Audio CD(Unabridged, 9 CDs, 7 Hours)

$53.75 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Welcome to the Monkey House 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 86 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this is the best compilation of short storys ever compiled by one author. All of them are very different but each keeps you interested. I had to find a short story for my creative writing class so i chose this. It was difficult to choose which story i should pick because each reaches out to a different part of you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This collections of short stories is simply splendid! Some of Vonnegut's best work, my personal favorite is "Who am I This Time?" This is a great buy and the stories can be enjoyed over and over again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've been told to read titles by this author unfortunately I could not find very many on audio, which is the only way I can read books due to a physical disability When I heard Mr. Vonnegut had died on searched for days I finally sound this title and slaughterhouse five along with breakfast champions and hocus-pocus. I am working my way through them all this is by far the best collection of short stories I have ever read. The stories are poignant and sometimes funny that will make you laugh as well as cry. Mr. Vonnegut you truly were legend who understood the human condition. You will be remembered a long with Great American writers like Mark Twain and Herman Melville. Rest in peace great man we will Miss you.
Guest More than 1 year ago
These stories changed my life. Vonnegut's imagination is like nothing else i've read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A collection of great stories by Vonnegut. I especially enjoyed Harrison Bergeron. A frightening prediction of the future of political correctness.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The first title of Vonnegut's that I read was 'Sirens of Titan' followed by 'Breakfast of Champions'. 'Welcome to the Monkey House' is truly the window to see within Vonneguts' brain. Just about the time you believe you have the author's style of writing understood by reading a couple of his novels you read 'Welcome to ...' and are hit by a series of stories that reveals an insightfulness into human nature that is so pure that you can easily be absorbed into the story, relating to your own life's experiences - both the joys and the disappointments. I recommend this book not only due to the incredible insight Vonnegut reveals in man's emotions and nature but also as an example to aspiring writers revealing both the depth and dimension of an author who 'understands'how to convey to the reader emotions that can be felt coming off of the page.
Guest More than 1 year ago
These stories are not funny at all. These are very serious stories - tear-jerkers. My favorite was 'The Kid Nobody Could Handle'. This is a must read for any Kurt Vonnegut fan.
AuntPetunia on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Essential reading for lateral thinkers
AshRyan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My favorite Vonnegut book, of those I have read so far (including some of his non-fiction essays, which are terrible, his most well-known novels, which are mixed, and a couple of other short story collections, which are okay). The title story---about a future society that has outlawed sexual pleasure---and "Harrison Bergeron"---a brilliant satire of egalitarianism (which is strange, considering Vonnegut's own egalitarian leanings)---are great, and there are several other good stories, and none that are really bad.
jonwwil on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My road to Vonnegut has been a long one. I read Slaughterhouse-Five for a Contemporary Fiction class in college and enjoyed it very much, and I always intended to explore his other works at some point. Unfortunately, that didn't happen until a publication I subscribe to arrived in my mailbox containing an essay from his most recent (and, unfortunately, posthumous) collection, Armageddon in Retrospect. I was immediately gripped by the vitality of the piece, a reflection on the firebombing of Dresden, and I knew the time had come for me to finally get my hands on more of Vonnegut's work.When I first opened this book, I found myself laughing out loud at the preface, and I knew I was in good hands. Paging back through the book now, I find myself fighting an urge to read passages aloud to no one. Some stories within are science fiction (with an interesting dichotomy of utopia/dystopia) while others are "mainstream" fiction, and they vary quite a bit in theme and tone; but I found in each of them a core of distinct humanity that pulled me in.I thought about naming the stories in this collection that I enjoyed the most, until I realized that I'd be listing most of the table of contents. Suffice it to say that this is a wonderful book. Some of the stories are better than others, of course, but they're all accessible and highly interesting. Vonnegut's humor is often dark, but it shines, and his insights into humanity's quirks and foibles are sometimes stunning (I will point you here to "The Manned Missiles").Waiting so long to rediscover Vonnegut's work was my mistake. I do not plan to make it again.
oshefa on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Hands down the greatest short story compilation by a master of the written word. Gems like "Harrison Bergeron" and the "Euphio Question" are simply incredible explorations into society's incessant need to strive for an unreachable utopia at the cost of humanity's soul. Highly, highly recommended.
reblacke on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Another Vonnegut classic. Need I say more?
sadiebooks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
absolutely wonderful collection. the long walk to forever is by far my favorite.
Arctic-Stranger on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I bought this book soon after reading Slaughter House Five, but put it aside until a road trip I took a year later. There were about eight of us in a cramped car, and one of the girls found this, and started reading stories to the rest of us. More than once we were convulsing with laughter. Later, I went through the book myself, and found myself almost in tears. I am not a fan of short stories, but this book is near and dear to my heart.
rcooper3589 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Another fast read, I read this book in about a week or so. Much like his other books, I really enjoyed this collection of stories. I found many of the stories on the sad/depressing side, which seemed to put a damper on the book. The stories, however, which dealt with politics, society etc. I really liked and nicely offset the love themed ones. Like his other books, this one made me think about the people and things that sourround me on a daily basis. If you haven't read this book, I highly reccommend it.
stipe168 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
suprisingly, his short stories aren't all misanthropic visions of the future.. even though a lot of them are and they're great. some are really great small town and/or love stories, all of which are equally as good. or great.
Djupstrom on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Welcome...is exactly what you would expect from Kurt Vonnegut. A series of short stories that are dark, humorous, terrifying, mesmerizing, and like no one else could write. Well Done!!
ausie7 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was required for school, but I finished most of the stories on my own time. Some were better than others. Their focus was sometimes a little weird but I enjoyed Vonnegut's take on certain issues. His points were not too off base. A lot of things that he discussed are very important issues even today. I enjoyed reading it and I reccommend it for anyone looking for some insightful reading.
beautyredefined on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
So...I don't think I'm exactly the right type of person for short stories. I'm probably too impatient to keep reading to really sit back and absorb each story for what it is, and to really digest what Vonnegut was trying to say in each story. I'm the same way with poetry. Anyway, my reading habits notwithstanding, I still enjoyed this collection, though the stories just sort of live in my head as fleeting images. Each one is just a small glimpse into a different world. I'm often a little dismayed when I come to the end of each story, since I'm the kind of person who always wants to know what happens next, and why these fleeting images can sometimes be unsatisfying. On the other hand, other stories I think are quite well contained in their few pages, and make for a well-rounded story in and of itself. Am I making sense? Probably not.I still can't think of a good way to describe Vonnegut. He seems to defy classification, and the stories contained in "Welcome to the Monkey House" agree. Perhaps it's just my lack of willingness to put the time into fully analyzing it, but I don't sense an overarching theme to the collection - as I said, in my mind, they're just a series of disjointed images. Each one does just as well on its own as it does in a collection, I'd imagine. I was surprised to learn that I'd also read one of the stories too; in a high school lit class, we read "Harrison Bergeron," and here I'd thought that I'd never read Vonnegut before recently. Ah well - it was still a good story the second time around. I appreciate how Vonnegut writes everything so matter-of-factly. He doesn't blink an eye in describing the worlds he's created - where people 130 years old are considered young, where supercomputers can write poetry, a world where everything is equal. He never seems to judge these worlds outright - he just tells you what they are and lets you make up your own mind about them. Man...now I wish I'd gone to hear him speak in Madison.Anyway, it's a good collection of stories, but I'll probably end up sticking with novels for awhile. It's surprising the different mind set you need to read something like this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an essential collection for any Vonnegut fans or fans of short stories in general. Welcome to the Monkeyhouse effectively showcases Vonnegut's humor and imagination while still delving into darker ideas. Definitely not for the reader who merely craves a happy ending!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love the stories. Lots of typos in this version.
InnocenceDiesAbbyDosent More than 1 year ago
I loved Harrison Bergeron but I wish BN sold the movie 2081 i had to order it from somewhere else.