; if you want to apply modern terminology to the subject, this is skiffle on the edge, a new wave of musical interpretation that is so far ahead of its time that you cannot help but be reminded of another band that signed for Parlophone, recorded at Abbey Road, and enjoyed George Martin as its producer. And no, that doesn't mean Gerry & the Pacemakers. In keeping with Bear Family tradition, 10,000 Years Ago arrives in an LP-sized box with a booklet to match and, therein, a host of rare photographs and cuttings, plus a lengthy interview with head Viper Whyton. It all adds up to one of the sharpest and most essential demonstrations of early British rock you're ever going to hear.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/03/1996
Label: Bear Family
UPC: 4000127159540
catalogNumber: 15954


Disc 1

  1. Ain't You Glad
  2. Pick a Bale of Cotton
  3. It Takes a Worried Man to Sing a Worried Song
  4. Don't You Rock Me Daddy-O
  5. 10,000 Years Ago
  6. Hey Liley, Liley Lo
  7. Jim Dandy
  8. The Cumberland Gap
  9. Maggie May
  10. Sam Hall
  11. Kevin Barry
  12. Charlie Is My Darling
  13. My Bonnie Lies over the Ocean
  14. I Know Where I'm Going
  15. The Derby Ram
  16. Liverpool Blues
  17. The Ash Groove
  18. She Was Poor, But She Was Honest
  19. Wild Colonial Boy
  20. Spinning Wheel
  21. Three Lovely Lasses
  22. Greensleeves
  23. Clementine

Disc 2

  1. Darlin'
  2. Streamline Train
  3. Railroad Steamboat
  4. This Land Is Your Land
  5. Poor Lazarus
  6. The Gloryland
  7. Precious Memories
  8. Pay Me My Money Down
  9. I Know the Lord Laid His Hands on Me
  10. Easy Rider (See See Rider Blues)
  11. Wanderin'
  12. Old Joe Clark
  13. Old Joe Clark
  14. Homing Bird
  15. If I Had a Hammer
  16. I Saw the Light
  17. John B. Sails
  18. All Shook up/Last Train to San Fernando
  19. Putting on the Style/Wandering Eyes
  20. Skiffle Party, Pt. 1 (Comin' Round the Mountain/On Top of Old Smokey/Ro
  21. Skiffle Party, Pt. 2 (Wabash Cannonball/Gimme Crack Corn/Skip to...)
  22. Skiffle Party 2 Medley

Disc 3

  1. Why Baby Why
  2. No Other Baby
  3. Make Ready for Love
  4. Nothing Will Ever Change (My Love for You)
  5. Banks of the Ohio
  6. Trouble in Mind
  7. Worried Man Blues
  8. The Fly
  9. Summertime Blues
  10. Liverpool Blues
  11. Cool Gool
  12. The Horror Show
  13. Don't Tell Me Your Troubles
  14. It's All over Now
  15. All over This World
  16. It's a Rat Race
  17. Marriage of Convenience
  18. 95% of Me Loves You
  19. You're Going to Be Caught

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Vipers Skiffle Group   Primary Artist
John Martyn   Guitar,Vocals
Vipers   Track Performer
Jet Harris   Bass,Track Performer
Hank Marvin   Track Performer
Phil Seaman   Drums
Jim Bray   Bass
Jack Collier   Bass
Ken Jones   Conductor
Monsters   Track Performer
Tony Meehan   Percussion,Drums
Joe Mudele   Bass
Bobby Orr   Drums
John Pilgrim   Washboard
Mike Sammes Singers   Choir, Chorus
Frank Clark   Bass
Rex Dabinett   Bass
Tony Tolhurst   Bass
Wally Whyton   Banjo,Guitar,Piano,Vocals,Track Performer
Gerd Weiler   Asheiko
Jack Peach   Drums
Jean Van Den Bosch   Guitar,Vocals
Jim Dale & Company   Vocals

Technical Credits

Woody Guthrie   Composer
John Martyn   Arranger
Lincoln Chase   Composer
George Martin   Producer
Richard M. Jones   Composer
Wally Whyton   Arranger,Illustrations
R.A. Andreas   Illustrations
Richard Weize   Reissue Producer,Tape Research
Sylke Holtrop   Artwork,Illustrations
Gerd Weiler   Artwork
Jürgen Feuss   Illustrations
Gerd Weilder   Illustrations
Paul Pelletier   Liner Notes,Tape Comparison,Biographical Information,Biographical Notes
Holger Luhrig   Illustrations
Traditional   Composer
Charles Pratt   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews