Y: The Last Man, Book One (NOOK Comic with Zoom View)

Y: The Last Man, Book One (NOOK Comic with Zoom View)

NOOK BookMature Content (eBook - Mature Content)

$12.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Y: The Last Man Deluxe Edition Book One 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 22 reviews.
Vichus_Smith More than 1 year ago
What can I tell you about Y the Last Man that hasn't already been said? This is a science fiction story about Yorick Brown, the only man to mysteriously survive the mass death of every creature on the planet with a y chromosome. What is unique about this story is that Yorick is no two-fisted man of action, but a pretty average guy who has a pet monkey; the monkey's name is Ampersand, if you're interested. In this volume, Yorick meets his allies. 355 is an agent who protects Yorick at all costs. Allison Mann is a brilliant doctor who may be able to figure out what killed all the men. I'll skip rehashing the plot. All you have to know is that Y The Last man is well written (Brian K. Vaughan) and well illustrated (Pia Guerra, et. al.). If you have some preconceived notions about comic books, this is sure to show you what else comics have to offer. What makes Y stand out is that it finds a good balance of violent content, character development, plot progression and good dialog. If I have anything negative to say about this particular collection, it's that there is no extra content whatsoever. You get the single issue covers, and you have some character sketches in the back. If you own a trade of Y the Last Man with better supplementary material, then you reallly don't need to buy this.
Anonymous 6 months ago
I+read+this+in+trade+paperback+form+%7E15+years+ago.+I+remember+it+being+an+amazing+and+imaginative+story.+The+last+man+and+his+male+monkey+left+on+Earth.+The+artwork+was+superb.+I+don%27t+know+how+it+holds+up+in+digital+format+but+the+story+is+definitely+worthy+of++a+4+star+review.+
matthew254 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
(this review is for all five deluxe books in the series)Y: The Last Man is one of the best graphic novels I've ever read. Funny how this should mirror Stephen King's review found on the cover. It's a well-deserved claim. A mysterious plague instantly kills all male mammals on the planet except for a young twenty something and his pet monkey. The chaos and confusion that ensues makes this such a innovative and memorable dystopia. There's Amazon gangs, lesbian encounters (with all the men gone, why not, right?), ninja assassins and just enough plausible science fiction to make the plot cohesive without being convoluted. The characters are memorable and likable, if not flawed. Inventive and original, this book transcends its own genre and can be easily enjoyed by non-comic book readers. Erotic without being gratuitous, coarse without being obscene, and graphic without being gory. It's definitely aimed at adults for several reasons but isn't so risque as to detract from the readability. All in all, I highly recommend this series.
KafkaMaze on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Thankfully I got into this series after everything was published, thus I won't be waiting for new installment. This hardcover edition of the first two volumes is a good buy. I find the story fairly engrossing, and Yorick is a great protagonist. Vaughan is pretty good at weaving in Shakespearian allusions as well!
burnit99 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Book One: Unmanned. This begins a highly unusual and intriguing graphic novel series in which twenty-something Yorick Brown, unemployed English Lit major, amateur magician and escape artist, son of a congresswoman, is hanging upside down practicing strait jacket escapes and proposing to his girlfriend Beth by phone, who is across the world in the Australian outback, at the exact moment every male member of the human race (and all mamallian species) suddenly dies of some unknown scourge. For some reason Yorick and his capuchin monkey Ampersand are immune. Yorick makes his way to Washington D.C. to rejoin his mother, who is helping defend the White House from something worse than terrorists: Republicans. From there, Yorick and Agent 355 and biogeneticist Dr. Mann (all females, of course, except for Yorick and Ampersand) make their way to Dr. Mann's lab in California to begin her research into what caused the gendercidal plague, how Yorick and Ampersand survived, and if the human race can be saved from extinction. A very nicely done series with good, hip-to-pop-culture writing and decent artwork, with liberal seasoning of humor and irony. Nice to know that the world wouldn't suddenly become an earthly paradise if all the men suddenly disappeared.Book Two: Cycles. Yorick and company have a stayover in Marrisville, Ohio, where they are taken in by the former convicts of the nearby prison, and defend themselves against the men-hating Daughters of the Amazon, who number Yorick's sister Hero among their followers. Things go badly, and as Yorick and company prepare to leave we learn that there are two other men still alive, in orbit around the earth with a lady cosmonaut. I said it before, but this is a kick-ass series, replete with intrigue, pathos and humor.
dbui on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is fantastic for the young reader who started to learn about graphic novels. Brian K. Vaughan makes a lot of twist in every series in the book. He's one heck of a great writer.
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
Good volume.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Scully_Mac More than 1 year ago
I picked this up both as a fan of LOST and dystopian fiction. Everything about this series is A-class, from the clever pop cultural references to the very realistic relationships formed between the characters. As a whole, the series is funny, heartbreaking, and brilliantly refreshing. I sobbed my eyes out at the end of the last book, and that's not something that happens to me very often. This story just grabbed hold of me and wouldn't let go.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago