The Very Hungry Caterpillar

The Very Hungry Caterpillar

by Eric Carle

NOOK Book(NOOK Kids Read to Me)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Very Hungry Caterpillar 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 217 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I purchased this for my nephew on his 2nd Birthday and he loves it! However, I would not purchase the small board book next time, it is difficult to turn the small flaps for the fruits in the smaller book, but he absolutly loves it! He counts the fruit, names the foods and finds the caterpillar, it is very interactive for him and he wants to read the 'caplar book' at bedtime all the time!
keljo14 More than 1 year ago
I regret not reading the reviews before I bought this. I thought I was buying the "miniature" version that is available at other retailers, such as Walmart. Not so! This book is so little, you can' hardly read the words. Will be exchanging for a different edition. 
kingsplace4kids More than 1 year ago
I am a Family Child Care Home Provider, and my students age range at the time I read the book were 5 months, 2 years and 3 years old. To start the book is so bright and colorful that we all were delighted just looking at the pictures. My 5 month old just gazed at the pictures and wanted to touch them. Kudos to the author and illustrator Eric Carle for such an engaging book. My book included a free CD of Eric Carle reading the story, that was such a treat for the children and myself. I can use this book for many of my lesson plans, for example for eartth day I use the illustrations of the dirt, trees, fruit and the caterpillar. Another lesson I use all the colors and shapes. I recommend this book to all, it is such a great story full of interactive lessons that engages all with it's colorful educational story line. This is truly one of the classics, I am happy that I added it to my classroom library.
Jen_in_Kentucky More than 1 year ago
What fun to buy my son the book that had been my favorite as a child! He enjoys sticking his fingers in the little holes, although the smaller version of the book only allows small fingers in there. Still a fun book for kids and adults alike. Good pictures, lots of colors, and not too many words.
MickeyMouse More than 1 year ago
This book is a great book to get kids started in reading.
It shows a very simple beginning, simple content, and a simple
ending. Also Eric Carle is a world famous children's illustrator.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Before actually having my daughter, now 14 mo., my husband got me a copy of the book signed by the author because he knew how much I loved it. It was one of the best presents he ever got me. Now being a mom, I can't wait to share it with my daughter. Her favorite book so far is Brown bear, brown bear
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this book, and so does my 8-month old son. In addition to the clever format (with holes for the caterpillar - or tiny fingers), the book has mini-lessons embedded throughout - such as counting, days of the week, different fruits, not to mention a whole slew of info about caterpillars: hatched from an egg, builds cocoon, becomes butterfly...all this in a colorful, easy-to-read, rhyming baby book! I know we will enjoy this book into toddlerhood and beyond!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Beautiful book. The grandkids love it. The 'appreciation' from Dolly Parton and the insight of Eric Carle's vision of the book is more for adults than children. I would definitely recommend this book!
menaramore on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is great for pre-K or K. It starts with a caterpillar hatching from an egg. He is so hungry that he begins eating everything and can not stop. Throughout the book it introduces the days of the week and counting. This is a great book for children who are in the early stages of learning to read and recognize letters.
ljemanuel on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a very good point and read book for young children. A classic book.
wendyfincher on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a great book to use in the classroom. It can help enhance the students skills in Math (counting), Science (life of bugs), Heath (eating healthy), and in learning the days of the week. The book begins with an egg on a leaf that hatches as a very hungry caterpillar. For five days the caterpillar finds different types of fruits to eat and eats more everyday. On Saturday, he eats everything in sight and ends up with a stomachache. On Sunday, he ate one large green leaf and built a house around himself. He lived there for two weeks. When he came out of his house, he had turned into a beautiful butterfly.
nmhale on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A classic, and a well-deserved one, at that. A caterpillar is born, and is hungry! He eats his way through a variety of foods before building his cocoon, and ends the book by emerging as a beautiful butterfly. The illustrations, as with all Eric Carle books, are collages, with small little holes through all the foods the caterpillar eats. The bright colors are attractive, and the simple story teaches children about nature and counting and healthy eating, all with the simplest of texts.My daughter loves this book! Especially the pages with holes in them. I have a whole new appreciation for the book now.
KimSiljeg on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! I am familiar with Eric Carle thanks to his wonderful illustration work on Brown Bear Brown Bear What do you See? I work as an ESL assistant at the Elementary level and the ESL teacher I assist suggested I read The very hungry caterpillar for my reading journal today for my Children's Lit class. It was also on my professor's bibliography list of suggested reads. The book was a lot of fun and I know the kids would enjoy it too. Once again Eric Carle had bright eye catching illustrations. I like how he doesn't use just one single color but instead, uses a variety of different shades in his drawings which really catch my attention. I liked how Eric Carle presented the lifecycle of a caterpillar and his eventual transformation into a butterfly. This book could be used teaching a science lesson to children about caterpillars and how they eventually become butterflies. In the book there are little holes in the food where the caterpillar took his bites and I thought that was very creative and fun for the reader. 4 stars!
D.Holliman on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a fun book to look at how caterpillars turn into butterflies. The illustrations really move the book along. I love how all of the colors that were used for the food are then incorporated into the colors on the butterfly. This book is really popular with my students and even my older students loved it when they were younger. I love how Carle layers this book and shows how much the caterpillar has eaten. Which makes it a great book for counting.
HeatherSwinford on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A classic book that is wonderful for children to experience the cycle of life, without death. It's such a wonderful cute story that is great younger children for the visual or older children learning to read.
ermilligan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is one of my all times favorites. It not only follows the very hungry caterpillar as it grows from an egg to a cocoon but to a beautiful buttterfly. It also teachers the days of the week and counting. The pictures are strkiging and the die-cuts also help keep the reader engaged.
MStephanie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Very Hungry Caterpillar is about a caterpillar who hatches from an egg and is very hungry. Each day he eats through different foods, but is still hungry. At the end of the week he has a smorgasbord and is feeling a little sick. At last, he eats a nice green leaf and goes to sleep in his cocoon. When he awakes from his cocoon he is a beautiful butterfly.
mcprice on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Eric Carle's book are great for young children. This book goes through the stages of a caterpillar, from an egg to a butterfly. The pictures are amazing, and children should enjoy this book. If available, a big book version could be used to read to a class. This book could also be useful when doing a bug unit because it goes through the stages of a caterpillar's life.
psjones on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I love all of Eric Carle's books and would read every single one to my classroom. The illustrations in this book are incredible. It would be hard to read this book aloud to a group of students since the pages are small; but it is worth it.
jessicaherrin83 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
What makes a book so popular that it sells more than 22 million copies and is translated into more than 30 languages? In the case of Eric Carle's The Very Hungry Caterpillar, it's the combination of wonderful illustrations, an entertaining story, and a unique book design. Carle's illustrations are created with collage techniques. He uses hand-painted papers, which he cuts, layers, and shapes to create his colorful artwork. The pages of the book vary in size, which is part of the fun.
alswartzfager on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This books is illustrated so beautifully. The pictures are so bright and exciting. It is a very simple book, probably best for very young children. There is counting in the book and it shows a caterpillar that turns into a beautiful butterfly. I remember this book as a child, and I love the pictures and I think that most young children will too!
renee.sutter on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This classic story about how a caterpillar turns into a butterfly was a favorite of mine since I was in grade school. I just had to read it again as an adult and this class gave me the perfect excuse to do so. The illustrations are so fun and exciting.
eenerd on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A favorite. Fun to read and good illustrations. A good lesson about overeating, too!
tiburon on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
a classic easy reader that teaches children about counting, the days of the week, and a bit of rhythm recognition.
jamie_tow on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Very Hungry Catepillar tells a story about the life cycle of a caterpillar. The story shows the children each day as it munches its way through the ice cream, salami, watermelon, a slice of Swiss cheese, and a lolipop before it finally emerges as a butterfly.First of all, I love Eric Carle books! His book has great illustrations, humor, and it makes children easy to follow the stories such as "The Very Hungry Caterpillar." It also use easy to read words, which make it a ideal tool for teaching young children to read.The story teaches the life cycle of a caterpillar, counting, the days of the week, and the different types of food. The life cycle shows the caterpillar first as a egg, then a caterpillar, then sleep inside the cacoon, then finally an adult butterfly.Extended Activity: Story Sequence- Provide a long piece of yarn for each child, a hole punch and different food that were in the story. Have the children color, cut, and punch holes in each food, Then have the children make a sequence story by putting the food on the string that appear in the book. This activity teaches the children first, second, next and last.