Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
06:21:03:11 Up Evil

06:21:03:11 Up Evil

by Front 242 Front 242
06:21:03:11 Up Evil

06:21:03:11 Up Evil

by Front 242 Front 242


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, August 18


The first of two releases for Front 242 in 1993, 06:21:03:11 Up Evil (aka F*ck Up Evil) found the foursome rebounding from the somewhat sterile Tyranny (For You) with a varied, vicious assault. Incorporating guitar noise more readily than ever before, but most often chopped up and heavily treated for the band's own particular purposes, 06:21:03:11 Up Evil contains some of the band's most virulent, explosive songs. All titles are one-word long, simple, and straightforward, with names like "Flag," "Mutilate," and "Crapage." There's almost a straight-up rock feel to a number of tracks as well, as the drumming on "Waste" and the quite anthemic "Melt" shows. It's hardly Front 242's grunge move, though -- Jean-Luc de Meyer and the generally little-heard Richard 23 may have a more openly emotional rasp and rage in their voices, especially de Meyer, but the relentless beat of industrial/electronic body music lives on. Leadoff single "Religion" continues the group's winning vein on that front, feedback roars and a huge beat setting an edgy pace before a body slam of a chorus kicks in, de Meyer raging over the top, "Let me burn you down!" The winning secret of the album is that a fair number of songs also demonstrate a careful subtlety, as with the sly mood-setting of "Skin," with its chopped-up electro/hip-hop beats providing the propulsion behind desperate whispers and ominous synth buzzes. The immediately following "Motion" provides an even more upfront blend of styles, with a quiet start and gentle singing suddenly shifting into a pounding call-to-arms percussion attack, all while de Meyer chants, "progress, progress!" again and again. Other successes in this vein include the strange prettiness of "Stratoscape," featuring a low, purring bassline and crisp beats offset against soft keyboard sparkles and chimes, and "Fuel," which includes minimal ambient buzz, more upfront dance/beat chaos, and varying combinations of the two.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 05/25/1993
Label: Sony
UPC: 0074645343327
catalogNumber: 53433
Rank: 82640


  1. Crapage
  2. Waste
  3. Skin
  4. Motion
  5. Religion
  6. Stratoscape
  7. Hymn
  8. Fuel
  9. Melt
  10. Flag
  11. Mutilate
  12. (S) Crapage
  13. Religion

Album Credits

Customer Reviews