ISBN-10:
1593764251
ISBN-13:
9781593764258
Pub. Date:
09/13/2011
Publisher:
Soft Skull Press, Inc.
White Like Me: Reflections on Race from a Privileged Son / Edition 3

White Like Me: Reflections on Race from a Privileged Son / Edition 3

by Tim Wise
Current price is , Original price is $14.95. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

White Like Me 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
1brooke More than 1 year ago
I had to read this book for a college English class. I do like it but I must warn you that the racial content is very explicit in that Tim Wise does not hold anything back in what he thinks about the privileges of the white race and the disparities it causes for minorities.
Mark_of_the_GWN More than 1 year ago
I saw Tim speak at a symposium on race, he is a gifted orator and his book illuminates the problems that modern racism (post overt racism) pose to society at large. This book shines a light on white privilege and shows you how it effects people of color.
dominiquesp More than 1 year ago
What can I say? Amazing. I will not write a review giving a synopsis because that is not my place to do so but I will say that this should be a required reading in all of-age classrooms across America, if not the world.
lwobbe on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Eye opening explanation of the role of white privilege in society. You think you are poor and powerless? Wise details how his white privilege has created the opportunities others he grew up with would never have. From the house he lived in, the high school debate team, the liberal arts college, the career, Wise's ability to probe his life gives us all a chance see the insidiousness and depth of racism in our society.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tim Wise is one of my favorite people. He's absolutely brilliant! Whenever I'm in a heated debate centered around social issues I ALWAYS suggest this book. Well written!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MC-4YS More than 1 year ago
well, this book was really interesting. It's about how racial privilage face people all along their lives. This book basically talks about white's privilege. Also how blacks didn't have the same privilege even at shcool where they say that "everyone" is equal. Sometimes i got confused about what he was trying to say but eventually I understood. It's like
you already know what he is trying to say but he keeps on going and giving you details. It shows that being white gives you all the privilege you could imagine even know your not racism. White people take it for granted.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tim tries very hard to find Racism in everything often going to great lengths to imagine it when its not there.