Wormwood (China Bayles Series #17)

Wormwood (China Bayles Series #17)

by Susan Wittig Albert

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, September 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Wormwood (China Bayles Series #17) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 24 reviews.
TRaceyCity More than 1 year ago
This book was quite different than the regular China Bayle's mysteries.This book included letters from a church group long ago.After a chapter of two you adjusted to this change in format.It was good and in the end it helped to explain the story.Was a very enjoyable book to read.
jj39 More than 1 year ago
Albert is a favorite because of her writing style and her documenting research on the subjects she chooses plus the time period. The Shaker story is fascinating and a departure from her usual murder mystery with a touch of herbal lore. This story about the Shakers is one that surprised me, but then again, truth is always a revelation. They were just as human as the rest of us.
Squeex on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is one of the amateur sleuth series that I never tire and have never been disappointed. China is resourceful and smart. Each time I read one of this series, I want to go live in the part of Texas where Pecan Springs is located. I want to grow more herbs and raise goats and spin yarn and..and..and....well, you get the idea. This story doesn't take place in Pecan Springs, rather China goes to Kentucky to a Shaker village of Mount Zion to help a friend conduct some herbal workshops and maybe help solve some issues that seem to be occurring. The problems of the present seem to be intertwined with those of the past of the Shaker village. There is plenty of herbal lore to keep the fans of the series happy and the mysteries (past and present) are presented in a superb manner as we've come to expect from Susan Wittig Albert. This is the first I've listened to or read of the series that is told by multiple voices and takes place in the past as well as the present. Julia Gibson is perfect for China and the present and Linda Stephens and Ed Sala are the epitome of the Shaker past.Multiple past and present Shaker sparkly diamonds.....
mchwest on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not my favorite of her series but nonetheless I wil lcontinue to by and read all her books ,love them! I know I'm 2 behind but picked up Cat's Claw the minute it was out.
hjjugovic on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I think the China Bayles series is the best one I've started in a long time. These mysteries can be considered cozies, and each revolves around an herbal theme. After having read the first few in the series, I skipped to this one because it came available on my library hold list (the list is long and I don't want to wait through it again). I thought Wormwood was particularly good for this series. China visits an old Shaker village, and the story is told partly from their point of view, a century before. The details about their lives and history was fascinating, and I love the herb lore. As usual for this series, there are places that are a little repetitive, and the mystery itself is not that challenging, but that didn't detract from my enjoyment of the book. Recommended.
Romonko on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Ms. Albert has combined the past and the present in this her latest China Bayles book. China is my absolute favourite heroine in the long list of savy and smart contemporary heroines who get involved in solving crimes. This book was quite different than the usual China Bayles book in that we didn't get to see much of the wonderful people of Pecan Springs like Ruby, Smart Cookie and McQuaid. China has gone off with a woman who is her mother's friend to investigate a series of happenings at a recreated old Shaker village. And of course, while she's there a murder is committed. China finds herself looking at the past as well as the present when she trie to solve the crime. I enjoyed the book because it is China, but really missed the other characters in this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MysticTravel More than 1 year ago
I was looking forward to this book with its Shaker background, but I was so disappointed! It was so predictable. From the moment you meet the victim and the killer, you just know what will happen. Again, I think Ms. Albert is dumbing down her stories and I don't know why. I have one left loaded in my NOOK and I don't know if I will even read it. It is too bad because I have bought all of the China books. It is like looking at an old friend who had changed and not for the better. You have to wonder why...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RajNC More than 1 year ago
A change in style for Albert by using flashbacks to link the present day story with events from the past in a fictional Shaker village. I liked learnig some of the history, etc of the Shakers. The story held my intrest all the way through and I read it in one day. As usual recipes for some of the dishes mentioned in the book are included in the back. Do wish Albert would quit having the main character China Bayles agonize over whether or not she can be a good mother. It is getting tiresome. Other than that the characters were interesting and fit the story well.
Hasyle More than 1 year ago
I have loved China Bayles and Susan Wittig Albert since day one, however this book just lost me. It takes palce at a Shaker Village in Kentucky. The first chapter is written as though China is talking to you and then every other chapter is from the viewpoint of a Shaker many years past. The plot was boring and the characters were as well. I missed the folks in Pecan Springs. It was a hard book to read, normally I can read this series in a day because it keeps my attention. This book in the series was one I forced myself to finish just to be able to say I read it. It was a major disappointment and I am glad I bought the paperback instead of wasting money on the hardcover. I'm sorry Mrs. Albert, but, this book wasn't your finest.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wormwood is an entertaining story and history about Shaker life and a little bit of China Bayles solving a mystery in between. I did find Wormwood a little confusing since there are two stories in two different time periods going simultaneously but I somehow didn't pick that up right away.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read this entire series; I like the characters and the setting. This one (Wormwood) was well researched. The added historical information, as well as the herb lore and recipes are bonuses. The series is well-crafted and dependable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another in the series. Good enough, but not my favorite.
SamBTX More than 1 year ago
I've read all her books and this one is placed in a new location with a group seldom written about today (Shakers). Really enjoyable and I am looking forward to her next book.
Chloe123 More than 1 year ago
The last couple of books that the author wrote involving China Bayles were not up to the bar she had previously set. I was afraid that she had decidedly gotten bored with the character. But with "WormWood" she made a come back. The unusual way she tells the story, weaving the past and present events brings the current mystery to an impressive end. Not to mention the excellent herbal history and tips that are always a huge part and trademark of any China Bayles mystery. It is worth reading and re-reading. A real keeper.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Pecan Springs, Texas, herbalist and entrepreneur China Bayles is emotionally exhausted after discovering she had a half-brother Miles who wanted to get to know her; only, Miles was murdered leaving behind an orphaned daughter Caitlin to be raised by her Aunts Marcia and China. They want to make the tweener comfortable as China plans to be the best guardian she can be.

China and her friend Martha Edmond go on vacation to the Mt Zion Shaker village, a tourist attraction in Kentucky. Martha tells China about a series of ¿accidents¿ in the village culminating with an arson fire that left several horses dead. She asks China to investigate, which the sleuth does. They learn from the accounting officer Allie that some stocks are missing form the endowment trust. Soon afterward the two women find Allie murdered. They know that someone will kill especially meddling investigators to keep the truth concealed.

This is the usual great Bayles whodunit, but enhanced with a strong look at the history of the Shaker movement as Martha¿s grandmother lived in Mt Zion; her story rotates with the modern day mystery. Obviously Susan Wittig Albert has done a lot of meticulous research into the Shaker culture especially the belief system as the lifestyle comes across as if the audience is visiting a late nineteenth century village. Fans will enjoy China¿s latest tale as ironically, the crimes of the present mirror that of the past.

Harriet Klausner