Wolf-Speaker (The Immortals Series #2)

Wolf-Speaker (The Immortals Series #2)

Audio MP3 on CD(MP3 on CD - Unabridged)

$12.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Wolf-Speaker (The Immortals Series #2) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 229 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Multiple spelling mistakes, but you can still see what the word/ words are supposed to be. Read the first book in this series (Wild Magic) before you read this. You should check out the Song of The Lioness quartet as well. Good plot and great read for all ages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would suggest you get this book becuase this book has nice fantasy, in it. Words that may be cofusing : Stormwings are creatures that have silver bodies from neck to tail and human heads, and are like birds. A great read I have just finished it and I love it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
wow. if harry potter ever needs a female co-hort, i dont think tamora pierce will have any trouble. ive read nearly every book she's ever written, as soon as you think they cant get any better they do! full of suspence, detailed character and slam-bang action. heres to the hope they keep on coming!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not+my+favorite+of+the+four+books+in+the+series.+However%2C+it+is+still+an+excellent+read.
navelos on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In this book things get a little more challenging for Daine. She's left without the aid of her powerful friends for a bit and has to figure things out on her own. She also continues to grow her abilities.
Crowyhead on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An excellent adventure, even better than the first book in the series. When Daine is called by the wolf pack she once ran with, she must use her unique talents to cooperate with animals, humans, and Immortals and save the valley the pack calls home.
SungJeCo on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
WARNING! THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS!!!This second installation of the Immortals is written by Tamora Pierce. I like this book because Tamora Pierce lets us find out a little bit more about Daine and her history with wolves. When Daine travels to the fief Dunlath, they come out (more like escape out), finding that the fief Dunlath ruler's Yolane and Beldan, with the help of the Carthaki mage Tristan, is plotting to overthrow the Crown (aka: the Crown is Jonathan of Conte' and Queen Thayet). As they escape, Daine stays behind to watch over the wolves and find that they found Maura, that's trying to warn the Crown. They keep on traveling, and find out that Daine can share the minds of other animals.Daine uses this ability to do a sort of recon of the area, but they're trapped within the valley with a barrier. The group then finds that an immortal basilisk snuck in through the border via the mage's summoning spell. They befriend each other and eventually becomes a messenger, when a friendly squirrel said that Numair was outside the barrier. Daine talks to him via basilisk messenger and then Numair also gave her a message, saying that in order to break the barrier, Daine has to find a model of the valley and destroy it. Daine sneaks into a forbidden tower as one of the kitchen cats, Scrap, accompanied by Blueness.Then Daine goes into the tower and finds the model, but not before a Coldfang tries and kill them. Daine defeats it, but Scrap was almost killed in the process. Daine calls upon the Gods of animals to heal Scrap, and it works. Daine then finds the model and promptly destroy it. Numair then comes and makes sure that Daine is okay and says a spell/prank to get rid of Tristan's, the mage in charge of the conspirisy.Tristan shows up on a hurrok (an eagle pegasus monster) and battles Numair. Both are fighting furiously, calling upon huge elemental powers, and then Stormwings came, wanting to kill Numair, but Daine stopped them, wanting peace with Lord Rikash. The brunette Stormwing tried to kill Daine, but with her swift archery skills saved her. Tristan, in a last desperate attempt to hurt Numair, Tristan lunged at Daine, attempting to kill her. Numair then turned Tristan into a tree to protect Daine.The King's Own then went to check up on Beldan, but found that he did suicide, drinking poison, saying that his wife will not tarnish his reputation. Yolane tried to get out on horseback, but was captured by Daine and the wolves and arrested. Maura, the girl who warned King Jonathan of fief Dunlath's plans was put in charge of the fief. Since Dunlath is the only fief that asks for the wolves, squirrels, basilisk, ogres, and bats that advise the fief. Then Numair and Daine go back to the castle.
bluesalamanders on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Daine's wolf pack from her former home asks her to talk to the humans in their new territory about the destruction of the land, the water, and the hunting grounds in the new valley they have moved to, but it turns out that the situation is much different - and much worse - than anyone could have guessed.Wolf-Speaker is one of my favorite Tortall book. Although the main characters are (as usual in Pierce's books) just a touch too good to be true, Daine grows and learnes and makes mistakes throughout the story and people besides her play roles vital to the plot. I particularly like Maura, a young noblewoman who is terrified but brave, and Tkaa, one of the immortals that Daine meets and befriends.
RebeccaAnn on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Daine has been called to Dunlath Valley by her old wolf pack, the Long Lake Wolves. The humans are tearing apart the trees and poisoning the water. Wildlife all around the valley is dying and Brokefang, the alpha of the pack, wants help reclaiming his home. When Daine and Numair arrive, though, they find out the people of Dunlath are mining something. Though they can't figure out what, they know it must be important. And when they find the charred remains of a squadron of Queen's Riders as well as Stormwings, they know there's something more than meets the eye.After following such a fantastic book like Wild Magic, Wolf-Speaker had a lot to live up to and unfortunately, it didn't quite make it. Of all the Tamora Pierce books I've read to date, this was the weakest. There wasn't much character involvement because really, Daine was the only human character through the most part. Numair rarely showed up and Alanna only appeared briefly after the final battle. I loved all the animals that showed up but for some reason, I just didn't love them as much as Dain's human friends. A good majority of the book also seemed to be Daine discovering and growing into her powers. While I understand the importance of this, it felt like chapter after chapter was devoted to Daine entering the mind of yet another animal and transforming her own body more and more. It got old.Lastly, the final battle was quite a letdown. There was so much build-up through the book as to what horrible things Tristan and his mages were doing, and there was such a struggle to get to the room where his weapon was being kept, and it only took a couple of hits from the hilt of her knife to destroy it. Boring.I hope I haven't dissuaded anyone from reading Tamora Pierce. Her books are thoroughly enjoyable and while I don't remember exactly what happens in the rest of the books, I remember loving them and I'm almost certain this is just a dry spell. It happens to every good author so please, read on!3 stars!
elissa_kay on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Book 2 of the Immortals series, Wolf Speaker, follows Daine and Numair as they visit Dunlath, an estate in the mountains. The local wolves, who Daine used to know, have asked her for help. Daine and Numair arrive just in time to discover a treacherous plot. As Numair leaves to get help, Daine stays behind to help her wolf friends and see what else she can discover. Meanwhile, Daine's powers are growing and she must cope with the changes...all sorts of changes. New friends are made, and new enemies, but humans, animals, and immortals all have to work together to survive. Another great book by Pierce!
mizchvz on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Daine, Numair, magic, wolves, ogres and of course, the Badger. This is one book the family enjoyed reading inded.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book complements Wild Magic, as well as The Immortals' sister series; Song of the Lioness.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I paid for this book and it only gave me a sample after i logged in before and it was a full book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago