The Voyages of Doctor Dolittle

The Voyages of Doctor Dolittle

by Hugh Lofting

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Voyages of Doctor Dolittle (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition) 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 140 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome book
natnoodle3 More than 1 year ago
i read this book before i got my nook and loved it. it was entertaining and always left you wondering what will happen next. it would be great for any young adults and elementary school kids it's really intresting and easy to follow along with. if you are not sure if you want to download this ebook i say yes!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great book you and your kids will love it. It is a great source of literichure. Exploration is at hand!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Okay you 9 year old person is got to stop swiching and this book awesome.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The best book ever for all ages!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very good story, but it has some formatting issues, like the title, instead of being on the top of the page, sometimes goes anywhere but the top. There are also some typos, random letters strewn about, and some missing puncuation which mysteriously moves to a whole section. But overall, it's very good. I would give it about 2 1/2 to 3 stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story line in the book is great but there are several things wrong with the format. Like i could be in the middle of a page and it will say something completely out of conntext like the voyages of doctor dolittle. It is a little better is you use the smallest text settings but it is not completely avoidable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dr. Doolittle has a funny name that akes it sound very interesting. I wonder where he got his name from. Soinds very cool. Wanna read it someday.
lisa-g More than 1 year ago
The beginning was great but the end was boring. It was hard to finish the book.
lori21 More than 1 year ago
Its an excellent old book to read and its a caldecott book. I love it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is perfect. Everyone who is interested in animals and nature and who likes a good adventure story should read it. Flawless.
Guest More than 1 year ago
From the smallest ant to the biggest whale, Doctor John Dolittle studied and adored animals. In the story, 'The Voyages of Doctor Dolittle' the author Hugh Lofting presented the doctor to the world. Telling them about his voyages he took and the animals he talked to. It all started from a young boy named Jacob Puddleby, who is telling about his wonderful experience with the famous John Dolittle. Jacob's parents did not have enough money to send him to school. Jacob would walk around town and learn his own way. One day he sees a hawk that has a little squirrel in his grasp. Young Jacob scares the hawk just in time before it killed the squirrel. Scared and frightened that the squirrel was injured Jacob takes care of it. However he notices he doesn't have the proper education to treat it. So he goes in search of help the cats meat-man tells him about the greatest doctor ever doctor John Dolittle. There he goes in search for the great doctor. After visiting him everyday he becomes fascinated with animals and sooner or later he is living with the doctor and going on a voyage. The book had its strong points like the characters. John Dolittle seems like a great man, a man who seems to know all the answers in the world. He seems to be the kindest man to ever live. The young boy Jacob Puddleby had a voluminous amount of energy and always helping the doctor and thinking quickly. The book also had some weak points; in my opinion it was to short. This is a more of a mystery and adventure book. Another strong point would be the diversity of all the animals. The characters seem realistic such as Doctor Dolittle a man who loved nature. Also having stock characteristics such as the captain. I really do recommend that people should read this book. It makes you aware of nature and all it's amazing creations. It is a really good beach read, or a story that you can curl up in front of the fire. Either way you should read the book the voyages of Doctor Dolittle by Hugh Lofting, it sure to make an animal out of you.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This a magnificent book for those who LOVE animals. It is funny and unique. I've read it at least 5 times, Really!!!!! Prefect for 9 to 100yrs old.
meki on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is about a man named Dr. Dolittle who goes on an wonderful voyage. This book is very funny and interesting.
tjsjohanna on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a fanciful look at the natural world - very much from a child's view. In this world one can ride on the back of a giant sea snail's back right down to the depths of the ocean, and islands can float, and animals have extensive languages that can be learned. I loved Dr. Dolittle - he is pleasant and interested and good. This tale reminded me of tales such as "The Odyssey" or "Gulliver's Travels". An enjoyable read.
fyrefly98 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Summary: In The Voyages of Doctor Dolittle, the now-famous Doctor who speaks the language of animals, takes on a young apprentice, Tommy Stubbins, who narrates this tale. Matters in the small town of Puddleby-on-the-Marsh keep Doctor Dolittle busy enough, but when he receives word that Long Arrow, the great Native American naturalist, is missing, he feels he must help. So the Doctor, Tommy, and an assortment of their animal companions travel halfway around the world to Spidermonkey Island, the last place that Long Arrow was seen. But when they get there, they find that the situation is even worse than they'd feared.Review: I don't ordinarily like to credit broad patterns in my life to single events from my childhood, but I am almost positive that stories from this book are what initially sparked my interest in marine biology. Traveling the depths of the ocean floor inside the translucent shell of the Great Glass Sea Snail? Yes please! Where do I sign up?This book is longer than its predecessor, although just as charming. Although it's technically the second book in the series, it could be picked up independently, since the introduction of Tommy as a narrator means that the reader gets a fresh introduction to Doctor Dolittle and all of his animals as well. For those who have read the first book, however, this re-introduction gives an interesting new perspective, and we get to see a different side to the Doctor's personality.Of course, the book has all of the same issues of its predecessor as well, especially in regards to casually racist attitudes. (To give the barest example, Long Arrow and his compatriots are referred to as Red Indians, which was admittedly the term at the time, but today conjures up uncomfortably Peter Pan-esque caricatures.) Similarly, there's an entire section in which the native inhabitants of Spidermonkey Island cheerfully crown the tubby white doctor as their king, which feels kind of icky in a post-colonial age. To be fair, though, the Doctor himself generally rejects both the racism and the colonialism; Long Arrow is (and is treated as) an intelligent and talented colleague, and the Doctor seems just as uncomfortable with his kingship as his readers are. In general, though, this entire series, and this book in particular, is just wildly charming. The characters are wonderful, the animals are lovable, the adventures are exciting, and the whole thing's just a good, fun, light read. One note: although both this and the first book are available for free on the Kindle, reading them in that format means missing out on Lofting's charming illustrations. 4.5 out of 5 stars.Recommendation: I love these books enough that I'd recommend them to just about everyone, but particularly those who've always secretly wished that they could talk to animals.
ElizaJane on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In this second book of the series we meet Tommy Stubbins, the boy who becomes Dolittle's assistant. Once again Dolittle sets off on a voyage this time to meet the great botanist Long Arrow, son of Golden Arrow and along the way they meet many side adventures. Dolittle becomes set on learning the shellfish language, meeting the Great Glass Sea Snail, ends up on Spidermonkey Island, saves the island from floating into the Antarctic and helps the natives build a thriving city and society.Both the 8yo and I thoroughly enjoyed every word of this book. Everything a child could want in a book is here: adventure, fantasy, science and animals all rolled into one. The action starts in the first chapter and is non-stop right to the very end which comes to a heart warming ending that leaves the reader with the feeling that there most certainly must be a sequel.The edition I have is unaltered from the original text. At least I can find no indication that it has been altered, though the spelling has been Americanized. This edition is part of the Grosset & Dunlap Illustrated junior Library which has been in publication since the 1950s so I am fairly confident the text has not been edited. Since these books are often cited as being racist by PC fanatics I will note that I found absolutely nothing offensive in the book at all. The original illustrations have been omitted and replaced by a handful of full-colour plates illustrated in a cute fashion which I am not fond of. I will look for an original edition with Lofting's illustrations to replace this one someday.Having read the first two together I can say for certain we will continue on with the series. The 8yo thought it was one of the best books we've read together and we both agree it is even better than the first book. Having read this as a child myself it is great to see that it lived up to my expectations and then some. Recommended!
debnance on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Tommy Stubbins is thrilled to make the acquaintance of the esteemed Doctor Doolittle. Doolittle has the amazing ability to talk to animals and he loves to travel; these two combine to send him off on many adventures. And Tommy is able to come along, a witness to all the adventures of the doctor. They meet up with the world¿s greatest naturalist, Long Arrow, on a floating island. The doctor teaches the people of Spain a new way to fight bulls. And the doctor is made king.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Docter Dolittle seems like a both interesting and very good book at one time
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi i'm Bravestar. Go to the fogotten warrior. For more info
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Typo alert but still good read :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago