Where Things Come Back

Where Things Come Back

Audio MP3 on CD(MP3 on CD - Unabridged)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Where Things Come Back 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 58 reviews.
AvidReaderinBoston1 More than 1 year ago
I'm astounded at the anonymous review posted April 12, 2012 and feel compelled to respond. Although religion influences the action of some characters, I didn't find the book to be about religion. The environmental movement influences the actions of other characters, but the book isn't about environmentalism, either. I happened to read this book before knowing that it received any awards, and without reading much in the way of reviews, and I found it to the best coming-of-age novel since The Catcher in the Rye. The ending was perfect; heartwarming without being saccharine. When I learned about the awards WTCB has received, I wasn't surprised, of course, but once the stickers started showing up on the book's cover, I began to wish everyone could discover this gem of a novel on their own, without the preconceptions that come from learning about awards and reviews. My recommendation to prospective readers is to not be too influenced by my, or anyone's, viewpoint. Savor this book for its subtle complexities, as well as its marvelously dry hilarity, and treasure it for yourself.
Kasia1021 More than 1 year ago
Not your typical storyline. This story was a light read that grabbed me from the very beginning and wouldn't let go. Cullen lives in Lily, Arkansas, a small town that soon finds itself in national headlines due to the sighting of an extinct woodpecker. What happens next, though, is unreal. His brother Gabriel goes missing, and the story continues in the aftermath of Gabriel's disappearance without a trace. Cullen tries going on with his life, but struggles with it at the same time, and all the while making fun of the gentleman who claims to have spotted the return of the extinct bird, even laughing at the absurdity of the town changing their image to highlight the notorious Lazarus woodpecker. Powerful storytelling at it's best. A must read!
Wolfa-girl More than 1 year ago
This story was unusual and strange is the best possible way. The plot is absolutely brilliant! This book combines teenage problems, society flaws, young love, and mystery. The protagonists are endearing and humorous, while the antagonists are - well, hate-able. You'll be guessing (in the good way) throughout the book. Bear with it, cause it gets good!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing , in very many instances it made me cry and it made me laugh , I recommend this book to anyone who likes a good read. Although a review had said that the book was religious it is not, it had mentioned a bit on the religious topic,but not too much to overwhelm and bore people, it gave enough insight on the topic to make it understandable ,that is all. Thank you to whoever read my review, hope this helped. :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Literally, the best book I have ever read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing, truly beautiful book that really stands out. In the bittersweetly heartbreaking style of John Green's books, Where Things Come Back is a truly memorable experience that all young adults and adults alike should give a chance. This book deserves to be next to Looking For Alaska and The Fault In Our Stars on everyone' s shelf +++ MNC
Buttercup_theCat More than 1 year ago
Funny interesting and intriguing. I enjoyed watching the two stories collide into one John does a great Job
RoxCandy97 More than 1 year ago
This was a wonderful book about never giving up and exceptional faith
Kallie_Noel More than 1 year ago
True that there is a religious layer to the novel, but it is not endorsed. At first, I thought it was overwhelming. However, it is merely there to explain an unpopular and unknown religion. The novel includes a few seemingly unconnected stories that are tied together later. At one point I was so shocked and depressed that I did not want to keep reading because i feared a tragic ending. I continued since I do not have the ability to put down a book once I have started. To say the least, I was not disappointed. An easy read. One day if you have the time and will. I would recommend for not only teenagers, but parents as well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story line was awesome & i love the way the two stories line up!
steelerchick1103 More than 1 year ago
Really liked this book :). It had a good story line and enough action, eve at the beginning to keep me interested. You bet I'll be reading this book again!!!!
konk More than 1 year ago
So good. I really cared what happened in this book. I flew through it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was so addicted to this book. It is now my favorite novel that I have ever read. I love the uniquness of the plot and how the two stories told intertwine in such a suprising way.
ZachKriesel23 More than 1 year ago
This book was a very inspiring book. It’s a good read for someone who is trying to get through a hard time! This book may seem a bit confusing at first, but it eventually all comes together so stick with it! The book shows you what can come when you start dwelling on something, you start opening your eyes and good things follow! Overall this was a good interesting book.
EthanWiesner21 More than 1 year ago
I liked the book a lot. The main characters brother gets taken away and you find out in the end what happens so, if you are into a Mystery Motivational kind of book that I would recommend this one. It will be somewhat confusing and you might not understand it but, later in the book it makes sense. Just get through the beginning and than it becomes a really good book.
rdwhitenack on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the reason why YA fiction is gaining more and more popularity, and for legitimate reasons. Whaley crafted one heck of a good story with excellent characters and meaningful dialogue. Reminiscent (and referential to) Catcher in the Rye--schools struggling with students finding relevancy in Salinger's work should considera change to this book. Definitely worthy of a novel set within any high school.
bexaplex on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Cute teen story about a possibly-not-extinct woodpecker and a missing younger brother. I found Cabot's interest in the Book of Enoch unsatisfying — it's clear that Benton has some problems and might be prone to religious compulsion, but his roommate doesn't seem to have the same background. Likewise the ending was a little unsatisfying, as there are some time periods missing that you're never going to piece together. But the main character is very likable — outsider-y without being alienated, with good friends and useful adults. I especially like Alma's mom :)
foggidawn on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Lily, Arkansas, is the sort of small town that people are always trying to leave. Cullen Whitter has just finished his junior year of high school when his brother Gabriel disappears. Around the same time, there are reports that a rare woodpecker, thought to be extinct, has been sighted in the area. While the town bustles with excitement about the bird, Cullen and his family try to keep searching for Gabriel and hoping for his return.There's more to the story than that, of course -- Cullen fumbles through a few romantic relationships, hangs out with friends, writes down potential titles for the novel he might write some day, and fantasizes about the popular, muscular guy who was dating his crush turning into a zombie. There's also a seemingly unrelated second plot line that does eventually tie in to the main story. The style reminds me a little of Flannery O'Connor, what with the small-town Southern angst and the weird musings on religion. The writing is good, of course, but there's really nothing here that appeals to me.
kayceel on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really liked this one. A lovely, thoughtful, sad and funny story with some truly great characters and great lines.Cullen Witter wants to be a writer someday, and so keeps a journal of conversations heard and possible future book titles (he gets to 89, one of which, Zombie Dinner Party is my fav, unsurprisingly). He thinks about things carefully, has one best friend, and both loves and somewhat idolizes (my word, not Cullen's) his younger brother, 15-year-old Gabriel. This book chronicles the summer Cullen's small town, Lily, Arkansas, becomes famous for perhaps hiding the thought-to-be extinct Lazarus woodpecker, and Gabriel goes missing. More to come
lilibrarian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Nothing ever happens in Lily, Arkansas - it's as boring as a small town can be. But the summer Cullen turns 17, his cousin dies, a supposedly extinct bird is spotted, and his brother disappears.
callmecayce on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I liked this book a lot -- and the more I think about it, the more I like it. It's paced oddly, but it works. The storytelling is slightly convoluted, but again, I think it works because the story itself is the same. I liked the alternating chapters, the way I would jump to a conclusion about what really happened, only to dash it. I liked that Cullen was real, his friends and family felt real. The atmosphere Whaley created was rushed and frantic, but the writing wasn't. I wanted to hurry up and finish the book because I wanted to know what happened, but the book didn't want me to rush. It forced me to slow down and read at it's own pace, which is both frustrating and rewarding. I completely understand why this won the Printz and I'm glad I read it. It's not for everyone, and I can definitely see people having trouble the both the content and the language. But I'm not one of those people and when I said I liked the book, I really meant I loved it.
cay250 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In Lily, Ark. 17-year-old Cullen Witter likes to jot down titles for books he intends to write. Following the overdose death of his cousin, some ¿ass-hat¿ ornithologist claims that the Lazarus woodpecker has resurfaced after 60 years of extinction in Lily, Arkansas. It¿s hard for Cullen to enjoy the frenzy and hope it brings his small town when the woodpecker receives more media coverage than his younger brother, Gabriel, who has inexplicably disappeared. Alternating chapters with Cullen¿s account is a third-person narration about Benton Sage, an 18-year-old missionary to Ethiopia. He discovers the Book of Enoch, an ancient text not included in the traditional Bible, which describes Archangel Gabriel¿s role of ridding Earth of fallen angels. Benton¿s secret journal about Enoch falls into the possession of his college-freshman roommate, Cabot Searcy, whose curiosity turns into an obsession. A great multilayered novel that grabs you from the first sentence and won't let go. Highly recommended.
newanddifferent on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Lots of people love this book, but I didn't think it was THAT great. It's a solid, readable, realistic story about a young boy in a boring town whose younger brother gets mysteriously abducted. Through a surreal and less believable second storyline, we follow the long and circuitous path that leads the kidnapper to grab Gabriel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A 14 year old very confused boy must have written this book! Agh!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Honesly i dont like the story just because it seems a bit similler to other storys i have read.