Victoria's Daughters

Victoria's Daughters

by Jerrold M. Packard

Paperback(First Edition)

$17.09 $18.99 Save 10% Current price is $17.09, Original price is $18.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Victoria's Daughters 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a self-proclaimed royalty buff - this is one of my favorite books to read over and over again! It really provides you with insight into a life and times now long gone. Also it shows with amazing clarity the touch and breath of Victoria into the 20th century world, how she raised her children influenced how they raised theirs and how those grandchildren and great-grand children were so powerful, how they deeply affected the world we live in. Easy flowing storytelling - pick it up - you'll like it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
really enjoyed reading this book very interesting
Guest More than 1 year ago
Packard's book fills a hole in even the most expert knowledge of European history. Once cannot understand the political and military history of what occured in the early twentieth century without understanding that the roots of these conflicts began not just in the halls of governments, but in Victoria and Albert's nursery as well. These five girls became the mothers of the Kaiser of Germany, the Tsarina of Russia, and other monarchs, rulers, and combatants - and it is amazing to learn how the morals, methods, and machinations imparted to them by their parents, and in turn imparted onto their own children and grandchildren, led to the gravest of consequences.
aravistarkana More than 1 year ago
Well-written. I am most grateful to this book because it helped me to keep each one of Queen Victoria's daughters straight.
KAB70va More than 1 year ago
Good read especially if you like the Victorian era and want to know more about Queen Victoria and her family.
ladebug More than 1 year ago
After reading about queen victoria it was a must to read about her daughters. Amazing how each of these ladies had influence in so many countries.
Ethel Vaught More than 1 year ago
Written as narrative. Doesn't get bogged down with too many details on politics and wars. Read it straight through.
ahutchga1972 More than 1 year ago
I read this book from cover to cover. The author is detailed regarding the royal history. The author also has a sense of humor, which is seen throughout the book.
Anonymous 11 months ago
Good+historical+coverage
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The author did a good job of providing the highlights of Victoria’s daughters, sons, and grandchildren. I was pleased that it wasn’t a dry read and it kept me turning the pages wanting to know more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Maybe
meggyweg on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I've never found the Victorian monarchs quite so interesting as their Tudor ancestors and I wondered if this book would hold my attention. No worries; though the Victorian princesses often lead uneventful (sometimes stultifyingly boring) lives and they weren't particularly important as historical/dynastic figures, Packard was able to maintain my interest in them and I got a good sense of the personality of each one. It was not easy being a child of Queen Victoria, who comes off as a neurotic and imperious woman in this biography -- but then, it can't have been easy being Victoria either.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting history of Queen Victoria and her family. The size of the royal family is a bit difficult to comprehend, but is very informative.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago