Witches' Bane (China Bayles Series #2)

Witches' Bane (China Bayles Series #2)

by Susan Wittig Albert

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, July 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Witches' Bane 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
madamejeanie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was a very light read, and I'll read more in the series, but the mystery lacked oomph for me. I had it figured out long before the final reveal and there were several times when I wanted to reach into the book and slap some sense into China and tell her, "Look at this! What is the matter with you?!?" LOL The book held my interest to the end because I was waiting to see when China would have an epiphany and realize whodunit. I'll admit that I don't often figure out the mystery before the protagonist does, so maybe this was a fluke. I'll rate it a 3 and see what the other books in the series are like.
IceQueenTN on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Good series so far. This book seemed to take forever to read. Everytime I'd try to get a page or two in, something distracted me! It was getting on my nerves - all I wanted was to finish the darn book. It was a pleasant story with a good, but obvious twist at the end.
chinquapin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It is Halloween season in Pecan Springs, a small town in the hill country of central Texas, and China's friend Ruby is teaching a class on Tarot. When a series of ritualized killings of farm animals begin to be discovered, the mood in town becomes very hostile towards Ruby's new age shop and Tarot class. Then one of the members of the class is found murdered in her home and Ruby's boyfriend is a chief suspect. Something just doesn't seem right to China and she sets out to find out what really happened.What I liked most about this cozy mystery, the 2nd in the China Bayles series, were the fun, interesting characters and the familiar, realistic setting in the hill country of Texas. The mystery itself was average, and I had figured it out very early. The herbal lore was also interesting, but it certainly did not overwhelm the story. I think that I'll be returning to the series for book three at some point.
hjjugovic on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed my first taste of this cozy mystery series. The wait for the first book in the series was too long at my library, so I jumped in with book two. I love the characters, the setting, and most especially the bits of herb lore sprinkled throughout. I did solve the mystery early (rare for me and made me annoyed with the China) which is why I docked half a star from what is otherwise a four-star book for me. Recommended if you like cozies or are at all interested in herbs.
mnlohman on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Okay mystery set in small artsy town in Texas. Interesting cast of women, but probably won't read in more in the series.
Darrol on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not enough herbal lore. Not particularly interesting as a mystery.Maybe this is a little harsh. There was an interesting Wiccan witch's party. There were some interesting, but not unique, observations about career change. And the relationship between the main character and her reforming alcoholic mom made some important points.
MerryMary on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
China Bayles and her friends get caught up in a cult scare, and one of her group is murdered. China tracks down the twisted motives and finds herself face to face with the least likely murderer. As always a tightly woven plot with great characters, a bit of herb lore, a bit of wiccan lore, and a painful but interesting scene dealing with China's alcoholic mother and the scars that left behind. Love it.
BeckyMcF More than 1 year ago
After years of seeing Susan Witting Albert's books at the beginning of the paperback mysteries sections at bookstores, I have finally read my first one. Book 2 in the China Bayles series has sold me on a whole world of new sleuths and books! The mystery plus the plant stuff and New Age information were very good reading! The Halloween theme added to reading pleasure!
Delphimo More than 1 year ago
Witches' Bane is my second foray into the spicy world of China Bayles, and in this installation the reader glimpses the dysfunctional Bayles family. Halloween enlivens the atmosphere with whisperings of witches, use of magic, and mysterious deaths. As usual, our heroine must risk life and limb in an effort to find truth and justice. Why do female detectives shun relationships and commitment? China Bayles closely parallels Deborah Knotts in the Margaret Maron mystery series in many aspects. Each author follows their own path in presenting a story. Susan Wittig Albert focuses on herbs, flowers, and women. The supporting men characters present a one sided individual, whereas the women grab center stage. Albert gives a fun read.
AnaLeigh63 More than 1 year ago
My mom really enjoys this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
In this second book in the series, there appears to be witchy deeds occurring in Pecan Springs. All kinds of strange things happen, such as pets with their throats slit, secret meetings in the night, and finally a murder of the wife of a prominant citizen. China and Ruby set out to determine who and what is behind all the mayhem.