Vector (Jack Stapleton Series #4)

Vector (Jack Stapleton Series #4)

by Robin Cook

NOOK Book(eBook)

$8.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Vector 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 36 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Robin Cook's Vector is a good thriller that held my attention to the end. I had a minor problem with noticeably hackneyed verbiage just one time. Telling most readers that orifice can be a malapropism for office detracted me from the author's craftsmanship. I had a major problem with Cook wanting me to believe that a single lab technician from Biopreparat's Sverdlovsk Compound 19 could produce both weaponized anthrax and botulinun toxin in quantity, in his basement, in a short time, all the while consuming prodigious amounts of vodka. It is not that easy. Many public documents, available to Cook and many readers, report Compound 19, and the connected Compound 32, employed close to 10,000 (15,000 people resided inside the two compounds). These scientists and technicians had help from institutes and universities throughout the Soviet Union. Cook's Yuri wasn't good enough to keep his job in this group. If fermenting anthrax using beer production methods could work, why didn't the Soviets (or Iraq, for that matter) just put a big fence around one of their many breweries? Cook could have made Yuri a lot more credible, and bio-weapons more real, with better research.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a very interesting medical thriller that grabs your attention but I felt it was not quite as well written as others out there. I read this right before I read Critical Judgment by Michael Palmer and I found that Critical Judgment was a better novel overall due to the fact that the story seemed be very specific rather than being to general. Nevertheless, this is a very good book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It is a good book. I read it during my freashman year in high school this year. Even though I put it down for a few weeks once I pick it back up and couldn't put it back down. It was the best book I have ever read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I+purchased+this+book+from+Bookmans.+Great+book+will+definitely+give+you+the+willies.+
cmchavis on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
As others have said - predictable. Decent story and a very quick read, my first read from Robin Cook. I'll look into others to see if what I didn't like is prevalent in his writing or if only in this book. I didn't like how everyone was connected, it seemed like way too much coincidence - with 7 million people in New York, I cannot imagine everyone having that much in common with each other - it's like 7 degrees of Kevin Bacon. Otherwise, I'm glad the story wasn't overbearing on patriotism and presented the events in the story in a a well thought out, albeit contrived manor.
CarlaR on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I wouldn't give high praise to this book. If you are a fan of Robin Cook then you will like this one, and if you don't like his books then you won't like it.Personally I generally find his books to be fun, quick, and easy, for those times when I need a solid story to spend a day losing myself in. Once you start reading it the plot will keep you reading on.
fingerpost on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A New York City cab driver who was formerly a Russian biowarfare specialist (seems like a stretch, but that's Cook for you) pairs up with some white supremacists (OK, that's a stretch too...) to make a bioweapon to attack a federal building.
wyvernfriend on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
interesting medical drama. very prescient really. An neo-nazi group get a disgruntled russian bio-chemical technican to make them a batch of anthrax to use on a government office. When Jack Stapelton of the New York Chief Medical office discovers a body that has died of anthrax little does he suspect the roller-coaster ride he's about to embark on.I really enjoyed this read. Even if Robin Cook is a little paranoid about the potential future of bio-terrorism. It was a really quick read. Having enjoyed this one I'd look for more by him.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book in high school and could not put it down. By far the best book I have ever read!!! Highly recommended!
GrammieSE More than 1 year ago
I have been a fan of Robim Cook since reading COMA...nice read for a lazy afternoon
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyable, but a little predictable. Very engaging.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Outstanding, well done Dr. Cook! More twists and turns than a bag of pretzels. I just could not put this book down it is a real edge of the seat read. The pages just fly by with intense entertainment.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Vector by Robin Cook is forgettable at best. It's not that its really all that bad its just that its like a mediocre action film, theres nothing special here. In fact, I thought it was rather boring.
Guest More than 1 year ago
An okay plot that is somewhat hampered by the story's predictability, somewhat wooden characters, and convenient coincidences. The writing is better than some other recent Cook thrillers, but still not as well crafted as some of his earliest works. Rather than forging new ground, this once again follows the latest headlines.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Another awesome book written by Robin Cook. A edge-of-your-seat thriller! I couldn't put the book down!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was the best thriller I have ever read. Its a pity that this is not made into a movie. It would be good for moral because of 9/11. It does hit close to home, and it scared me to know how easy it is to grow anthrax in your basement. This novel seemed realistic and I think that everyone should read it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm a big SK fan but i decided to take a break and i read vector. It was awesome! It had an interesting plot and a good ending! Even if you dont enjoy reading get this book and you'll want to read books like crazy(trust me).