What Rose Forgot

What Rose Forgot

by Nevada Barr

Hardcover

$26.09 $28.99 Save 10% Current price is $26.09, Original price is $28.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, December 18

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

What Rose Forgot 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 63 reviews.
Anonymous 7 months ago
This is a delightful mystery. I really loved the relationship between the Rose and her teenage grand daughter Mel. The dialogue between them is wonderful. Someone needs to option this immediately for a movie!
Anonymous 7 months ago
Couldn%27t++put++it++down+.+I++particularly++like++the++park+ranger++books++but++this++one++was+a++good++book+.+
paigereadsthepage 7 months ago
The plot synopsis provided for this novel is extremely accurate, so I will just be reviewing my likes, dislikes, and other thoughts. I enjoyed the character of Rose: a yoga doing, meditating, mantra chanting, spunky step-grandmother. Her character was interesting, unique, and easy to relate to. Rose was simply awesome, and I love her! I also fell in love with her sister, Marion, and loved Marion’s character. On the other hand, most of the events that unfold are far-fetched, so you must read with an open mind. Too add to that statement, sometimes the action occurring in the scenes was hard to follow. I had to go back and re-read the page or paragraph and still didn’t comprehend the directional imagery occurring, meaning that some scenes I had a difficult time picturing in my mind because of enigmatic descriptions. This book is filled with humor, but also serious topics. The humor lies within Rose herself; her take on things not as a senile old lady, but as person with a flamboyant and tickled personality. Though Rose’s humor will cause you to giggle, the sensitive situation that can occur in care units and nursing homes creates an atmosphere of unease and mystery for the reader. The central theme focuses on ageism and the labyrinth of navigating the waters extended family. While at times I was concerned with Rose and her circumstances, other times I felt detached. It was entertaining, but not a spellbinding page turner. For me, the unique characters are what made this so enjoyable. Thanks to St. Martin’s Press, NetGalley, and Neverra Barr for a copy. Opinions are my own.
Samantha1020 22 days ago
This is honestly one of the most fun books that I've read all year! I feel like I haven't read a lot of books featuring older main characters - Mrs. Pollifax's character by Dorothy Gillman is the first one that comes to mind. It's a shame because there is something to be said about a main character that has lots of life experiences behind them already. But I'm going off on a tangent there - anyways - I really, really enjoyed Rose's character. I don't think that it is too spoiler-ey to say that at first as the reader I wasn't sure if Rose had dementia or really what was going on. She isn't the most reliable of main characters mainly because her memory is so spotty thanks to all of the medications that she was on while in the nursing home. As the reader I wasn't sure if I could trust Rose's memories or even fully trust the reality of the events as they were happening which added a layer of suspense to the book. The thing about this book though was that reading about Rose's adventures was just so much fun! I could never tell what she was going to do next! Plus, you know that she in danger so it made me read even faster because I wanted to make sure that everything was going to turn out okay for her. I also really loved her granddaughter who was just as spunky as Rose is and her sister Marion. The book was also really fast paced so I flew through the pages of it. I actually had to slow down a couple of times and go back to reread sections of the book because I reading too fast just trying to see what was going to happen next! When I think back on this book, it makes me smile so that should really tell you all that you need to know in my opinion! Overall, I found this to be a delightful and suspenseful read that kept me turning the pages the entire time! It was a fun book to read and a nice change of pace from the thrillers that I tend to read. This book is more of a suspenseful mystery and it was just what I needed to change things up a bit. I really enjoyed this book and it was a nice reminder that I need to get back to her Anna Pigeon series very soon! Bottom Line: What else to say besides that this book was just a delight to read? Disclosure: I received a copy of this book thanks to the publisher. Honest thoughts are my own.
Ei0914 27 days ago
Read it in one night. Last night in fact. I miss Rose already. I wish she were my girlfriend. Just loved this book.
mom2crgk 29 days ago
It’s been a long time since I’ve read a book by Nevada Barr. I’ve read her entire Anna Pigeon series and it’s fantastic. This book was about a different main character, but it was classic Nevada Barr, which meant it kept me reading “one more chapter.” Hoping for more books from this great author very soon.
MarilynW-Reviewer 4 months ago
The book starts with Rose, dressed in only a hard to keep on hospital gown, outside the Memory Care Unit of a nursing home, trying to escape her captors, while she fights off a drug induced (or is it dementia induced) haze covering her thinking. Caught, drugged once again, and strapped down, outside her room she hears threatening words saying that she won't last the week. Rose knows she has to prevent being drugged into oblivion again, so she can escape this place and allow her body to shed the effect of the drugs she has been given. Sixty eight year old Rose is a hoot and so is her granddaughter, Mel. Their conversations are witty, funny, and sarcastic and these two are my favorite things about the book. Rose's fears are real and someone may want her dead sooner rather than later. Rose has a reclusive older sister who likes to poke and prod the internet (heaven forbid, do not call it hacking!) and her thirteen year old granddaughter who are willing to help Rose figure out the whats and whys of what is happening to her. Her granddaughter does remind her that she was a crazy person before she entered the nursing home, because she was into yoga, mediation, Buddhism, and to top it all off, she is an artist. Rose has a lot of misconceptions to fight and her late husband's family seems to be one of her biggest enemies. There are several long, detailed, confusing actions sequences that I could not follow well at all and that is my only reservation about the book. I loved the characters, their dialogue and Rose's inner running dialogue and even a newbie want-to-be assassin had me laughing once he faced up to his failures in life. I plan to give this author another read since I see she has a lot of books to offer. Thank you to St. Martin's Press and NetGalley for this ARC.
Nanna51 5 months ago
Never having read a Nevada Barr book before, I really had no idea what to expect. What I found within that pages of this book was a well-written mystery with a “detective” who is accused of dementia and who has been placed in a nursing home. Escaping from her confinement, Rose Dennis is determined to find out who is trying to get rid of her and grab her inheritance. Told with wit and a dry sense of humor about aging, this story appealed to me because I am about Rose’s age. I enjoyed her reference to the things of the 60’s and 70’s since those were my years to mature into the adult I am today. Rose is everybody’s dream of a grandmother, smart and intuitive. The twist in the plot is that the reader has no idea if Rose is really “in her right mind” until close to the end of the novel. I recommend this book to fans of Nevada Barr and mystery fans everywhere. Disclaimer Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher via Netgalley. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255, “Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.”
TheBookBag 5 months ago
I love Rose, and Mel, and Marion. I loved all of the endearing, zany characters in What Rose Forgot. This is a story of Rose, who finds herself locked up in a home, diagnosed with Alzheimer's. She realizes something is wrong and that she has to get out. And then the fun begins. I can't believe the predicaments that Rose finds herself in. I totally admire her resourcefulness and spunk as she gets the better of her would-be murderer and learns the truth behind all of her troubles. She counts on her quirky sister and her independent granddaughter to help her figure out who's behind all of this. I laughed at Rose's antics while also feeling her stress and pain as she worked through the mess of her life. I absolutely loved What Rose Forgot and love this other side of Nevada Barr's writing. I've been a huge fan of her Anna Pigeon series and this one is a complete departure from those books. I would love it if this became a series because I'm not ready to let Rose and her family go just yet.
Anonymous 5 months ago
so very good! all Nevada Barr books are great but this one had me going between real or the figment of a delusionzl mind right up to the end!
Anonymous 5 months ago
Nevada Barr is well known for her series of novels featuring Park Ranger Anna Pigeon. What Rose Forgot is not an Anna book but a standalone. It involves the reader in the story of Rose, a woman in her late 60s. When the story begins, Rose wakes up in the woods in a confused state. It takes her time to return to some version of reality when she then meets up with two young boys. They kindly arrange to contact the dementia care center where Rose has been living. She does not feel that she belongs there though and the book is about how she got there and why. Along the way, readers meet those who help Rose to understand and solve the mystery of what has happened to her. This book has gotten excellent editorial reviews. To me, it was an okay read. I could not quite become immersed in the story. Still, you may enjoy it, especially if you have read other books by the author. Many thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for this book in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous 6 months ago
Both+funny+and+a+cautionary+tale%21++%0A%0ANot+the+usual+story+for+Nevada+Barr%2C+but+still+very+enjoyable%21++
Anonymous 6 months ago
This really IS your mother's book. Give it to her! A real break from the standard mystery or thriller.
ConR 6 months ago
I know Nevada Barr's work from her Anna Pigeon series and I really liked that writing. It's been a couple of years since I've read one, though. This book shows another, more intense side of Barr's writing! Written as almost a stream of consciousness, this book had me wondering whether to laugh or cry! And I'm not sure I can visit a nursing home any time soon without giving everyone a second or third perusal! In the end, it left me wishing I knew someone like Rose. My final word is that if you chose this book because Nevada Barr wrote it, you MIGHT be in for a surprise!
nookerCB 6 months ago
When I started this book I was totally confused. But once the author pulled herself out of all her alliterations and imagery, it became clear why. A terrorized mind is indeed a terrible thing. And Rose is indeed terrorized. One woman must break her bonds of mental instability with the help of her granddaughter and her sister, even though they aren’t sure she isn’t really suffering from some kind of dementia. Are they humoring her or helping her? At this point the book evolves into a funny at times good old fashioned mystery as Rose regains herself. Her true personality emerges and you really like her and root for her, no matter where things take her. Then the book evolves once more into the topic of elder abuse and the truth behind that issue, which is truly sad. Once I got to know Rose, I knew nothing would stop her from succeeding. Just read it already!
Anonymous 6 months ago
Rose is in the middle of one of her yoga/meditation sessions when she realizes something’s not…quite…right. And when she opens her eyes to find she’s sitting outside by herself, dressed in nothing but a hospital johnny, it doesn’t take long to realize that nothing is quite right! When she’s “recaptured” by her “jailers,” we come to find out that Rose has managed to skip out of the Memory Care Unit at the local old folks’ home. But is Rose really demented? With all of the medication the nurses continue to give her, it’s hard for her to figure out what is really going on. What to do? Hide those meds, of course, and then…escape. I have to say, this is the first book I’ve ever read by this author, and I’m not even sure what drew me to it in the beginning, since reading about an older woman with dementia just doesn’t sound like my usual book selection. BUT – what a wonderful ride it turned out to be! Full of suspense, humor, and wonderful characters, this one is going to be one of my top recommendations to come. Don’t be afraid of this one---I’m personally hoping Barr will find a way to make this into a series! NOTE: Thank you to the publisher and NetGalley for allowing me to read the advanced copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
Jolie 6 months ago
I was on the fence if I wanted to read What Rose Forgot. The blurb didn’t give me any insight into the book. What made up my mind was reading other reviews. Either people loved it, or they didn’t. I am glad that I read What Rose Forgot. It was an exciting, action-packed book. What Rose Forgot plotline was fast. There were a couple of times where the book did lag. The author was able to get the book back on track after the first time it lagged. The second time, though, it didn’t. Weirdly enough, the lag came at almost the very end of the book. I loved Rose!! I did wonder, for the first half of the book, if she was having issues with her memory. I did think to myself, “Does she have Alzheimer’s?” My question was answered in the second half of the book. I will say that Rose is a tough cookie, too. She took several beatings during the book that would have broken a lesser woman. I loved Rose’s relationship with Mel. Their exchanges made me smile and added some much-needed humor into the book. I liked that Rose treated Mel with respect. She listened to what she had to say and, most importantly, she didn’t treat her like a kid. She treated her like an equal, and I loved it!! I was saddened by how her stepsons treated Rose. Unfortunately, it is an accurate reflection of how our elderly get treated today. Put in nursing homes and forgotten about by their family. The mystery angle of the book was wonderfully written. I thought I had everything worked out, only to have my theory thrown out the window. I wasn’t shocked at who was behind everything, though. There were some significant clues dropped throughout the book. It was the other half of what happened that surprised me. I wasn’t a fan of the ending of What Rose Forgot. It seemed rushed to me. I can’t get into much without spoiling the ending. So, I will leave it at that.
Anonymous 6 months ago
Suspense and interesting characters contribute to a nonstop read! At one scene I laughed so hard I could barely catch my breath.
3no7 6 months ago
“What Rose Forgot” by Nevada Barr is a stand-alone book; it is a departure from her Anna Pigeon series. Readers have not had a new book from Barr in a while, and this new book is a reminder of her incredible writing skill and her ability to create a compelling plot with interesting new characters. The story takes place in North Carolina, starting out in an unusual place, the Memory Care Unit of a nursing home; not a place where readers would expect to find a charming and funny character such as 68 year-old, wealthy widow Rose, but charming and funny she is. She practices Yoga and has a unique outlook on life. Rose also finds herself in quite a dilemma, knows neither how she got into this place nor how she will get out. But get out she does, and along Roses’s journey readers encounter a variety of other interesting characters and family members including one sure to be a reader favorite, her endearing thirteen-year old granddaughter, Mel. In rose, Barr created a character that readers love as she tackles thought-provoking topics that no one loves, including ageism and complicated family relationships. Rose may at times feel like she has “been trampled by a herd of gnus,” her journey is captivating, riveting, touching, insightful, gutsy and memorable. The story is well written and fast paced, although some events stray from reality just a bit. “What Rose Forgot” is a book with edge-of-the-seat suspense and humor on every page. The suspense and drama gain momentum until the almost emotionally exhausting end. I received a review copy of “What Rose forgot” from Nevada Barr, St Martin’s Press, and Minotaur Books. It is enjoyable, entertaining, and compelling. When I picked up a signed hard copy at a recent book signing, Barr shared that while this book will not develop into an ongoing series, there may be just one more book hovering on the horizon for Rose and friends. I cannot wait.
Shelley-S-Reviewer 6 months ago
I'll start by saying that this is my first Nevada Barr book and it was fantastic. I really liked the writing, it was easy to follow and made it easy to have a quick reading pace. It's written very clear and to-the-point type sentence structure which I liked. No worry about super long information dumping sentences. I thoroughly enjoy this book. The characters are fully formed and I enjoyed getting to know them and what made them tick, especially Rose. I loved Rose's spunk, strength and sense of humour. The plot was good and very exciting, it was intriguing and managed to keep me reading without boring me. And even though the ending didn't impact me like I wanted it to, it still surprised me and I'm happy with it. I didn't see that outcome or predict it beforehand which is nice. When you start a novel, you never know where it will lead you and I never knew what Rose forgot or where her escapades would lead us, books like this opens the mind to what is out there and what different paths are given and taken.
The_Brown_Bookloft 6 months ago
Wryly humorous twists and turns Summary: Rose Dennis wakes up sitting outside in a hospital gown and doesn’t remember how she got there. A young boy finds her wandering around dazed and dehydrated. Soon two men in white coats come and take her back to a facility where she is sedated. As Rose drifts in and out of consciousness, she becomes aware she is in a memory care unit for early onset Alzheimer’s patients. She hears two people talking about her in the hallway — one of them says that Rose isn’t expected to live out the week. Deep inside her addled mind, Rose knows something is very wrong and begins to plot her escape. Once she gets out, she contacts the two people she trusts: her teenage grand daughter and her older sister. Her sister, Marion, is an agoraphobic computer nerd and her grand daughter, Mel, is extremely resourceful. With Mel’s help, Rose heads to her house, the home she shared briefly with her husband until he died suddenly. Still full of unpacked boxes, the house is a temporary haven at best. She knows someone will be looking for her. When a man breaks in and tries to kill her, she realizes she must figure out who is behind the plot to get her out of the way before it’s too late. Comments: This book was a lot more fun to read than the synopsis would suggest. What Rose Forgot is a bright and witty book in the usually tense and gloomy thriller genre. There are lots of unexpected wryly humorous twists and turns. It is obvious very early in the novel that there is nothing wrong with Rose’s mind and she becomes a very likeable main character — I’d love to have her as a neighbor! Many years ago I read several books in Nevada Barr’s “Anna Pigeon” mystery series. This is a standalone novel. It was so much fun to read that now I want to go back and read her series again. I should start at the beginning because I have no idea which ones I read. Highly recommended for readers of Thrillers and Suspense novels who are looking for something a little different. Mystery readers and those familiar with her other books may enjoy this too. I sure did!
Caroldaz 7 months ago
A fun mystery with the feisty grandmother Rose and her smart-as-a-whip granddaughter Mel. Rose very much reminded me of Miss Marple. Rose wakes up and finds herself in the Memory Care Unit of a nursing home. She has no idea how she got there or why. What she does know is that she is not ‘demented’. Rose manages to avoid the drugs she is being given and escapes the nursing home. Then the adventure starts. Rose is determined to find out who is responsible for putting her in the home and who wants her dead and why. She has the help of her sister and her devoted granddaughter, Mel. Full of humor and mystery this is a delightful read. I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Teri1957 7 months ago
I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I, like others, have read every Anna Pigeon book written by Barr but this book is nothing like any of that series. #1 This book attempts to make light of Alzheimer's disease, which is not a subject to make light of. AND #2 The book jumped around so much I felt like I should be locked up. Obviously I did not enjoy this book but I'm sure there are others who would.
Renwarsreads 7 months ago
This was my first time reading a Nevada Barr book. I chose it because it was a stand alone and I wanted to read something of hers. I thought this book was really good and it hit the ground running with Rose right from the start coming out of her medication induced stupor. I was rooting for her and was surprised that a woman of her age could do some of the the things she was able to do, but I guess years of yoga and activity kept her in great physical condition. It was a fun read for anyone who likes a mystery and always wants to root for the underdog!